Where will VK be ranked amongst Indian test captains if India win an overseas test match under him this year?

6 minutes ago, Rasgulla said:

He could be been  MTC's "aiilaaa" here and retire at the end of home series..After that away Aus series(2014). for next 3 years we had nothing  but lot of home series and srilanka away.. He said its not fair for New captain to start away tours.. 

Then why retire in the middle of an overseas tour? Didn't want another L?

33 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

So he prioritized IPL over Test cricket? He gave up the chance to lead the team he built to glory for tamaasha cricket? :hmmm:

Jalebi ki tarah gol gol kyu ghuma rahe ho bhai...lol...whatever spin you wanna make, just say it. 

p.s laaloo and his gang are itching to like and bhadkao you once you start dissing Dhoni. 

11 hours ago, Shunya said:

Jalebi ki tarah gol gol kyu ghuma rahe ho bhai...lol...whatever spin you wanna make, just say it. 

p.s laaloo and his gang are itching to like and bhadkao you once you start dissing Dhoni. 

No spin. Still don't know why a champ like Dhoni would retire mid-series. Letting go of captaincy is understandable and one issue, but why retire mid-series, that too overseas?

He didn't have to retire mid-series. He is Dhoni. Legend. Thala. GOAT

11 hours ago, Rasgulla said:

We already lost series.. No point staying. He already said it.. You are doing on purpose aren't you?  Chalo bye :bumsmack:

Isn't that kinda cowardly? I'm offended by your implication. 

7 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

No spin. Still don't know why a champ like Dhoni would retire mid-series. Letting go of captaincy is understandable and one issue, but why retire mid-series, that too overseas?

Isn't that kinda cowardly? I'm offended by your implication. 

There was 1 match left... We already lost series.. what's the point staying on when he knows he ll retire anyway?  Atleast Saha and Kohli gained some exp for future.. It's all about people's point of view. If you think that's what it is.. So be it 

3 hours ago, Rasgulla said:

There was 1 match left... We already lost series.. what's the point staying on when he knows he ll retire anyway?  Atleast Saha and Kohli gained some exp for future.. It's all about people's point of view. If you think that's what it is.. So be it 

So you're trying to tell me that he gave up on Test cricket? He built a champion team and then decided to kick himself out mid-series? 

4 hours ago, jalebi_bhai said:

In my opinion, I would have liked him to continue playing Test matches. I am sure he would have been better than Saha through home season. But in the bigger scheme of things(What we call process) it would have been good for Kohli and Saha to gain that experience. Thats one way of thinking. I dont see anything wrong in it, rather it was more beneficial for the team.

And no, he is no GOAT or anything. He is damn good cricketer, one of the best India has produced. He had his flaws as well like every cricketer out there. So yea, I do consider him as a legend in his own right. Why is it a problem?

54 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

So you're trying to tell me that he gave up on Test cricket? He built a champion team and then decided to kick himself out mid-series? 

That's what you are saying not me.. I never claimed this to be a CHAMPION TEAM.. He built a Team for next captain to take over. That's it.. If the Team he built is not that good enough...then why is Virat still playing with it ? Even after 3 years of his Test departure..

Edited by Rasgulla
3 minutes ago, Rasgulla said:

That's what you are saying not me.. I never claimed this to be a CHAMPION TEAM.. He built a Team for next captain to take over. That's it.. If the Team he built is not that good enough...then why is Virat still playing with it ? Even after 3 years of his Test departure..

So are you saying that it is Kohli who led Dhoni's team and made them Test champions? Why didn't Dhoni want to do it? 

Just now, jalebi_bhai said:

So are you saying that it is Kohli who led Dhoni's team and made them Test champions? Why didn't Dhoni want to do it? 

All am saying is this team is already built by Dhoni.. Do what? We are under Test champions under him before for the first time before. We are always good smashing teams at Home under almost every captain except MTCs "Ailiaaa".. No matter who the captain is we always suck away.. 

11 minutes ago, Shunya said:

In my opinion, I would have liked him to continue playing Test matches. I am sure he would have been better than Saha through home season. But in the bigger scheme of things(What we call process) it would have been good for Kohli and Saha to gain that experience. Thats one way of thinking. I dont see anything wrong in it, rather it was more beneficial for the team.

See, Saha is not a youngster. I think two years younger, that's it. Dhoni could've and should've continued imo. As per @Trichromatic, Dhoni is one of the best players of swing in India. We will need him for the England series in 2018.

Prioritizing IPL over Test cricket is not on imo, considering that Dhoni was/is still capable of being an asset in Test cricket. It's not like he's a bunny like Raina in Tests. 

18 minutes ago, Shunya said:

And no, he is no GOAT or anything. He is damn good cricketer, one of the best India has produced. He had his flaws as well like every cricketer out there. So yea, I do consider him as a legend in his own right. Why is it a problem?

Blasphemy. Calling Dhoni just a legend is like calling Picasso an average paniter. Dhoni IS the GREATEST OF ALL TIME. No questions asked. 

14 minutes ago, Rasgulla said:

All am saying is this team is already built by Dhoni.. Do what? We are under Test champions under him before for the first time before. We are always good smashing teams at Home under almost every captain except MTCs "Ailiaaa".. No matter who the captain is we always suck away.. 

Yea, and where did he leave us?

https://www.google.co.in/amp/m.cricbuzz.com/amp/cricket-news/67991/test-rankings-india-down-to-7th-kohli-smith-on-the-rise

Number 7. Like his jersey number. He left abruptly before fixing what he messed up. Should've at least stayed on as a player to help Kohli but he didn't. 

7 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

https://www.google.co.in/amp/m.cricbuzz.com/amp/cricket-news/67991/test-rankings-india-down-to-7th-kohli-smith-on-the-rise

Number 7. Like his jersey number. He left abruptly before fixing what he messed up. Should've at least stayed on as a player to help Kohli but he didn't. 

Kohli would have never got the credit for these 17 wins of Dhoni had stayed in the team.

11 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

See, Saha is not a youngster. I think two years younger, that's it. Dhoni could've and should've continued imo. As per @Trichromatic, Dhoni is one of the best players of swing in India. We will need him for the England series in 2018.

Prioritizing IPL over Test cricket is not on imo, considering that Dhoni was/is still capable of being an asset in Test cricket. It's not like he's a bunny like Raina in Tests. 

Blasphemy. Calling Dhoni just a legend is like calling Picasso an average paniter. Dhoni IS the GREATEST OF ALL TIME. No questions asked. 

Saha is not a youngster, but he is not yet tested in all conditions. He is an adequate batsman and very good keeper(especially for pace bowlers), but he still is untested in overseas conditions/situations where we are loosing n all. So it was good to try him during Aus series in 2014. It can only help him and the team. Dhoni has retired from Tests since 3 years now, no point in discussing his ability to perform and what could have been done. Its pointless. Hes gone.

Aur IPL over Test Cricket - I dont know what to say. He or anyone can play IPL as long as they wish 40-50 or even 100 years of age. Kya farak padta hai. Its one version of domestic competition that too a small one. So I feel he choose LOIs over Test cricket which requires more efforts compared to Chindi IPL tournaments.

Rest everything is just trolling bhai. Kya GOAT n all. lol That term is discovered by Sachin bhakts who want to have monopoly in everything. Dhoni is mere ATG and a legend based on his achievements. And obviously he has his flaws like every other cricketer. There is only one breed of bhakts who want to prove it to the whole world that Sachin is the GOAT. In the process of doing that they criticize everyone else be it Dhoni or Kohli or Dravid or Smith or anyone else.

18 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

We are on away tours... Do you think he ll keep #1 after our away tours  are finished ? :cheer: chalo I wish him all the best. It was never a mess.. We are trashing teams just like any other captains we had in past..

Edited by Rasgulla
44 minutes ago, Shunya said:

Saha is not a youngster, but he is not yet tested in all conditions. He is an adequate batsman and very good keeper(especially for pace bowlers), but he still is untested in overseas conditions/situations where we are loosing n all. So it was good to try him during Aus series in 2014. It can only help him and the team. Dhoni has retired from Tests since 3 years now, no point in discussing his ability to perform and what could have been done. Its pointless. He's gone.

Aur IPL over Test Cricket - I dont know what to say. He or anyone can play IPL as long as they wish 40-50 or even 100 years of age. Kya farak padta hai. Its one version of domestic competition that too a small one. So I feel he choose LOIs over Test cricket which requires more efforts compared to Chindi IPL tournaments.

Fair enough. He's gone and it doesn't seem like the team is missing him.

I just don't like the fact that he left us in such a mess in Test cricket to prioritize LOIs and IPL.

49 minutes ago, Shunya said:

Rest everything is just trolling bhai. Kya GOAT n all. lol That term is discovered by Sachin bhakts who want to have monopoly in everything. Dhoni is mere ATG and a legend based on his achievements. And obviously he has his flaws like every other cricketer. There is only one breed of bhakts who want to prove it to the whole world that Sachin is the GOAT. In the process of doing that they criticize everyone else be it Dhoni or Kohli or Dravid or Smith or anyone else.

Who cares about Sachin bhakts? I'm deeply offended by the fact that you don't think Dhoni is GOAT. He is GOAT + DRS God with 95% correct decisions. 

46 minutes ago, Rasgulla said:

We are on away tours... Do you think he ll keep #1 after our away tours  are finished ? :cheer: chalo I wish him all the best. It was never a mess.. We are trashing teams just like any other captains we had in past..

I think even if we lose all our games, we'll be ranked 3-5 since we'll be playing against other top teams. Not worse than number 7.