I always wonder how on earth Pakistan competes with India and that too it had been doing for more than 60 years. It seems like India's economy is more than 10 times stronger. India Exports - $ 310 billion Forex Reserves - $ 350 billion Average Economic Growth (Last 5 Yrs) - 7 % Pakistan Exports - $ 24 billion Forex - $ 17 billion Average Economic Growth (Last 5 Yrs) - 3 % Is it just having nuclear weapons and a large army that keeps Pakistan as an equal to India. Cause economically it's no match. Heck even Bangladesh's economy is equivalent to Pakistan's economy if not slightly better. Bangladesh Exports - $ 31 billion Forex - $ 24 billion Average Economic Growth (Last 5 Yrs) - 6 % That's why I appreciate Pakistan that despite being a nation which should have competed with Bangladesh it has the guts to lock horns with India.

Where are they competing? Only delusional rabid nationalists with an exaggerated opinion of self grandeur think like that. In spite of so many freebies from USA their military is no match for India at least as far as conventional warfare goes. they have a 0-3 record in wars with an annihilation of humongous proportion in 1971. Using guerrilla jehaadis to poke at us all the time doesn't mean they have the upper hand. India(or for that matter any other country) doesn't believe in good terrorist bad terrorist BS and so we have to defeat these forces and their sympathizers without collateral damage. Also they have a few sympathizers from amidst our countrymen and that makes it a bit of a challenge. Having nuclear weapons doesn't mean anything. If they decide to do something stupid, all countries will gang up on them and wipe Pakistan from the face off the Earth. And to top it off we don't care about Pakistan. We have many problems of our own and we need to get our house in order. Just like Pakistan who use us a measuring stick we have higher dreams to aspire, we aspire to be like 1st world countries which is a very difficult task. At the moment comparing Pakistan to us is as foolhardy as comparing us to USA/China.

Pakistan's fortunes will depend on 17 crore Pakistanis. Sadly, they have accepted the things as they are, and have shown no spine in this tough time.

I always wonder how on earth Pakistan competes with India and that too it had been doing for more than 60 years. It seems like India's economy is more than 10 times stronger. India Exports - $ 310 billion Forex Reserves - $ 350 billion Average Economic Growth (Last 5 Yrs) - 7 % Pakistan Exports - $ 24 billion Forex - $ 17 billion Average Economic Growth (Last 5 Yrs) - 3 % Is it just having nuclear weapons and a large army that keeps Pakistan as an equal to India. Cause economically it's no match. Heck even Bangladesh's economy is equivalent to Pakistan's economy if not slightly better. Bangladesh Exports - $ 31 billion Forex - $ 24 billion Average Economic Growth (Last 5 Yrs) - 6 %
I am impressed by growth of Bangladesh , they are really doing well compared to their size and resources available for them
I am impressed by growth of Bangladesh ' date=' they are really doing well compared to their size and resources available for them[/quote'] If they can cleanse their country of the fundamentalists/BNP sky is the limit for them. High emphasis on education, intellectual outlook, desire to progress, non attachment to dogmas are some of the attributes of the common Bangladeshi. Sad that these progressive voices are being silenced by the Mullah brigade.
I am impressed by growth of Bangladesh ' date=' they are really doing well compared to their size and resources available for them[/quote'] I wonder why India doesn't have more people to people, cultural exchanges with BD. One way could be to promote BD artists...actors singers musicians in India, promote more student exchange, tourism from either country. On a side note, the thing I like too is tht BD women wear sari which is perhaps the biggest symbols of Indianness.
I wonder why India doesn't have more people to people, cultural exchanges with BD. One way could be to promote BD artists...actors singers musicians in India, promote more student exchange, tourism from either country. On a side note, the thing I like too is tht BD women wear sari which is perhaps the biggest symbols of Indianness.
And also many BD women wear 'bindi'. Taslima Nasreen once said that 20-30 years back some even had sindoor on their heads. No wonder Pakistanis hated them.
I am impressed by growth of Bangladesh ' date=' they are really doing well compared to their size and resources available for them[/quote'] 3 reasons. 1. Military Budget i. India - 2.4 % of GDP ii. Pakistan - 3.5 % of GDP iii. Bangladesh - 1.2 % of GDP The more you spend on military the less you have to spend on productive sectors. 2. Brain power - It can't be measured but in general Pakistanis and to some extent north Indians are more physical people and kinda aggressive and warlike. On other other hand, Bengalis, south Indians, western Indians (Gujratis, etc) are more calmer and use little more intellect. To back it up, just have a look at the number of Grand Masters in chess. i. India - 38 (1 per 33 million people) (but mostly from south and east) ii. Pakistan - 0 iii. Bangladesh - 5 (1 per 32 million) 3. Too much external support gives one false strength. Pakistan is blessed geo-politically. It receives billions of dollars of support/aid from USA and China as these super powers have vested interest. But it gives Pakstan false security and encourages them to engage in military competition with India. On the other hand the only warfare Bangladesh is currently engaged in is economic. Like in garments we overtook the cotton producing Pakistan and then India to become the second largest exporter after China. The leather, ship building and pharmaceutical industries are also going up. The thing that an average educated Bangladeshi is focussed on is whether EU is giving duty free access to Pakistani exports or whether India is signing a free trade agreement with EU while to an average Pakistani the prowess of a missile tested by India is more important.

Only deluded Pakistanis think they are competing with India. Fact is Pak is a dwarf in front of India. Maharashtra's GDP(240 billion dollars) alone is larger than the whole GDP of Pakistan(232 billion).

2. Brain power - It can't be measured but in general Pakistanis and to some extent north Indians are more physical people and kinda aggressive and warlike. On other other hand, Bengalis, south Indians, western Indians (Gujratis, etc) are more calmer and use little more intellect.
Stronger people exploit weaker people, that happens everywhere I guess, perhaps a bit more in the north. When it comes to equal weights, its usually a shouting match. Rarely results in an actual fight. BTW north Indians are running some of the biggest companies in India and do use intellect too (not all of them though).

It is because of historical peaceniks and mild-moderate foreign policy that India didn't see force as the answer to resolving its disputes with Pakistan. Before nukes were acquired by both sides, Pakistan would have lost any war of attrition over a period of several weeks/months and given up any disputed territory had India pressed on its obvious advantages.

That's why I appreciate Pakistan that despite being a nation which should have competed with Bangladesh it has the guts to lock horns with India.
Pak is not competing but trying to do 'goondagiri" in the region. At some point, every goonda gets kicked out and so will Pak once Ind's patience runs out
I always wonder how on earth Pakistan competes with India and that too it had been doing for more than 60 years. It seems like India's economy is more than 10 times stronger. India Exports - $ 310 billion Forex Reserves - $ 350 billion Average Economic Growth (Last 5 Yrs) - 7 % Pakistan Exports - $ 24 billion Forex - $ 17 billion Average Economic Growth (Last 5 Yrs) - 3 % Is it just having nuclear weapons and a large army that keeps Pakistan as an equal to India. Cause economically it's no match. Heck even Bangladesh's economy is equivalent to Pakistan's economy if not slightly better. Bangladesh Exports - $ 31 billion Forex - $ 24 billion Average Economic Growth (Last 5 Yrs) - 6 % That's why I appreciate Pakistan that despite being a nation which should have competed with Bangladesh it has the guts to lock horns with India.
Quite a stupid OP...Pak cannot compete with India in any field..there are tons of videos on youtube where every important pakistani admits India is way ahead of Pakistan..Also the rest of the world sees pakistan as a rogue state and a complete failure as a nation..So no comparision...

I don't see why we have to compete with India. But If I'm not wrong didn't Pakistan have a better economy up till 2009? Correct me if I'm wrong. Things only went downhill after 9/11.

That's per capita stuff bro. Per capita wise, SL has a better economy compared to us even now. But in reality, there is no comparison between SL and Indian economy which I am sure you would agree. Per capita (while its important) is not the only yardstick when comparing economies. World Economies - http://money.cnn.com/news/economy/world_economies_gdp/ I think India has over 200 million tribal population. Whatever our output is....our per capita stats gets crushed. China is having the same issue. If we go the per capita route, Qatar is the best economy in the world while USA is No 10, China 89 and India 125. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_%28PPP%29_per_capita