BeautifulGame Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 Come on, a test veteran bowler of 132 tests can't coach or know about Fast bowling? > No.Knowing a thing or two isn't good enough.As I listed the results are there which has repeatedly cost us big games and we also have fast bowlers publically asking for a fast bowling coach.Kumble being a legendary keg spinner doesn't make him an expert in fast bowling.Ans we need an expert. No country or club appoints a spin bowler as fast bowling coach because he is veteran.How many countries have appointed Warne or Murali as fast bowling coach for example?None. Almost every country employs a fast bowling coach.And when needed they appoint a spin bowling coach as well in addition only .All of them arent ignorant. Rightarmfast and beetle 2
BeautifulGame Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 How can Bangar who hardly batted in tests know more about batting than Sachin to coach a bunch of newbies. Sridhar might not be our best fielder in domestic to be a fielding coach to the national team. I don't mind Bangar as batting coach .Agree he is not someone of stature but he is someone with excellent technique (Remember Headingley test?) and has worked his way as a coach before being appointed batting coach .Also generally we have a very good batting culture and always have world class batters in the side so don't really matter.The likes of Sachin and Dravid have mentored the likes of Kohli Pujara and Rahane and these lot can mentor the next generation. But unfortunately we haven't had much of a world class fast bowler since Kapil Dev.So we need a quality fast bowler who has achieved a lot of success in international cricket to help these promising fast bowlers we have. Sridhar for me is useless as well.Our slip fielding has been awful for a long time and he has had enough time to improve them.If anything it has gotten worse and we never have consistent slip fielders as well. beetle and coffee_rules 2
Pollack Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 How could a bowling coach teach you not to bowl no balls and wides. These are players playing at international level, they know how not to ball a no ball. Its pretty simple how not to. Regarding wides it was more panic attack. If you think you need a fast bowling coach to avoid extras I can only laugh. Just to oppose Kumble , any logic. Do agree we need fast bowling coach but not for avoiding extras.
rkt.india Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 Kumble was already getting 6 plus crores. that is a lot of money. He turned to be too greedy. beetle 1
rkt.india Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 Just now, Pollack said: How could a bowling coach teach you not to bowl no balls and wides. These are players playing at international level, they know how not to ball a no ball. Its pretty simple how not to. Regarding wides it was more panic attack. If you think you need a fast bowling coach to avoid extras I can only laugh. Just to oppose Kumble , any logic. Do agree we need fast bowling coach but not for avoiding extras. yes, you need a coach who can tell you methods to correct when you are going wrong. Why do teams have specialist fast bowling coach then if bowlers already knew everything? and it does not matter whether they are playing at international level or not. Not everyone will know how to correct the no-ball problem once it creeps in. Ishant had a huge no-ball problem since his debut game and he still struggles with it. In this team, only Umesh is the only one who does not bowl a no ball. beetle 1
Pollack Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 3 minutes ago, rkt.india said: Kumble was already getting 6 plus crores. that is a lot of money. He turned to be too greedy. It was his proposal. Greedy or not it is Kumble vs BCCI. Nothing to do with players.He has been shown the door due to fallout with players.
Pollack Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 2 minutes ago, rkt.india said: yes, you need a coach who can tell you methods to correct when you are going wrong. Why do teams have specialist fast bowling coach then if bowlers already knew everything? and it does not matter whether they are playing at international level or not. Not everyone will know how to correct the no-ball problem once it creeps in. Ishant had a huge no-ball problem since his debut game and he still struggles with it. In this team, only Umesh is the only one who does not bowl a no ball. Sorry don't think no balls and wides can be corrected by a coach by other than giving a pep talk. Most Indian bowlers bowl disciplined in few matches and then suddenly in one or two odd they lose radar. So it has nothing to do with technical parameters.Of course a coach can correct if he a bowler has issues of extras due to action or lost rhythm in run up etc. But then it will be on a fairly consistent basis. Not in one or two odd pressure matches only. Clearly its pressure causing them panic and panic causing extras rather than technical aspects. For god sake even spinners are bowling no balls .
rkt.india Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 Just now, Pollack said: Sorry don't think no balls and wides can be corrected by a coach by other than giving a pep talk. Most Indian bowlers bowl disciplined in few matches and then suddenly in one or two odd they lose radar. So it has nothing to do with technical parameters.Of course a coach can correct if he a bowler has issues of extras due to action or lost rhythm in run up etc. But then it will be on a fairly consistent basis. Not in one or two odd pressure matches only. Clearly its pressure causing them panic and panic causing extras rather than technical aspects. For god sake even spinners are bowling no balls . no ball and wides both happens due to error in technique and coach is needed to correct hat.
Pollack Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 2 minutes ago, rkt.india said: no ball and wides both happens due to error in technique and coach is needed to correct hat. Don't deny that but do not think technique is the cause with Indian bowlers currently for giving away extras. Fast bowling coach is required but not for stopping extras alone which honestly kumble could also have stopped since believe bowlers are just overwhelmed by situation and them giving extras has nothing to do with technical aspects of their bowling.
rkt.india Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 2 minutes ago, Pollack said: Don't deny that but do not think technique is the cause with Indian bowlers currently for giving away extras. Fast bowling coach is required but not for stopping extras alone which honestly kumble could also have stopped since believe bowlers are just overwhelmed by situation and them giving extras has nothing to do with technical aspects of their bowling. overstepping happens due to faulty technique and bowling coach can easily correct that. When Ishant had messed up his action, it was Joe or Eric Simmons, don'r remember correctly, worked him to improve on that.
BeautifulGame Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 25 minutes ago, Pollack said: Just to oppose Kumble , any logic. Do agree we need fast bowling coach but not for avoiding extras. Not really .This was during the game. It's just that I always thought Bharat Arun is our bowling coach so he was responsible and critizing him.Didnt realize he was let go off. And yes a bowling coach can work with bowlers to fix their extras issues.Often wide is because of technical issues in delivery and no ball issues can be fixed of correcting their deliver stride .But these are technical issues and need a good fast bowling coach to fix them.
Pollack Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 1 minute ago, rkt.india said: overstepping happens due to faulty technique and bowling coach can easily correct that. When Ishant had messed up his action, it was Joe or Eric Simmons, don'r remember correctly, worked him to improve on that. Arey bhai who is denying it can not happen due to faulty technique? Or are you trying to imply it can happen only because of faulty technique alone ? No other reasons?
Pollack Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 3 minutes ago, BeautifulGame said: Not really .This was during the game. It's just that I always thought Bharat Arun is our bowling coach so he was responsible and critizing him.Didnt realize he was let go off. And yes a bowling coach can work with bowlers to fix their extras issues.Often wide is because of technical issues in delivery and no ball issues can be fixed of correcting their deliver stride .But these are technical issues and need a good fast bowling coach to fix them. But the same bowlers are bowling completely fine in many matches without giving much extras. If it was technical issue on their part they should have been fairly consistent in giving away extras. But there is clear pattern here. Our Bowlers are indisciplined whenever the ocassion is big or batsman is taking them heads on and attacking and succeeding. Pushes me to believe it is panicking rather than any technical issues.
BeautifulGame Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 But the same bowlers are bowling completely fine in many matches without giving much extras. If it was technical issue on their part they should have been fairly consistent in giving away extras. But there is clear pattern here. Our Bowlers are indisciplined whenever the ocassion is big or batsman is taking them heads on and attacking and succeeding. Pushes me to believe it is panicking rather than any technical issues. Bumrah has a chronic no ball problem. Ishant has a chronic no ball problem. Neither are because of big stage fear. They definitely have issues that has to be corrected. Ponting (who worked with Bumrah in IPL) mentioned in commentary that he is always pushing the line .That could have been corrected by a good bowling coach with time and practice. We didn't bother to obviously and has cost us dearly.
Pollack Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 1 minute ago, BeautifulGame said: Bumrah has a chronic no ball problem. Ishant has a chronic no ball problem. Neither are because of big stage fear. They definitely have issues that has to be corrected. Ponting (who worked with Bumrah in IPL) mentioned in commentary that he is always pushing the line .That could have been corrected by a good bowling coach with time and practice. We didn't bother to obviously and has cost us dearly. Hmm. Agreed Ishant has chronic no ball problem but he is Ishant. He shouldn't be in team now. Bumrah interestingly did not notice he has any chronic issue of no balls. Maybe .
Pollack Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 (edited) If you notice bumrah was bowling a bit faster in finals. 142-145+ fairly consistently? It is completely normal to slip ahead when you are looking for extra pace. Edited June 24, 2017 by Pollack
Rightarmfast Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 1 hour ago, BeautifulGame said: No.Knowing a thing or two isn't good enough.As I listed the results are there which has repeatedly cost us big games and we also have fast bowlers publically asking for a fast bowling coach.Kumble being a legendary keg spinner doesn't make him an expert in fast bowling.Ans we need an expert. No country or club appoints a spin bowler as fast bowling coach because he is veteran.How many countries have appointed Warne or Murali as fast bowling coach for example?None. Almost every country employs a fast bowling coach.And when needed they appoint a spin bowling coach as well in addition only .All of them arent ignorant. Asking a spinner to coach your fast bowlers is the same as asking a jogger to train your 100 mtr sprint olympic team. Even a failed fast bowler will know more about fast bowling than a world class spinner. You dont need to be sherlock holmes to know this!
beetle Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 We need a bowling coach all the more because we do not have a senior fast bowler in the team . ( ishant can't be called a senior )All the bowlers are around same experience wise . They need a third person to analyse and correct issues.
rkt.india Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 17 minutes ago, Pollack said: If you notice bumrah was bowling a bit faster in finals. 142-145+ fairly consistently? It is completely normal to slip ahead when you are looking for extra pace. He has been bowling quick throughout the CT, not just final.
rkt.india Posted June 24, 2017 Posted June 24, 2017 27 minutes ago, Pollack said: Hmm. Agreed Ishant has chronic no ball problem but he is Ishant. He shouldn't be in team now. Bumrah interestingly did not notice he has any chronic issue of no balls. Maybe . Gumrah does have a no ball issue. He has a very short run-up that might be a reason for his no ball issue. He needs rectify it quickly. You can't bowl no balls in important games.