RBI Adds to Demonetisation Confusion With its Answer to an RTI Query

http://www.news18.com/news/business/rbi-adds-to-demonetisation-confusion-with-its-answer-to-an-rti-query-1325385.html

The RBI reply contains another number that doesn’t seem to fit in. In reply to a question about the value of “old denomination” 500 and 1000 rupee notes on November 8, the RBI’s reply is thus: The value of 500 rupee notes was Rs 11.38 lakh crore while 1000 rupee notes was Rs 9.13 lakh crore, giving a total value of Rs. 20.5 lakh crore.

But the government has said that the total value of demonetised currency is Rs. 15 lakh crore. An affidavit filed in the Supreme Court by the Central Government states that:

“As per the Weekly Statistical Supplement, the notes in circulation as on November 4, 2016 stood at Rs. 17,74,187 crores. Roughly 86% of this value i.e. Rs 15,25,800 crore comprise of notes of denominations Rs 500 and Rs 1000.”

RBI has been exposed  in all this. They don't even know how much total currency is in circulation , first it was 14 lakh crores then increased to 15.5  and now they are saying it is 20 lakh crore

Solution to note ban woes still elusive after 40 days: Chandrababu Naidu

I am spending two hours daily to ease the problems caused by demonetisation. I am breaking my head daily but we are unable to find a solution to this problem," the CM said today.

"We could resolve the 'August crisis' (an internal party coup dating back to 1984) in 30 days but this (demonetisation) still persists," he said.

He said banks were "not prepared" for a transition to digital economy.

Top Comment

"They are unable to even register banking correspondents," he added.

Unless there were remedial measures, people's woes would continue in the long-term, Chandrababu warned.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/solution-to-note-ban-woes-still-elusive-after-40-days-chandrababu-naidu/articleshow/56087407.cms?utm_source=toiandroidapp&utm_medium=Facebook&utm_campaign=show

So now Politicians that were dancing are understanding how big this problem is

15 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

Its funny in a way

Media keeps saying people tired of Demon, BJP keeps winning.....

Thumping win for the BJP and it bodes well for the party in Punjab

What funny? Chandigarh is considered one of best city of India , I have heard people from Chandigarh that law and order is very good and police don't even take bribe.Educated wealthy people live their and most of them have debit credit cards and know how to do digital transaction.These people are least hit by Demonitization and strongly support it.

Punjab is totally different game as it is ruled by  rural jat sikh politics , SYL , Badal's rule are going to be crucial factors , how much demontization will play the role only time will tell. even if SAD , BJP lose that is not going to be blamed entirely demonitization 

17 minutes ago, Singh bling said:

What funny? Chandigarh is considered one of best city of India , I have heard people from Chandigarh that law and order is very good and police don't even take bribe.Educated wealthy people live their and most of them have debit credit cards and know how to do digital transaction.These people are least hit by Demonitization and strongly support it.

Punjab is totally different game as it is ruled by  rural jat sikh politics , SYL , Badal's rule are going to be crucial factors , how much demontization will play the role only time will tell. even if SAD , BJP lose that is not going to be blamed entirely demonitization 

Look, there have now been enough data points from all across the country in terms of polls . Bypolls, local polls etc and the BJP have come through all the of them with flying colours. They are yet to actually lose an election as such. Ie their numbers have increased from the previous elections held in mostly 2011. Chandigarh is just the latest datapoint which confirms the trend. Before Chandigrah BJP won a major tribal council in Assam. So it does not get more diverse than that.

You are free to post as much as you want against demonetization. It is your opinion. But I suspect your views on demon are not in step with the rest of the country. I will be frank, I think demon could have been better executed. But voters atm appreciate the attempt of the BJP and are rewarding the party at the polls.

You mention Punjab being a totally different ball game, RaGa in the aftermath of the results (equivalent to an assembly election for the union territory of 1.2 million) called a meeting with Sidhu to get him to join the party officially and start campaigning. Thats how rattled the Congress were by their poor performance. The independents backs by AAP (did not contest on AAP symbol) have also performed terribly. In 2014 AAP got 29% of the vote in the lok sabha seat. 

and as far as Punjab goes for the BJP they will be fighting mostly 26 urban seats with a much higher than average Hindu population to which Chandigarh is very close demographically.  They have the likes of Khattar who is a Punjabi Hindu to campaign for them to appeal to their segment. They are not fighting from the rural sikh seats.

2 hours ago, G_B_ said:

Its funny in a way

Media keeps saying people tired of Demon, BJP keeps winning.....

Thumping win for the BJP and it bodes well for the party in Punjab

BJP must win UP. If it can pull off a spectacular anywhere near the like of Lok Sabha, Modi will become unstoppable. So testing times ahead.

8 hours ago, Singh bling said:

Chandigarh is considered one of best city of India

Not one of, Chandigarh is THE best city of India. Chandigarh has topped human development index (HDI) and gender development index (GDI) in the country, state wise Kerala is first.

I have visited Chandigarh 7 years ago, I know what I am talking about.  There must be a reason as to why all top Army officers make Chandigarh their home.

I also dont get what best city of India has to do with any of this

in 2011 BJP+SAD got 12 out of 26 with 50% turnout

in 2016 BJP+SAD got 21 out of 26 with 59% turnout

Chandigrah being the best city has been a constant in these past 5 years. The real change has been in the number of seats won and the turnout.

The BJP specifically went from 10 in 2011 to 20 in 2016. One could say that this was an active endorsement of demon.

The BJP are also winning as mentioned before in Assam in tribal councils , places where they had 0 previous representation in some of the most rural and poor parts of the country. 

10 hours ago, G_B_ said:

Look, there have now been enough data points from all across the country in terms of polls . Bypolls, local polls etc and the BJP have come through all the of them with flying colours. They are yet to actually lose an election as such. Ie their numbers have increased from the previous elections held in mostly 2011. Chandigarh is just the latest datapoint which confirms the trend. Before Chandigrah BJP won a major tribal council in Assam. So it does not get more diverse than that.

You are free to post as much as you want against demonetization. It is your opinion. But I suspect your views on demon are not in step with the rest of the country. I will be frank, I think demon could have been better executed. But voters atm appreciate the attempt of the BJP and are rewarding the party at the polls.

You mention Punjab being a totally different ball game, RaGa in the aftermath of the results (equivalent to an assembly election for the union territory of 1.2 million) called a meeting with Sidhu to get him to join the party officially and start campaigning. Thats how rattled the Congress were by their poor performance. The independents backs by AAP (did not contest on AAP symbol) have also performed terribly. In 2014 AAP got 29% of the vote in the lok sabha seat. 

and as far as Punjab goes for the BJP they will be fighting mostly 26 urban seats with a much higher than average Hindu population to which Chandigarh is very close demographically.  They have the likes of Khattar who is a Punjabi Hindu to campaign for them to appeal to their segment. They are not fighting from the rural sikh seats.

Support for demonitization was  quite high iarly but started to dwindle from December. Also since when local polls , by polls are indicator of national mood, remember 2003/4, BJP defeated congress in state elections 3-1, preponed elections and badly lost national elections.In 2009 2g scam recession Congress was sure to loose but came with flying colors.

Also Economic policies and winning elections had nothing in common.Congress's destructive economic policies made them win elections after elections. The same BJP voters use to abuse Public for voting Congress again and again. While Rao , Manmohan Government which started economic reforms lost elections very badly

As far Punjab concerned I agree that Congress is in terrible state that's why AAP is sensing victory but don't expect Khattar can do anything in this for BJP . SYL is very big issue now and Khattar  being CM of haryana will want Punjab to share its water. I doubt that Punjabi Hindu voters of Punjab will be in favour of their water being transferred to Haryana.It will be miracle if SAD BJP wins third term as that Govt is considered corrupt to core

1 minute ago, BeautifulGame said:

RBI has now withdrawn the notification about the 5000 limit for deposit of old currency into bank accounts .

It was such a stupid move .Just absurd in so many ways not sure who came up with this in the first place .

link?

There is a strong buzz in the street that the government will put some money into the Jan Dhan accounts out of the black money it mops up. If that doesn’t happen, the entire demonetisation exercise may boomerang on Prime Minister Modi. This makes the income-tax department a vital cog in the wheel.

RBI , Finance ministry behaving as if they are playing Galli cricket with entire nation. rules are Changing everyday for ex.

1tappa out
Diwar ko direct laga to out
Low full toss to -no ball
Fast mat daal
Khidki tuti to batsman zimmedar
Ball khoya to naya bharke dene ka 

Got this from facebook :hysterical:

23 minutes ago, tweaker said:

There is a strong buzz in the street that the government will put some money into the Jan Dhan accounts out of the black money it mops up. If that doesn’t happen, the entire demonetisation exercise may boomerang on Prime Minister Modi. This makes the income-tax department a vital cog in the wheel.

Now we'll see lot of fake Jan Dhan account pop up tied to politicians and bank officials. 

35 minutes ago, tweaker said:

Government are half Robin Hood. They take the money from those who have but never give it to those who does not have.

But honestly, whoever is spreading such rumors is doing great disservice. Government should develop digimonetisation, village infrastructure which in turn will bring jobs instead of blank deposit in Jan Dhan. Poor People want jobs i.e. a constant source of income

2 hours ago, Singh bling said:

Support for demonitization was  quite high iarly but started to dwindle from December. Also since when local polls , by polls are indicator of national mood, remember 2003/4, BJP defeated congress in state elections 3-1, preponed elections and badly lost national elections.In 2009 2g scam recession Congress was sure to loose but came with flying colors.

Also Economic policies and winning elections had nothing in common.Congress's destructive economic policies made them win elections after elections. The same BJP voters use to abuse Public for voting Congress again and again. While Rao , Manmohan Government which started economic reforms lost elections very badly

As far Punjab concerned I agree that Congress is in terrible state that's why AAP is sensing victory but don't expect Khattar can do anything in this for BJP . SYL is very big issue now and Khattar  being CM of haryana will want Punjab to share its water. I doubt that Punjabi Hindu voters of Punjab will be in favour of their water being transferred to Haryana.It will be miracle if SAD BJP wins third term as that Govt is considered corrupt to core

dude the Assam and Chandigrah elections happened like a few days back. Both were not bypolls. They were proper elections.

With regards to economic policies and destruction, I think demon at max the impact will last 3 months. Ie there is no lasting damage.

With regards to Punjab, to be fair i would have agreed with you pre Chandigrah results. But Khattar was the star campaigner there and I was surprised the amount of people he drew to his rallies.

I tend to agree SAD-BJP is on a weak wicket in Punjab. But I do feel BJP might not do too badly in the 26 seats they are contesting.