BeautifulGame Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 If u live in a tier -3 city (Like Thanjavur / Trichy for ex) u can easily lead a comfortable life style for even 30k
Detonator Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 Even in Chennai the only difference is mainly house rent which is around 15k-20k for decent 2BHK flats .Most other aspects of cost of living are more or less similar to CBE So 50k should be enough to lead comfortable life style The biggest problem in cbe is the lackluster bus transport facility for a city with such huge area. Just cut the car factor in chennai, as it's a nightmare during peak hours. Just like cbe, last five years is a statistical bombardment of cars. It can be safely said, cost of living is very low for chennai among the metros. Lot of people aren't properly using the govt transport, which is easily among the best in the country. I don't get this requirement of more than 1 lakh to live in big cities.
Detonator Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 From my observation, Kerela has the lowest cost of living, and a better overall quality of living. ICF kunjans can enlighten me :--D
Raghav_12 Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 Recently was in Delhi. 3 people, few whisky pegs and middle class restaurant. Bill came around 5K+. Next day evening, in a middleclass resturant in Noida, Bill came just about 5K. On both occasions we didnt had dinner. Just drinks, that too not much because we were to drive home. Assuming your turn to pay comes twice a week thats 10K per week i.e. 45K per month :hysterical::hysterical: You are fast becoming my favourite poster along with Sir John :giggle: One question who paid that night when you were drinking with Armyman?
Khalpat Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 A lot of people in this thread talking about having big cars as part of life style that they aspire for or they feel is necessary for them. However I strongly believe having big car is an Indian city is absolutely socially irresponsible behavior. Nowadays whenever i see a person driving a big car like Fortuner or Endeavor or a long sedan, i immediately lose respect for that person. When roads are so clogged that people drive their cars with outside rear view mirrors closed or pulled inside, you should not be driving cars which take space of 3 small cars. Absolutely irresponsible. I was looking at buying car of that segment, SUV or fake SUVs like Duster (if not new one than used one), but I have dropped that idea altogether now. Going to drive small cars only. Sorry for derailment. Maybe I should have created a new thread. ++. Kaash someone can teach the same to Punjabis of Delhi and Gujjars of NCR. They buy Pajero because neighborhood main Khanna saheb ne Safari li hai.
jusarrived Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 A lot of people in this thread talking about having big cars as part of life style that they aspire for or they feel is necessary for them. However I strongly believe having big car is an Indian city is absolutely socially irresponsible behavior. Nowadays whenever i see a person driving a big car like Fortuner or Endeavor or a long sedan, i immediately lose respect for that person. When roads are so clogged that people drive their cars with outside rear view mirrors closed or pulled inside, you should not be driving cars which take space of 3 small cars. Absolutely irresponsible. I was looking at buying car of that segment, SUV or fake SUVs like Duster (if not new one than used one), but I have dropped that idea altogether now. Going to drive small cars only. Sorry for derailment. Maybe I should have created a new thread. Nonsense , there is little difference between a Fortuner and Duster in fact for that matter a small car . Why stop there ? isnt it irresponsible driving a small car which can accommodate 2 Nanos or half a dozen bikes ? You can make a difference by using public transport , the rest your just making yourself feel better.
jusarrived Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 From my observation' date=' Kerela has the lowest cost of living, and a better overall quality of living. ICF kunjans can enlighten me :--D[/quote'] Is that why no mallus want to go back there ?:giggle: you dont have enough jobs that will pay to 1-2 lak per month , so even if in some aspects its cheap I dont think its a good option
jusarrived Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 Nothing beats experience of living in Indian on a Dollar/Euro salries. They really life king size. In my organization there are few brits who are in India for 2-3 years. Looking at their lavish lifestyle I commented that for you guys colonial era never seemed to have ended :cantstop:, They live in DLF Golf Course Apartments where apartment rent itself would be around 2.5 lakhs with an armada of domestic help mail, cook, driver etc. Some of them joke that now we are too spoilt to live back in London on usual salaries, Opposite of this experience is living in US/Europe on Indian salaries that many indian IT folks go through. :(( I have an Indian friend who whos been on $$ salary for 3-4 years now . Apart from that hes a standup comedian , tarvells all over the world from which he earns more money . Recently opened for a Russel peters show I heard . Lucky fella
Precambrian Posted August 12, 2015 Author Posted August 12, 2015 From my observation' date=' Kerela has the lowest cost of living, and a better overall quality of living. ICF kunjans can enlighten me :--D[/quote'] Not completely true - since in Kochi and all its pretty much on par with a good city in North. Definitely costlier than comparable cities like Coimbatore or even Chennai. Generally however, i've noticed the cost of living is lower in the South (barring probably Bangalore). And yes, some place like Trivandrum is still cheap to live in. You get excellent accomodation for 15000 (3 BHK - spacious), and other costs are also lower. But with rapid urbanisation that too is changing.
Precambrian Posted August 12, 2015 Author Posted August 12, 2015 thanks a lot guys for the earnest discussions in this thread, really appreciate all responses. And a bit shocked at numbers like 1-1.5 lakhs in Delhi/Mumbai. Is that money the norm for middle class now? Scary!
Kalia_Test Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 I have an Indian friend who whos been on $$ salary for 3-4 years now . Apart from that hes a standup comedian ' date=' tarvells all over the world from which he earns more money . Recently opened for a Russel peters show I heard . Lucky fella[/quote'] Sanj** Mana*****? You know him too?
mishra Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 Your habits scream affluence and quite clearly, you are an upper-middle class guy. My estimates were for a true Desi middle class who thinks twice before spending heavy. I would visit such places maybe twice a month at most. Middle class people cannot afford your lifestyle. 45k per month on booze :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: Affluence is an understatement. That was to put some perspective. I know 6 days a week in bar/resturant is too much but half of that expense 20-25K is definitely on. Similarly school fee isnt only cost associated with kids as posters seem to be claiming. The cost associated is lot more. To be comfortable you need to be saving 25-45% of your regular income which you should be able to invest and save it for your future.
Khalpat Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 thanks a lot guys for the earnest discussions in this thread, really appreciate all responses. And a bit shocked at numbers like 1-1.5 lakhs in Delhi/Mumbai. Is that money the norm for middle class now? Scary! Not for single earner but definitely yes if both husband and wife are earning.
BeautifulGame Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 That was to put some perspective. I know 6 days a week in bar/resturant is too much but half of that expense 20-25K is definitely on. Similarly school fee isnt only cost associated with kids as posters seem to be claiming. The cost associated is lot more. To be comfortable you need to be saving 25-45% of your regular income which you should be able to invest and save it for your future. Spending more than 5-6k on drinks/bar is well above middle class average . A family man spending 15K-25k month in bars either rich or irresponsible drunkard .That's not a metric for cost of living of normal upper middle class income .
mishra Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 :hysterical::hysterical: You are fast becoming my favourite poster along with Sir John :giggle: One question who paid that night when you were drinking with Armyman? Next time aap bhi aa janaa. Bill aap par nahi phaadenge :--D
mishra Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 Spending more than 5-6k on drinks/bar is well above middle class average . A family man spending 15K-25k month in bars either rich or irresponsible drunkard .That's not a metric for cost of living of normal upper middle class income . hmm may be. I just calculated based on bills restaurant charged us. As i said. It was just casual 2 hr with frnds with may be atmost 3+ pegs of decent whisky. I dont think being able to afford that should be classed as rich. Drunkard-May be definition needs to be changed. maniac already posted a buffet cost him Rs 2000. Calculate that once a week for family of four and you will be surprised how much this will amount to. Now halve that and buffet will still come out around 15-20K per month
Detonator Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 Spending more than 5-6k on drinks/bar is well above middle class average . A family man spending 15K-25k month in bars either rich or irresponsible drunkard .That's not a metric for cost of living of normal upper middle class income . We can give a superb treat to 10 ppl under 15k with all booze and food :giggle:
jusarrived Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 Sanj** Mana*****? You know him too? How do you know him ?
rkt.india Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 TI have been replacing my invertor batteries at home on an average once every 18 months ( 16 K each time ) and these will never figure if I just look at a given month's expenses. Nice thread :nice: Why would you change batteries after 18 months. A battery lasts at least 3-4 years. I recently changed after 4 years 2 luminous batteries for 18 K.
Kalia_Test Posted August 12, 2015 Posted August 12, 2015 How do you know him ? He was part of the Organization I worked for earlier. I/We had invited him to do a presentation for our Clients in Hyderabad ( he was based out of Bangalore ). This was on a Testing Quality metrics tool that he and his team had developed. He had come and that was when I met him. Don't know him personally though. World is small :two_thumbs_up: