mancalledsting Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 I think the aim is for pandya to come in place of either ashwin or jadeja with exactly same number of bowlers. Bowler fatigue has been a big issue for us in tests and we often can't finish a side off.....e.g. baz Macallum triple century in NZ vs India
express bowling Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: AGain bring out one off performances.He just isnt a good enough batsman in tests.Yes can do a lower order power hitter job in LOIs. It shows basic ability which has to be there to succeed at international level. Indian team and A team coaches have to work and are working with a semi-prepared player with ability to take him to the next level. Players can and do improve over time. India does not have any seamer-all-rounder and hence our team management is eager to develop him faster than playing years in our domestic system does. Kumble has specifically said that Pandya has been included in the test squad as they want to play him in tests outside Asia. I Edited February 19, 2017 by express bowling
rkt.india Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 (edited) 27 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Yes in west Indies.Your point? As usual you pick and choose one or two performances and try hyping that.BK scored 50 plus in tthat innings as well. Heard the word "CONSISTENCY" Ashwin has a better average overseas than Dhoni. has 2 100s and 3 50s in 17 tests at 30. Edited February 19, 2017 by rkt.india
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 19, 2017 Author Posted February 19, 2017 3 minutes ago, express bowling said: It shows basic ability which has to be there to succeed at international level. Indian team and A team coaches have to work and are working with a semi-prepared player with ability to take him to the next level. Players can and do improve over time. India does not have any seamer-all-rounder and hence our team management is eager to develop him faster than playing years in our domestic system does. Kumble has specifically said that Pandya has been included in the test squad as they want to play him in tests outside Asia. I Yes he can play on absolute pattas like we got at Trent Bridge.Else he is no use. We will play 4 bowlers.3pacers and 1 spinner.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 19, 2017 Author Posted February 19, 2017 2 minutes ago, rkt.india said: Ashwin has a better average overseas than Dhoni. Ashwin has 13 tests Dhoni has close to 40 tests.Try again.
express bowling Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 Just now, Malcolm Merlyn said: Yes he can play on absolute pattas like we got at Trent Bridge.Else he is no use. We will play 4 bowlers.3pacers and 1 spinner. We get lots of pattas these days even away from Asia. He maybe utilized on those tracks. Pacers will have to bowl a lot of overs on pattas and he can give rest to our 3 main quicks by chipping in with some useful overs. It will be easier for him to bat on pattas too. This might be the team management's plan.
rkt.india Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 5 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Ashwin has 13 tests Dhoni has close to 40 tests.Try again. so what? 13 tests are good enough to judge the ability of a batsman. He already has 2 overseas 100. Kapil dev had 3 in all of his career. Dhoni has none.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 19, 2017 Author Posted February 19, 2017 1 minute ago, rkt.india said: so what? 13 tests are good enough to judge the ability of a batsman. He already has 2 overseas 100. Kapil dev had 3 in all of his career. Dhoni has none. Yes 2 100s againist minnow WI. 13 tests are good enough to judge? Adam Voges has a avg of 61.87 in 20 tests,by your logic he is better than Lara,Ponting,SRT etc.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 19, 2017 Author Posted February 19, 2017 7 minutes ago, express bowling said: We get lots of pattas these days even away from Asia. He maybe utilized on those tracks. Pacers will have to bowl a lot of overs on pattas and he can give rest to our 3 main quicks by chipping in with some useful overs. It will be easier for him to bat on pattas too. This might be the team management's plan. SA or NZ pitches are hardly pattas.We wont be playing 5 bowlers when we play at Perth Brisbane etc.So he may play in 1 or two matches here or there.
express bowling Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 2 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: SA or NZ pitches are hardly pattas.We wont be playing 5 bowlers when we play at Perth Brisbane etc.So he may play in 1 or two matches here or there. Let's see .... we will get our answer in a few months
rkt.india Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 21 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Yes 2 100s againist minnow WI. 13 tests are good enough to judge? Adam Voges has a avg of 61.87 in 20 tests,by your logic he is better than Lara,Ponting,SRT etc. 13 matches are good enough to judge a batsman's ability. Not to compare with greats. msplash9 1
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 19, 2017 Author Posted February 19, 2017 Just now, rkt.india said: 13 matches are good enough to judge a batsman's ability. Not to compare with greats. Then why are you comparing Ashwin with Dhoni? Lahori Logic?
rkt.india Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 14 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: Then why are you comparing Ashwin with Dhoni? Lahori Logic? Where did I compare Ashwin with Dhoni? Did I say Ashwin is better than Dhoni? I said Ashwin has better average than Dhoni overseas. Dhoni doesn't have a 100 overseas, Ashwin has.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 19, 2017 Author Posted February 19, 2017 3 minutes ago, rkt.india said: Where did I compare Ashwin with Dhoni? Did I say Ashwin is better than Dhoni? I said Ashwin has better average than Dhoni overseas. Dhoni doesn't have a 100 overseas, Ashwin has. This isnt a comparision then what is? Aaj Jai Baba Bholenath kiya kya?
putrevus Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 Unless we find a good fast bowling allrounder, I would play both spinners as all rounders and three fast bowlers.Jadeja will be better than 100 Stuart Binnys. The spin twins have to find way to make themselves relevant on overseas pitches too.The one who is playing will have to do better job anyway so why not let both of them play together. As Clive Lloyd once said you play you best bowlers even in India it does not matter if they are fast bowlers, why should Jadeja or Ashwin sit out for people like Binny who should never be anywhere near the team.
rkt.india Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 1 hour ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: This isnt a comparision then what is? Aaj Jai Baba Bholenath kiya kya? No. It isn't.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 4 hours ago, Malcolm Merlyn said: In last couple of test series India is playing 5 bowlers in the side.While it may look attacking its not feasible to do this in the long term. The reason is that when India tours outside they will reveryt to the 4 bowlers option and an extra batsman will come in as the lower order of Ashwin and Jadeja wont be as successful with the bat in overseas conditions neither will both of them play in an overseas test. Someone like Karun Nair or Shreyas Iyer or even Tailunt Sharma may get a chance.The problen is that if one of these extra batsmen performs in overseas tests can you just discard him for the home tests?Can we have some batsmen who will only play when we tour outside? Considering our 3 4 5 will be Pujara Kohli and Rahane and they are untouchable,will this 5 bowler strategy hold in long term? India will revert back to 4 bowlers, no they wont. Who said that. U shud really watch virat's interview Pandya, shankar, jayant will be playing as all rounder in most cases depending on their need, growth n form. Pujara if he has few overseas failure will find his position under serious threat, specially when a guy who scored 300 is sitting out. If we want to play quick bowlers we need the 5th bowlers to give them rest. In India spinner runs the show so the problem is that much. Whats the point of our bowlers bowling long n tiring spells and being carted around. We do not have the luxury of Sehwag, sachin, ganguly part time bowling in our batsman .
ShebbySB Posted February 19, 2017 Posted February 19, 2017 Vijay Rahul Pujara Kohli Rahane Saha Hardik Ashwin BK Ishant/Umesh Shami This is the combo our management is probably planning for outside the SC.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 19, 2017 Author Posted February 19, 2017 India will revert back to 4 bowlers, no they wont. Who said that. U shud really watch virat's interview Pandya, shankar, jayant will be playing as all rounder in most cases depending on their need, growth n form. Pujara if he has few overseas failure will find his position under serious threat, specially when a guy who scored 300 is sitting out. If we want to play quick bowlers we need the 5th bowlers to give them rest. In India spinner runs the show so the problem is that much. Whats the point of our bowlers bowling long n tiring spells and being carted around. We do not have the luxury of Sehwag, sachin, ganguly part time bowling in our batsman . Vijay Rahul Pujara Kohli Rahane Saha Hardik Ashwin BK Ishant/Umesh Shami This is the combo our management is probably planning for outside the SC. India will play 5 batsmen and hack Saha and Hardik.LOL. Everyteam plays 4 bowlers in places like SA EnG NZ.Tests is no place for bits and pieces ARs.England learnt it in India. 5 bowlers wont play outside India unless we get a Patta where Hardik can hit a few. And Jayant Yadav probably wont even make the squad.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 19, 2017 Author Posted February 19, 2017 No. It isn't. It is a comparision.You thought i was a Dhoni fanatic who will go berserk at that post.I am not.Now since you have been trapped now with a meaningless illogical comparision you are trying to wriggle out. You even further trapped yourself when you replied to my 2nd post saying 13 tests are enough.