72% of rape in Mumbai by victim's boyfriends on pretext of marriage

As much as 71.9% of the accused facing rape charges in Mumbai are alleged to have lured their victims on the pretext of marriage, according to a review of such cases reported till October this year. Data compiled by police shows that of the 542 rape cases filed so far in Mumbai this year, 389 offences (71.9%) were committed by "boyfriends" of the victims after they had promised marriage, Police Commissioner Rakesh Maria said today. He added that while 6% of the sexual assault cases involved unknown persons, the accused in the rest were either relatives or immediate siblings of the victims. Maria was responding to queries by journalists on the increasing number of rape cases in the metropolis. Of the 542 cases lodged till October 31, 477 have been solved. Of the 333 cases which were registered during the same period last year, 316 were solved, police added. "We have been exhorting people to come forward and lodge complaints. Hence, women who faced sexual assault are approaching us without any fear," Maria added. He said that more victims approaching police was one of the reasons why the registration of rape cases had seen a jump in the metropolis. The Police Commissioner, meanwhile, said that special focus would be given on tracking down missing persons. He said that chain-snatching cases fell to 1,257 from 1,832 reported in the January-October period in 2013, a drop of 31%. The top cop has shared the above data a day after a report compiled by Mumbai-based NGO Praja Foundation suggested that crimes against women, including rape, molestation and chain snatching, have risen sharply in the metropolis in 2013-14. Meanwhile, police said that they have so far this year deported 12 Nigerians and one Tanzanian who were arrested in connection with narcotics cases. http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report-72-of-rape-in-mumbai-by-victim-s-boyfriends-on-pretext-of-marriage-2038830

F those *****es. Always playing the innocent, naive card. They wanted to experience sex and now accusing those guys of raping them. How convenient. WTF is "promise of marriage?" If you value your virginity so much why not wait til the actual marriage takes place. Promise of marriage is some arbitrary moral laxman rekha or something? Effing bytches

F those *****es. Always playing the innocent' date=' naive card. They wanted to experience sex and now accusing those guys of raping them. How convenient. WTF is "promise of marriage?" If you value your virginity so much why not wait til the actual marriage takes place. Promise of marriage is some arbitrary moral laxman rekha or something? Effing bytches[/quote'] +100000

Indian mentality is so backward. Maybe its the culture which is messed up. No wonder many people have issues. Why should you have sex on pretext of marriage ? If you agreed to have consensual sex, there is no rule you should also get married.

He added that while 6% of the sexual assault cases involved unknown persons, the accused in the rest were either relatives or immediate siblings of the victims. Maria was responding to queries by journalists on the increasing number of rape cases in the metropolis.
:WTF: That's a scary percentage of incest+rape :ohmy:
Indian mentality is so backward. Maybe its the culture which is messed up. No wonder many people have issues. Why should you have sex on pretext of marriage ? If you agreed to have consensual sex, there is no rule you should also get married.
It's only a minority, most Indians are quite chill about pre-marital relationships. Also, I wouldn't completely fault girls here. Just like a religion brainwashes it's adherents into doing heinous crimes, a stone-age culture too has it's own side-affects. Men too need to be sensitive about this. This is one reason I always suggest that we must first understand a girl, and only then take it to the next step. Those girls are not b*tches as some posters here put it, most of them are just another victim of our sh*tty culture.
They are no kids. Girls are pretty smart these days. They can easily refuse to have sex before marriage.

72% is pretty scary to say the least. "Luring victims on the pretext of marriage" Can't believe such cases are considered as Rape cases in our country.

They are no kids. Girls are pretty smart these days. They can easily refuse to have sex before marriage.
So our girls have this natural "chepu" gene? I doubt that. Their response is nothing but a reflection of our culture.
No our girls are absolutely fine. It's just that Indian men are born rapists and it is in their genes.
So, you think girls are saint and boys devils. Boys will ask for sex, but then it is up to girls to give consent. It isn't like girls dont want sex. You can find all of girls and boys, some are keen, some are not. Some girls think to have sex with a boy and would want to marry him too, boy would indolently say yes to have sex. Sometimes, boys plan it but still consent is up to girl. Actually, no one is a saint. Neither boys nor girls. Things aren't just black and white in which girls are white and boys are black. Vindictive behaviour is human tendency.
No our girls are absolutely fine. It's just that Indian men are born rapists and it is in their genes.
What a pointless reply. Yes, our girls are absolutely fine and it's shameful that you guys are bashing them for no reason. It's our culture that makes them act the way they do. Stop blaming them and blame this nonsense culture that we funnily enough pride ourselves on. As for "they are no saints, they like sex too", ofcourse they want it too. Sex is a desire that's hard to resist, even if it comes at the cost of trusting promises you wouldn't normally believe in. But the reason a lot of them report it as a rape is the cultural baggage they grow up with, there's a lot of guilt involved. NEED OF THE HOUR IS TO FIX OUR CULTURE, NOT GIRLS.
What cultural baggage? If that was the case, they wouldn't report at first place, but girls are more aware these days. They know the law, they know what can they, their powers, and one complaint can destroy someone. They know it and they use it. Problem is with the law which terms such scenarios rape.
Raghav ji is being sarcastic :--D Culture doesn't stop individual needs. We are stuck in some kind of neo-victorian culture.
How is this even classified as rape? At best the guys can be prosecuted for lying if proved. :facepalm:
You forget what honey singh says "Happy budday saal main tu 4 baar manati hai". "Apna ek na kharcha, kharcha laundo ka karwati hai ". "Mood tu banati hai, fir thoda lalchati hai aur raat hote hi jaake tu apne ghar so jaati hai."