Bumrah needs to be tried in Test matches

1 hour ago, Vk1 said:

If shami regains 100% form we don't need bumrah or others. Shami umesh hardik combo looks excellent. Bhuvi coming in for swinging conditions. 

Need to create the 3rd specialist pacer before the 5 out-of-Asia test series start.

Backup is needed for injuries too during this long period.

2 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Need to create the 3rd specialist pacer before the 5 out-of-Asia test series start.

Backup is needed for injuries too during this long period.

Yes I forgot that...Looks like ishanth sharmas illustrious career is finally going to end soon. Will go down in history with worst average. Good for team. Bumrah thakur siraj is the order in waiting list I guess. 

10 minutes ago, Vk1 said:

Yes I forgot that...Looks like ishanth sharmas illustrious career is finally going to end soon. Will go down in history with worst average. Good for team. Bumrah thakur siraj is the order in waiting list I guess. 

Even Aniket and Saini

Whoever performs in the unofficial tests in SA or looks impressive, may become the backup  : )

2 hours ago, sarchasm said:

Word of caution re the A tour. SA being in southern hemisphere is in the middle of its winter season. The wickets would be dry and flat with practically no assistance to quicks. Expect big scores and unflattering figures from pacemen.

Then it is going to be a useless tour. Remember last time sa gave us national highways in A tour.

Edited by renjith

bump

Classic test-match-type bowling on a seaming track today .... the type of conditions we may get in SA, NZ, England

Bumrah has bowled the channel today, ball after ball with the new ball ..... seam movement and swing both ways .... pace and bounce consistently ..... very accurate bowling

5 - 2 - 9- 2   in his first spell

It would be prudent to include Bumrah in the test squad against SL.

Play him in atleast one test  in place of Pandya

Let us see how he does

Can he sustain his pace and intensity bowling 15 + overs a day  ?  ..... I want to find out

If he can, he can be a big asset in tests, given his accuracy, bounce and seam movement.

He comes across as a thinking bowler .... and that is one of the keys to succeed in any format, including test matches.

Excerpt from an interview published in the Telegraph --

Aim is to evolve: Bumrah

" Jasprit Bumrah’s stocks have been on the rise since making his debut in January 2016. The 23-year-old now regarded as one of the top bowlers in the limited overs version says the zeal to learn something new with each game and evolve have helped him survive in international cricket.

“If you want to be successful, you cannot be a one-trick pony,” the Indian pacer said after India’s series clinching six-wicket victory at the Pallekele International Stadium on Sunday.

“After a point nowadays, with technology coming into cricket, people start to analyse and if you only have one or two tricks, people will start to line you up,” said Bumrah.

“The things you do early on, people don’t know, but once they start studying videos, they know what to expect. So you have to keep evolving… If you want to be successful, you have to evolve according to the wickets and learn from all the experienced players and take the experience forward. So the aim is to evolve all the time.

https://www.telegraphindia.com/1170829/jsp/sports/story_169718.jsp

On 8/29/2017 at 2:46 AM, express bowling said:

He comes across as a thinking bowler .... and that is one of the keys to succeed in any format, including test matches.

Excerpt from an interview published in the Telegraph --

Aim is to evolve: Bumrah

" Jasprit Bumrah’s stocks have been on the rise since making his debut in January 2016. The 23-year-old now regarded as one of the top bowlers in the limited overs version says the zeal to learn something new with each game and evolve have helped him survive in international cricket.

“If you want to be successful, you cannot be a one-trick pony,” the Indian pacer said after India’s series clinching six-wicket victory at the Pallekele International Stadium on Sunday.

“After a point nowadays, with technology coming into cricket, people start to analyse and if you only have one or two tricks, people will start to line you up,” said Bumrah.

“The things you do early on, people don’t know, but once they start studying videos, they know what to expect. So you have to keep evolving… If you want to be successful, you have to evolve according to the wickets and learn from all the experienced players and take the experience forward. So the aim is to evolve all the time.

https://www.telegraphindia.com/1170829/jsp/sports/story_169718.jsp

Bumrah always strikes me as a bowler who's experienced and wise, well beyond his age or short career.  The way he mixes up his variations and just seems to be one step ahead of the batsmen.  Love his no-fuss celebrations too, although that's irrelevant.   

9 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Bumrah always strikes me as a bowler who's experienced and wise, well beyond his age or short career.  The way he mixes up his variations and just seems to be one step ahead of the batsmen.  Love his no-fuss celebrations too, although that's irrelevant.   

A thinking pacer ready to evolve ..... and with pace and skills is rare and can succeed in every format.

His ability to extract life out of almost any pitch is a much coveted quality too.

6 minutes ago, express bowling said:

A thinking pacer ready to evolve

Reminds me of Zak after his county stint, only Bumrah has played international cricket for a couple of years.  Can't help but credit IPL for his polished development.  Playing at that level for a couple of years, alongside Malinga et al, definitely must have played a role.  IIRC, Bumrah has always credited Malinga for his mentorship.  

11 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Reminds me of Zak after his county stint, only Bumrah has played international cricket for a couple of years.  Can't help but credit IPL for his polished development.  Playing at that level for a couple of years, alongside Malinga et al, definitely must have played a role.  IIRC, Bumrah has always credited Malinga for his mentorship.  

The whole system is better now.  Zak was discussing it today, pre-match.

Regular A-tours, the IPL, much better fitness trainers and training facilities, off-season training at the NCA.

Economic development of our country is resulting in improved infrastructure and systems and we are getting better results.

Edited by express bowling
4 hours ago, express bowling said:

This pitch would have been ideal for Bumrah.

Hitting the deck hard for seam movement both ways and bounce ....  on the good length area,  off-stump and 4th stump line ....  ball after ball without spraying.

And we may get similar pitches in SA.

I strongly believe he will be on the plane to SA for tests, if we selectors and team management listen to their conscience !.

Purely on Merit he should be . 

10 minutes ago, express bowling said:

We needed to try him in this test series to see if he can sustain intensity and pace while bowling 20 overs a day.

That's why i put the caviet - selectors & team management .  lets see what happens in next 2 tests .

Need to try ...  If he breaks down , nothing can be done ..

Waise bi usko tests me bina khilaye aise hi rakh ke achaar dalna nahi hai .

But on merit & form he should be played