Why hasn't Bengal produced many quality international cricketers?

8 minutes ago, maniac said:

Yeah that Kolhapur wrestler might bench press more than a cricketer but can he out run say some one like Jadeja..::different games need different skills and strength training....what are you trying to prove here?

Also the same football or rugby player might not have the reflexes and coordination to play a 135k ball hurled at them leave alone 150k...so your theory is flawed 

Jadeja is an absolute Livewire on the field,  those timely runouts, running like a Cheetah and catching the ball while running backwards must all be an easy job. 

But but but He can't break any bones like them Wrestlers. 

2 hours ago, rageaddict said:

Typical ignorant remark from someone who has never played among competitive players .

Tu kabhi Mumbai aakar dekh Kisi Maidaan main,  tereko Pata Chalega kitna easy hai Cricket. Tere jaise 2 minute survive nahi kar paenge aur fake injury excuse banake bhaag jaega. 

Lol.Same Maidans which produced fatsos like Ramesh Powar.Son, I played 90 mins of non-stop soccer in rural Kerala with and I know what I am talking about.And compare Kerala's achievements in Athletics, Volleyball,Basketball,Football,Swimming,Badminton,Power lifting,Arm wrestling with your great Maharashtra even with far greater population, you will get to know who is more athletic.There is a reason we are producing 140 kph Thampis and Asifs without even having out best athletes going to cricket and that is the athletic base due to playing much tougher sports like Football.Ask anybody around who played competitive level of soccer and cricket, he will tell you which one is more tough.

Edited by Cricket_Fan
7 hours ago, PBN said:

Man, I just noticed another stat. Punjab has won second most santosh trophies, more than Kerala or Goa.  Punjab gets overlooked in football.

Since 2000

Services won 4 times, 1 time runner ups

Bengal has won 3 times, 2 times runner ups

Punjab won 2 times, 3 times runner ups

Kerala won 2 times, 2 times runner ups

Goa won 2 times, 2 times runner ups

Punjabis rocking in hockey, football,cricket,athletics,kabaddi, basketball,etc :hail::hail:

14 hours ago, PBN said:

so just checked Santosh Trophy stats. Punjab has won it 8 times and runner up 7 times

great allround Punjab :hail:

even current Bengal team has punjabis in it

Punjab is a very good football team. Thing in Bengal's favor is that Bengal dominated when Indian football was world class, after 70s our standards dipped and hence if you pick an all time Indian XI it will be dominated by Bengal players. Current Bengal team doesn't have Punjabis. If you are talking about the clubs yes they do have a few Punjabis but remember many of the Singhs you see are N.E folk, especially Manipur. Don't know how Singh is a name common in N.E :confused: but whatever be it if we are to have a resurgence in football, it will be on the back of N.E and not Bengal/Punjab/Goa/Kerala....serious talent in some of those states. 

Just because football is the go to sport in Bengal, and both the urban and rural populace are hooked to it. You go to any part of Bengal and you'll see two goalposts and an open field alongwith a big pond. That's also the reason you see a major no.of non Bengalis playing for Bengal in domestic cricket.

7 hours ago, Gollum said:

Punjab is a very good football team. Thing in Bengal's favor is that Bengal dominated when Indian football was world class, after 70s our standards dipped and hence if you pick an all time Indian XI it will be dominated by Bengal players. Current Bengal team doesn't have Punjabis. If you are talking about the clubs yes they do have a few Punjabis but remember many of the Singhs you see are N.E folk, especially Manipur. Don't know how Singh is a name common in N.E :confused: but whatever be it if we are to have a resurgence in football, it will be on the back of N.E and not Bengal/Punjab/Goa/Kerala....serious talent in some of those states. 

last year Manvir Singh, who scored the winning goal for Bengal to clinch the santosh trophy, is the son of former Punjab goalkeeper.

Plus, the irony is  Punjab being second most successful team does not even have a team for the Indian Super league :hail:

Hockey and Kabaddi used to be the most popular sports in Punjab  in yesteryears but they've still been able to produce decent talent in many different sports i.e cricket, basketball, hockey, football etc

Edited by PBN
8 minutes ago, MultiB48 said:

cricket  requires good quality arms and shoulder ,football req legs ....totally different sports, footballers have poor arms even rugby players have poor arms ,an all round athlete is one who has strong arms, legs and torso.

here you have rugby players bowling just look at the speed  lol

Lol the Rugby Players that are built like a tank bowling like trundlers.

Wouldn't fast bowlers require strong legs too,  considering they have to run at good speed,  jump and then land on the crease with pressure on Legs/knees ? Basically using the entire body from Back,  Legs,  Hips,  Thighs, Shoulders, Hands  to generate express pace.