How stupid is it to not replace injured players?

Next match is easy.

It gives them breathing space to make a well informed decision .They have alternatives till then.

What if the replaced players  come in and suck and the injured player gets better before the important matches?Once removed ,the main players have to go home.

3 hours ago, beetle said:

Next match is easy.

It gives them breathing space to make a well informed decision .They have alternatives till then.

What if the replaced players  come in and suck and the injured player gets better before the important matches?Once removed ,the main players have to go home.

What if the injured players play in semis and break down again? Mind boggling that we will be carrying two guys with 10% chance of being fit after 2-3 weeks.

My sense is they  are hoping we seal a semi spot before BD match on 2nd July and the last match with SL on 6th July. That gives Dhawan and Bhuvi another ten days to recover before semis.

This team under the present leadership anyways has never been honest about injuries to players. So don’t be surprised if they already know Dhawan and Bhuvi are out but will still carry them for 3 weeks before accepting the reality.

5 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

yea it shud be the message .........

it isnt even right to give dhawan a mssg that he has done well for 6 yrs and even in this tournament and he ll loose the place just coz someone does well for 2-3 games. 2-3 games cant take away 6 yrs of perfomance 

6 matches is nothing in front of 6 yrs..........and btw let that perfomance happen in 6 games. Add to that Left right hand combination 

No disrespect to Dhawan, but going by his record in knockouts of tournaments in these 6 years, better to bet on Rahul than a half fit Dhawan who would been out injured for more than a month before the semis.

2 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

No disrespect to Dhawan, but going by his record in knockouts of tournaments in these 6 years, better to bet on Rahul than a half fit Dhawan who would been out injured for more than a month before the semis.

Half fit or full we dont knw yet.....neways its a hairlline fracture not a hamstring that ll keep coming back

Rahul isn even proven yet..........forget replacing someone like dhawan which m sure will not happen even if rahul score consecutive 100s . Dhawan has been the pillar of our batting and u dnt remove them like that 

4 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Half fit or full we dont knw yet.....neways its a hairlline fracture not a hamstring that ll keep coming back

Rahul isn even proven yet..........forget replacing someone like dhawan which m sure will not happen even if rahul score consecutive 100s . Dhawan has been the pillar of our batting and u dnt remove them like that 

Ever heard of a team (across sports) carrying an unfit player for a full month during a WC and then getting him back directly for the semis? Earlier we took a decision, better it is for our campaign 

20 minutes ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Ever heard of a team (across sports) carrying an unfit player for a full month during a WC and then getting him back directly for the semis? Earlier we took a decision, better it is for our campaign 

Konsi kitab men likha hua pehle nhin hua to ab bhi nhin hoga. Its not that he ll forget batting in 21 days or his injury was of back that he ll have problems playing shots. 

9 hours ago, diehardpacer said:

It's risky.Given wet conditions in most of the matches,they should expect few more injuries & plan accordingly.Read somewhere they had sent back Saini & other practice bowlers back before the 1st match.They should call Ishant as cover here.

If they don't want to rule Dhawan out,niggle one out of DK,Jadhav,Shankar out & get Pant in.

Currently,the squad is 9 decent players + Jadhav,Shankar,Jadeja,DK .Not making these replacement decisions early could prove costly if an emergency arises in crunch match.

Saini is in standby so Ishant can't come before him

7 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Konsi kitab men likha hua pehle nhin hua to ab bhi nhin hoga. Its not that he ll forget batting in 21 days or his injury was of back that he ll have problems playing shots. 

Haan bhai, dressing room ko real hospital ward hi bana do, kisi kitab mein likha hai ki nahi bana sakte.

Bhuvi was rushed back from injury in Eng last year, we saw how he had really forgotten to bowl decently, or earlier with Sehwag/ Gauti in Tests in 2011 in England. But then kisi kitab mein yeh bhi nahi likha ki a team should not be sentimental fools. Good luck.

9 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Even hairlind fractures take 4-6 weeks to heal

13 hours ago, beetle said:

Next match is easy.

There are no easy matches in World Cup .India has played two matches with Afghanistan with 1 in India's favour and another was tied .Indian team cannot bring their guard down against any side .

5 hours ago, ShoonyaSifar said:

Haan bhai, dressing room ko real hospital ward hi bana do, kisi kitab mein likha hai ki nahi bana sakte.

Bhuvi was rushed back from injury in Eng last year, we saw how he had really forgotten to bowl decently, or earlier with Sehwag/ Gauti in Tests in 2011 in England. But then kisi kitab mein yeh bhi nahi likha ki a team should not be sentimental fools. Good luck.

bhuvi is a bowler and he had a back injury which affects bowling big time

Dhawan is a thumb...which when healed wnt affect batting 

Sehwag again had a surgey...huge diff 

look at what ur comparing. As i said u hve to see the extent of injury ...its just a hairline fracture .....not back injury, hamstring or broken leg. 

Bang are carrying shakib with injuries

ENG are waiting on roy and morgan

WI are carrying russell and gayle with injuries and gabriel also 

NZ came to tournament with injuries to guys like southee 

1 hour ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

they do but he has been given 3 weeks time.....and surely they wud have taken many opinions so they can wait for him to heal 

you know Indian team management history with injuries and you still talk like that.  You cant trust Indian team management with injuries.  Bhuvi was supposed to heal on England test series after 2nd test.  how did that pan out?  It has happened just too many times to trust them.  They played unfit Ashwin.

7 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

you know Indian team management history with injuries and you still talk like that.  You cant trust Indian team management with injuries.  Bhuvi was supposed to heal on England test series after 2nd test.  how did that pan out?  It has happened just too many times to trust them.  They played unfit Ashwin.

Coz the nature of injuries is diff........bhuvi had back injuries and dhawan is just a thumb and u think they are fool that they wont have taken few doc opinion before keeping him. Ur talking about diff nature of injuries that to the bowlers ...dhawan is a batsman with  a thumb injury which has chances to heal in time....and they have called pant for cover. What more do u want them to do 

Eng are keeping JAson roy who is struggling with hamstring

Morgan who is struggling with back injury