mancalledsting Posted January 12, 2017 Posted January 12, 2017 1 hour ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Indians are not supposed to pay for sports in other countries.Dont give a damn about how many subscriptions you pay.Cricket is the only sport where India is world class because we have money in the game. [Edit: Avoid personal remarks] people like you if allowed in cricket administration will kill the game off internationally and then India will be Kings of a game nobody plays...great! That sure sounds like a lot of fun. We are also the best kabbadi team in the world, what a prestigious honour! If a consumer like me can't access the game freely, that will also cause decay of the game over time. Lodha committee Zindabad! GoldenSun 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 12, 2017 Author Posted January 12, 2017 10 minutes ago, Trichromatic said: Only reasons given for not implementing these reforms are that there are no restrictions at other places. But there is no reason for why this shouldn't be implemented. How will it harm board? Because there is no reason why a 70 year old cant run an organisation or why a person who is running an organisation well be removed because he has completed 3 years. There are no such restrictions at FIFA or IOC. SC wanted to get hold of BCCI and run it.Thats the reason they did this.Nothing else. GoldenSun 1
BeautifulGame Posted January 12, 2017 Posted January 12, 2017 The original post is nonsense.The other nations had decided to pool together their rights with or without in India in September itself. No one is going to force India if don't want to,whether we have a representative or not ,but neither can we force others not to . Given that the deal would be for bilateral series only, there is no requirement for the pooled option to pass a vote of the ICC executive board. Instead CA, the ECB and CSA will need to convince other nations that the new deal is in their best financial interests, and also to formulate an independent body to oversee proceedings in a manner that would remove any doubts about the rich seeking a bilateral cash-grab at the expense of the rest. "The decision to pool rights could be made by three, five, 10 countries, however many agree," the source said. "It isn't all in or none in - it will take place regardless of how many sign up." It doesn't remotely matter whether we have Thakur or anyone present or not.No one is going to force India to sell it's rights collectively if we are not interested. GoldenSun 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 12, 2017 Author Posted January 12, 2017 40 minutes ago, mancalledsting said: [Edit: Avoid personal remarks] people like you if allowed in cricket administration will kill the game off internationally and then India will be Kings of a game nobody plays...great! That sure sounds like a lot of fun. We are also the best kabbadi team in the world, what a prestigious honour! If a consumer like me can't access the game freely, that will also cause decay of the game over time. Lodha committee Zindabad! I dont give a damn because its not my duty to feed the beggars.Or make sure that the clown at PCB gets his plate of biriyani.Nowhere does a country gives away its home rights to others. Other boards get millions from ICC each year and use it for personal use of their officials instead of using it on cricket. Consumers are needed to pay for the game.Nothing is free. The Lodha reforms will end up in a dust bin because a certain Narendra Bhai Damodar Das Modi will make sure that the sports legislation is passed. GoldenSun 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 12, 2017 Author Posted January 12, 2017 Just now, BeautifulGame said: The original post is nonsense.The other nations had decided to pool together their rights with or without in India in September itself. No one is going to force India if don't want to,whether we have a representative or not ,but neither can we force others not to . It doesn't remotely matter whether we have Thakur or anyone present or not.No one is going to force India to sell it's rights collectively if we are not interested. Since then the matter has moved.Now with no BCCI to oppose the proposal,all countries will be forced to pool the rights.Thats what the OP is saying. GoldenSun 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 12, 2017 Author Posted January 12, 2017 @Trichromatic I await your response sir.
mancalledsting Posted January 12, 2017 Posted January 12, 2017 1 hour ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: I dont give a damn because its not my duty to feed the beggars.Or make sure that the clown at PCB gets his plate of biriyani.Nowhere does a country gives away its home rights to others. Other boards get millions from ICC each year and use it for personal use of their officials instead of using it on cricket. Consumers are needed to pay for the game.Nothing is free. The Lodha reforms will end up in a dust bin because a certain Narendra Bhai Damodar Das Modi will make sure that the sports legislation is passed. [Edit: Avoid personal remarks] How did the EPL grow to become an international phenomenon? Because of its accessibility to viewers around the world.
mancalledsting Posted January 12, 2017 Posted January 12, 2017 45 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Because there is no reason why a 70 year old cant run an organisation or why a person who is running an organisation well be removed because he has completed 3 years. There are no such restrictions at FIFA or IOC. SC wanted to get hold of BCCI and run it.Thats the reason they did this.Nothing else. Yeah and Fifa is corrupt to the core GoldenSun 1
mancalledsting Posted January 12, 2017 Posted January 12, 2017 (edited) Also people are worried about paying for other country's biriyanis, when we should be more concerned about paying for the daaal of our own BCCI bhabuus. Edited January 12, 2017 by mancalledsting
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 12, 2017 Author Posted January 12, 2017 2 minutes ago, mancalledsting said: Im sorry but you sound like a miserly old man and therefore I think it's difficult for people like yourself to visualise any growth beyond penny pinching for yourself. I bet you check your bank account online 5 times a day. How did the EPL grow to become an international phenomenon? Because of its accessibility to viewers around the world. Is EPL free to air? I am not penny pinching.No one came to BCCI's help when Indian cricket was in penury.Our cricketers would travel by train while Cricketers of Australia/ENG will travel by flights when in India.Cricketers will be forced to take up jobs with small corporates who will then exhibit national players in their parties to show off.Cricketers would appear in small corporate events for "appearance money". Erapalli Prasanna left cricket for 4 plus years to complete his degree so that he could get a job after retirement. BCCI now even pays its ex players a pension.No one else does that.Even Ranji players make 10-12 lakhs a year.All this you want to give away so that a Pakistani can have his biriyani or some WI official can have his cruise and so on. People like you will have our cricketers be like Arshad Khan or Matthew Sinclair post retirement. MechEng, Lannister, Ironhide and 1 other 4
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 12, 2017 Author Posted January 12, 2017 9 minutes ago, mancalledsting said: Yeah and Fifa is corrupt to the core Everyone is corrupt.Except Lodha committee. sandeep 1
Silva Posted January 12, 2017 Posted January 12, 2017 Lol. Havent read up on the issue but i think this is not gonna happen. Just like when both the new zealand and england tours were supposed to be cancelled due to the Supreme court. Its seems like the their are anti SC elements feading false info to the news in order to get public sentiment against the SC. mancalledsting 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 12, 2017 Author Posted January 12, 2017 1 minute ago, Silva said: Lol. Havent read up on the issue but i think this is not gonna happen. Just like when both the new zealand and england tours were supposed to be cancelled due to the Supreme court. Its seems like the their are anti SC elements feading false info to the news in order to get public sentiment against the SC. The TOI is as anti BCCI as they come.
Trichromatic Posted January 12, 2017 Posted January 12, 2017 @mancalledsting Please stick to topic and avoid posting unnecessary remarks towards any member.
mancalledsting Posted January 12, 2017 Posted January 12, 2017 If that's the genuine issue then global cricketing community can easily apply pressure to those boards to account for expenditure. This is much better method to ensure standards of the game are upheld as opposed to killing those boards off all together. You mention about Indian cricketers being poorly treated back in the day. All cricketers were screwed over back in the day- don't take it as a racist thing. Denis Lillee would bowl his heart out for 5 days and he was one for the best of his time- he only got $200 per test match! His cricket board told him that you cannot ask for reasonable money but can only play for the love of your country. And this is a guy who permanently injured his back bowling for his country which would have affect his job prospects outside of cricket! That's why World Series cricket needed to happen and because of it world cricket is in a much better place. Same with current reforms. Also back in the day, India was a very tough country to tour/visit. My parents are from India and even I hated travelling to India as a child as we would face many difficulties (diarrhoea/stomach upset/poor WC facilities etc) as compared to our western lifestyle. It's only natural western boards expected to be looked after when touring India. Would India not expect the same if we toured Afghanistan today? GoldenSun 1
mancalledsting Posted January 12, 2017 Posted January 12, 2017 37 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Everyone is corrupt.Except Lodha committee. True, Each lodha reform is specifically designed to prevent corruption. GoldenSun 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 12, 2017 Author Posted January 12, 2017 29 minutes ago, mancalledsting said: True, Each lodha reform is specifically designed to prevent corruption. LOL.Then ask the SC to implement the same on the politicians.
mancalledsting Posted January 12, 2017 Posted January 12, 2017 corruption at any one level is not justification for corruption on all levels. And the only way to tackle corruption at all levels is by starting at all levels.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted January 12, 2017 Author Posted January 12, 2017 1 minute ago, mancalledsting said: corruption at any one level is not justification for corruption on all levels. And the only way to tackle corruption at all levels is by starting at all levels. So you believe that people above 70 are of no use and even if someone is running a organisation well he should be booted out after 3 years? surajmal and GoldenSun 1 1