Spot-fixing: Butt, Asif and Aamer found guilty, sentenced to jail !!

SachDan

and this when his wife gave birth to a son ... hey khuda kya wahiad timing hai aapka.... well he deserved what he did but sad for Indian cricket fans... with this decision we wont get ol the help from the pakistanis that we gt in WC 2011 Semi- Final... though m nt saying they wd have won it had they caught those catches bt surely it wd hv been a lil more close than that

Nationality test? :hmmm:

Match Fixer Asif Iqbal blames ICC for Corruption in Cricket He is right in criticizing ICC for its ineptitude but its not for Pakis to blame anybody else for their propensity to cheat in every sphere of life. Also, this Asif Iqbal is "Match fixing Central"

Iqbal, 68, told CNN that the International Cricket Council (ICC) had not taken sufficient action to tackle corruption within the game. "I personally hold the ICC responsible for not taking proper care of its product," said Iqbal, who represented Pakistan in 58 Tests between 1964 and 1980. "The ICC being the head of the entire cricketing world, they are the ones who should be taking action. They have got an anti-corruption unit ... there's not one single case in which the anti-corruption unit has actually come up with any substantial evidence to nail any cricketer." I personally hold the ICC responsible for not taking proper care of its product Asif Iqbal Evidence of the "spot-fixing" plot was discovered by an undercover journalist for the now defunct British newspaper the News of the World. Iqbal condemned the ICC for failing to act on similar accusations in the past and for not unearthing corruption themselves. "Here, an investigative reporter from a newspaper did the work for the ICC," the former all-rounder said. "Allegations were made by teammates in Sri Lanka, a former Sri Lankan captain made certain allegations against present cricketers. "Likewise an Indian cricketer and a West Indian cricketer were named, and the cricketing board really did nothing. We haven't heard anything further after that. No ICC action was taken. "If the player was found guilty they should have taken the same action as they did against the Pakistani players." The ICC released a statement after the verdict stating that the outcome was consistent with the findings of its anti-corruption unit earlier this year, which dished out suspensions to the trio of between five to seven years. "The developments in the English criminal courts will have no impact upon those periods of suspension, which will remain in full force and effect," ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said. "The ICC takes no pleasure from the fact that these players stepped outside not only the laws of the game but also the criminal laws of the country in which they were participating. "We have always said that we will continue to explore every possible avenue to ensure that cricket is free from corrupt activity. That is precisely what we have done in this case." Iqbal called for the ICC to change its approach to corruption, suggesting the organization should implement more stringent rules for agents and other outside sources involved with players. "First, if any of these allegations are made by any individual against a team or players, the ICC should not let the local cricket board take any action. The second, far more important thing and I believe they may be doing this now ... agents of the players. If the player was found guilty they should have taken the same action as they did against the Pakistani players Asif Iqbal "They play a huge role in putting these players under pressure and making them do things which are not proper. The agents of the players should be regulated, that is very important." In addition to agents, Iqbal said players' sponsors should be checked in order to make sure payments being received are legitimate. "They should also check with the players the amount of sponsorship money they are getting from various sponsors, where it's coming from, who the sponsor is," he said. "Also keep an account of the agents: what he is, where he is getting these sponsorships from. All these things will help cricket clear the mess it has found itself in." Iqbal said he was not surprised to see the three players found guilty, saying corruption is always possible in an age where sport is such a lucrative business. "To have these things happening is very sad and very disappointing," he said. "But I suppose cricket is no longer a sport, it's an industry now with live telecasting of matches all around the world. "And people do get tempted, so it is sad and I wish it hadn't happened."
http://www.cnn.com/2011/11/01/sport/cricket-butt-asif-pakistan/

Verdicts will have 'no impact' on suspensions - Lorgat Haroon Lorgat, the ICC chief executive, says that the guilty verdicts handed down to Salman Butt and Mohammad Asif at Southwark Crown Court, as well as Mohammad Amir's own guilty plea, will "have no impact" on the length of the suspensions meted out on the three players at the ICC's own hearing in Doha earlier this year. "The ICC has been closely following the criminal trial at Southwark Crown Court in England over the past few weeks," said Lorgat at a press conference in Dubai. "We note that the jury has found Salman Butt and Mohammad Asif guilty of the criminal offences with which they were charged and also that Mohammad Amir had pleaded guilty to the criminal offences with which he was charged." "These outcomes appear to be consistent with the findings of the independent anti-corruption tribunal which was appointed earlier this year to hear charges brought against the three players by the ICC under our own Anti-Corruption Code. To be clear, the developments in the English criminal courts will have no impact upon those periods of suspension, which will remain in full force and effect. Following the investigation from the ICC's Anti-Corruption and Security Unit, which was triggered by a sting operation by the now-defunct newspaper, News of the World, the three players were all found guilty of offences under the Anti-Corruption Code and suspended from all forms of cricket for five years in Amir's case, seven in Asif's (two of which were suspended), and ten years for Butt (five suspended). "The ICC takes no pleasure from the fact that these players stepped outside not only the laws of the game but also the criminal laws of the country in which they were participating," said Lorgat. "In addition to constituting offences under the ICC's Anti-Corruption Code, for which sporting sanctions have been imposed, such conduct has now been shown to constitute criminal behaviour for which serious criminal sanctions can also be imposed." The exact sentences for the three players remain to be determined, although both Butt and Asif were found guilty of conspiracy to accept corrupt payments, which carries a maximum sentence of seven years in jail, and conspiracy to cheat, which carries a maximum of two years. "Of course, we note that the Judge is yet to determine the appropriate sentence for each of the three players so I do not comment further in that regard," added Lorgat, "but we hope that this verdict is seen as a further warning to any individual who might, for whatever reason, be tempted to engage in corrupt activity within our sport. "I am satisfied that we have worked closely with the Crown Prosecution Service and Metropolitan Police throughout this entire process, and I believe that this case has shown that it is possible for criminal authorities and sports bodies to cooperate with each other, in difficult circumstances, in the best interests of the sport and the public at large."

what a joke. so a criminal court could in theory put them behind bars for 7 years yet amir could have a 5 year ban in cricket- surely all of them need to be life banned now
Court didn't punish them for bringing game to disrepute. ICC didn't ban them for conspiracy to cheat and accepting corrupt money. Both punishments were according to rules and laws.
Ok...Now... 1) Sohail Tanveer: Hindu Zehniyat, threatens to kill wife 2) Salman Butt: Match Fixer, faces jail term in a foreign country 3) Asif: Match Fixer, involved in a brawl with Akhtar, caught doping, had an ugly spat with some Paki bimbo celebrity please add more Pakis to this list. At the end of this all you are left with is Younus Khan.
Younis Khan? Are you kidding me?He beat up a fan who accidentally tripped him over..:giggle: Watch from 1:15 sp4BlVrjP0U
@_fakeiplplayer "Salman Butt's baby boy born on the day he's found guilty of spot-fixing" If life's a hindi film that boy wud grow up to lead Pak to WC win. :hysterical::hysterical:
Totally filmy. It seems GOD has some plans.....either this kid will go on to become one of the greats in Pakistan, if that is even possible OR he is reincarnation of satan....:fear:

I cant understand the jail term. Isnt that wayyyy tooo harsh ? That is inhuman . The best possible sentence would be stripping off all his records, banning him for life from all forms of cricket and perhaps some monetary fine. But a jail sentence for a sportsman is absolutely needless...I DONT agree..Doesnt matter if he is a Pakistani !