Cricketics Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 we all would have played cricket..and when no one would have had any coin.. we definately would have tried some other method to decide who won the toss. back in India.. there are also several methodz invented for this toss.. anyone u remember from ur cricketing dayz back home?? letz see how many methodz we can get.. okay here goez my list 1st method - Tip Top:hysterical:.. i hope most of u would be aware of this all over India 2nd method - Rang aur Chit. one guy used to throw the paper in the air.. and one of the captainz would have to call for "Rang" which meanz Color aur Chit which meanz white or blank:cantstop: 3rd method - Pukam Pukayi - we used this method whenever we used to play Double wicket cricket or like 1st,2nd 3rd,4th.. i hope u all are aware of the 1st, 2nd, 3rd,4th game... in that there is no team..all get to bat and bowl.. and its winnerz to bat first in next game:D 4th method - another method we used to use for this double wicket or 1st, 2nd,3rd, 4th waala game. in this method we used to pick one person, usually the youngest kid among us and then standing behind him we used to ask him "YEH KISKI HAI?" and the young kid used to say "yeh iski hai" any other methodz? Nostalgic momentz.. wow
chamatkar Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 Odds and evens - captain selects a choice among odd or even ... and then on the count of three, each comes up with a random number on their fingers. If the sum of the two captains is odd, the capn calling odds wins...
retterimp Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 lol good thread cricetics btw what is tip top? i remember sometimes we would hide a rock or something in one fist, show both and the captain had to pick the right fist.
amits Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 5th method - winners to cont. used in matches after the 1st match with the winner of the previous match deciding to bat/ball in the next match 6th method - 1 of the captains takes something in 1 of the hands and closes both his hands. now he asks the other captain that in which hand has he kept that thing. correct guess makes the other captain win & the incorrect guess makes the 1st captain as the winner the tip-top method usually used to have too much of cheating involved during the "toss" time, so it is not too frequently used. rang-chit method is very similar to toss except that it is done using a piece of paper. and besides the 1st-2nd-3rd-4th system, there was also a partnership system which divided all players into groups of 2 and the 2 players who put together the highest partnership among themselves won, just a extended system of 1st-2nd-3rd-4th. all the remaining players bowled & fielded in the partnership system similar to what happens in the 1st-2nd-3rd-4th system
Predator_05 Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 Tip top, kya *********apa tha woh...:haha: I always won 'cos my feet were bigger. Method 4 bhi kaafi chalta tha...
nospam Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 2nd method - Rang aur Chit. one guy used to throw the paper in the air.. and one of the captainz would have to call for "Rang" which meanz Color aur Chit which meanz white or blank:cantstop: similar method (when i was playing in dubai) : one of the team member 'thrower' is situated a bit away from the 2 captains, throws the ball in the air. one of the captains (of the opposite team of the thrower) whispers either "catch" or "drop" to the other captain. if the thrower catches it, then the captain who called it wins the toss and loses if the thrower did the opposite.
Gambit Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 Hilarious :hysterical: Tip top ****, that brings back some memories. :D Another one was hindi or english. Some paan/beedi wrappers were newspaper papers that had some Hindi ad on one side and English on the other. Toss it and call Hindi/English. Another one was telling if the next number in the note was even or odd.
Dravid Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 we would either find one of the matchbox covers...and throw that in the air.. or get a flat rock...spit on one side of it...and throw it up...one guy calls either spit or no spit :hahaha:
coffee_rules Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 Dunno what's tip-top. We used to use another method. Take a small stone (the smaller the better), hold it in the fist and move your hand (like a bowling action) and keep rotating fast. At some point either drop the small stone or hold in the hand. The other captain would have to guess if the stone is still in the hand or dropped.
veer Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 6th method - 1 of the captains takes something in 1 of the hands and closes both his hands. now he asks the other captain that in which hand has he kept that thing. correct guess makes the other captain win & the incorrect guess makes the 1st captain as the winner thats the method we used most of the time.. paise nahi the tab.. :D
fineleg Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 or get a flat rock...spit on one side of it...and throw it up...one guy calls either spit or no spit :hahaha: Yuck! :banghead:
fineleg Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 Dunno what's tip-top. We used to use another method. Take a small stone (the smaller the better), hold it in the fist and move your hand (like a bowling action) and keep rotating fast. At some point either drop the small stone or hold in the hand. The other captain would have to guess if the stone is still in the hand or dropped. Yep, thats a good one. :two_thumbs_up: smaller stone can easily be dropped in between the knuckles when you rotate fast.
Predator_05 Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 Dunno what's tip-top. . :omg: Two guys from opposing teams line up on opposite sides of an imaginary line traced on the ground. Each guy takes one step forward (not deviating from the line) until they get really close. At the end, the guy whose foot overlaps the other "wins". What makes it stupid is how the guys say "tip" or "top" out loud everytime they take a step
Cricketics Posted February 21, 2008 Author Posted February 21, 2008 :omg: Two guys from opposing teams line up on opposite sides of an imaginary line traced on the ground. Each guy takes one step forward (not deviating from the line) until they get really close. At the end, the guy whose foot overlaps the other "wins". after deciding the team.. we used to pick the tallest guy from our team to do the tip top with opposition captain.. so that he could win easily
ludhianvi Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 Never head of tip top I remember putting something in one hand and you had to tell which hand it was in. Another was twirling the bat and guessing if it would land with the flat face or the opposite side. When we didnt have enough players, so everyone was fielding and everyone gets to bat. The sequence in which people batted was decided by two methods. behind someone's back you hold a certain # of fingers and that person tells whos turn corresponds to the # of fingers raised. Second method was to draw lines and using the bat hide their corresponding numbers and people chose which ever lines and the bat was removed to reveal the corresponding batting numbers.
Desi Cartman Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 WOW .. awesome thread. We used to use "yeh wali kiski" method (# of fingers behind the guesser's back) and then it was winner to continue. Yeh wali kisi method had flaws though , u could see a reflection in the glass window or shadow, the number of times your back was slapped b4 u were asked to guess was some times a bit dodgy as well. FAcking cheaters !
fineleg Posted February 21, 2008 Posted February 21, 2008 "Our team must bat first today, because your team did during the last two matches yesterday, so we wont agree for toss. We need to bat first, Cmon folks, You have to agree" Such demands :hysterical:
Desi Cartman Posted February 22, 2008 Posted February 22, 2008 It also depended on bat - ball kiski hai .. if you owned the equipment then u were like BCCI .. u called the shots :two_thumbs_up: