bulbul Posted March 13, 2016 Posted March 13, 2016 Why we need rank turners?? Did we used then in 2011 WC ???
Trichromatic Posted March 13, 2016 Posted March 13, 2016 We don't need turners. But highways won't be good for India. We need pitches which have little bit of help for bowlers.
bulbul Posted March 13, 2016 Posted March 13, 2016 We don't need turners. But highways won't be good for India. We need pitches which have little bit of help for bowlers.150 to 170 pitches will be great...even for home advantage etc don't want to see Sub 100 scores in a World Cup level event.
vayuu1 Posted March 13, 2016 Posted March 13, 2016 I have been saying this Time and Time again, pitches here will turn, coz it's end of season here in India , so barring may be Mumbai, avg score will be 145 - 165 and teams having good spinners and better player of spin will be the key also with fast bowlers bit of reverse, cutters and slow balls will be the key.
vijay50 Posted March 13, 2016 Posted March 13, 2016 At the end of the day we have to win 2 out of 3 against NZ, Pak and Aus, and turners give us the best chance to do so.You forgot the Asian tiger bangladesh.
CG Posted March 13, 2016 Posted March 13, 2016 We got a good allround attack.Turners actually can backfire as our batsman struggle against mediocre spinners and if we lose the toss pressure will get to us.Pitches will take some turn .Pitches with good bounce are best for india and aus.
Adi_91 Posted March 13, 2016 Posted March 13, 2016 I want a Mohali pitch like in SF of 2011 ICC WC. It was up and down and tough to bat for both teams.Â
Ultimate_Game Posted March 13, 2016 Author Posted March 13, 2016 Why we need rank turners?? Did we used then in 2011 WC ???Not rank turners but pitches which offer spin and negates out and out fast bowlers.
bulbul Posted March 13, 2016 Posted March 13, 2016 Not rank turners but pitches which offer spin and negates out and out fast bowlers.I don't think we have too many pitches which will help out and out fast bowlers...it's either Flat or slow spinning tracks going to be used.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 13, 2016 Author Posted March 13, 2016 Â I don't think we have too many pitches which will help out and out fast bowlers...it's either Flat or slow spinning tracks going to be used.Flat pitches are bad as well against the likes of Aus, NZ and SA. I shudder to think what will happen if we face Aus on a flat wkt where they have hitters like Finch, Warner, Maxwell, Faulkner and Watson all over the batting order. Same with NZ who have Guptill, Anderson etc. and SA with ABDV, DeKock and Miller. We need pitches which assist spin else we will concede our home advantage.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 13, 2016 Author Posted March 13, 2016 You forgot the Asian tiger bangladesh.As I mentioned in a post earlier, if we can't handle B'desh at home we don't deserve to win.
gakgupta Posted March 13, 2016 Posted March 13, 2016 TBH if we can't beat B'desh at home, we don't deserve to win. We have bigger hitters, better fielders and better spinners than them and I can't see them beating us at home. However, if we go against NZ or Aus on a flat patta i can easily see them scoring 200 and winning.BD is a decent side and this is T20 game....anything can happen....If pitch starts to turn a little bit....then BD ( with current form) would give good fight against NZ and Aus....nad might even win game
moniker Posted March 13, 2016 Posted March 13, 2016 Hate slow and low pitches for LOIs. At least in tests with such pitches captains attack by surrounding the batsman with fielders in catching positions. That makes for a good viewing. In LOIs captains will not care to take wickets if the scoring is difficult. All they need to do is block the flow of runs. Having to see the field spread out when batsmen are struggling on a slow and low track is such a nasty eyesore. We don't need to watch such poor cricket just to get home advantage.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 13, 2016 Author Posted March 13, 2016 Hate slow and low pitches for LOIs. At least in tests with such pitches captains attack by surrounding the batsman with fielders in catching positions. That makes for a good viewing. In LOIs captains will not care to take wickets if the scoring is difficult. All they need to do is block the flow of runs. Having to see the field spread out when batsmen are struggling on a slow and low track is such a nasty eyesore. We don't need to watch such poor cricket just to get home advantage.What matters is winning the tourney. I would take an ugly win where we strangle the opponents after putting 140-150 on the board over losing a 200-190 shootout.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 13, 2016 Author Posted March 13, 2016 BD is a decent side and this is T20 game....anything can happen....If pitch starts to turn a little bit....then BD ( with current form) would give good fight against NZ and Aus....nad might even win gameThey're a decent side and T20 and anything can happen in a T20, but if you hope to win WT20 you've to put away teams like B'desh. If you can't then you're not good enough to win the tourney.
moniker Posted March 13, 2016 Posted March 13, 2016 What matters is winning the tourney. I would take an ugly win where we strangle the opponents after putting 140-150 on the board over losing a 200-190 shootout.To each his own, but for me watching good attacking cricket is far more important than the results. If we play good cricket that should take care of the results.
Ultimate_Game Posted March 13, 2016 Author Posted March 13, 2016 To each his own, but for me watching good attacking cricket is far more important than the results. If we play good cricket that should take care of the results.No it doesn't. We can play good cricket in losing a 200-190 batathon against the likes of Aus, NZ or SA. You have to play good cricket to win a world tourney anyway and all I'm saying is that we should leverage our home advantage as every team does that. i mean did you see any delivery turn in WC 2015 SF against Aussies at SCG? Isn't SCG supposed to help spinners?Fact is every team does whatever it can do gain home advantage. You just have to look at recent Asia Cup where B'desh changed the pitch every game to suit its strength. In the opener they had a green pitch and when they lost, had a brown pitch for the final. It doesn't guarantee a win but gives you the best chance to win though. That's what I'm asking for, i.e. give our team best chance to perform their best and win this tourney at home. You never know when the next global tourney will come from so why not make the most of it when we can?
CG Posted March 15, 2016 Posted March 15, 2016 We got a good allround attack.Turners actually can backfire as our batsman struggle against mediocre spinners and if we lose the toss pressure will get to us.Pitches will take some turn .Pitches with good bounce are best for india and aus. Lol ug told u show.
MechEng Posted March 15, 2016 Posted March 15, 2016 Oh bhai.... marwaega kya ? we can't even handle spin on pattas.
chewy Posted March 15, 2016 Posted March 15, 2016 not for the first time, Indian limited overs batsmen made to look inferior on turning track. Likes of Yuvraj, Raina, Jadeja (and now add Pandya) will always struggle against swing or spin because they lack solid techniquesÂ