Our upper limit in run chases against possible KO teams

Aus already qualified....Ind/Eng/NZ/Pak/BD are still in the hunt with Pak/BD chances appearing slim. 

What do you guys think we can realistically chase against these teams in WC SF/F environment? Pitches will be fresh (like y'day) so not too much help for spinners, all day matches. The SFs will be played at Old Trafford, Edgbaston while the summit clash will be at Lord's. Knowing Kohli's luck (and stupidity) we might end up having to chase twice in KOs to win the Cup.

Methinks:

Aus 220: Greatest fighters in cricket, SF/F mein bhoot chad jaati hai :fear1:. Expect Starc/Cummins to breathe fire in such match situations, Behrendorff is a great addition, Lyon on fresh pitches will be among the best spinners in the world belying stats and reputation. Then there is their excellent fielding/catching to complement, even more importantly the famous convict ruthlessness and clutch mentality. 

Eng 270: They surprised me yesterday, perfect bowling combo for such pitches, and we saw their incredible catching/fielding a few hours back. Even though we scored 300+ we practically played under no pressure. Things will be different in must win encounters. Archer and Plunkett will be tricky !!! They are still vulnerable when the heat is on but I feel we are developing a mental block against them, these two factors offset each other. 

NZ 250: IMO better bowling attack than Eng, Boult especially has our top order figured out and Ferguson is :flame:, easily the best fielding unit in this tournament. There are a few weak links like Grandhomme, Neesham, Kane (if he bowls, doubtful)...and they are susceptible to pressure. They have a pathetic record in WC SF/Fs, otherwise my estimate would have been lower. 

Pak 250: Amir, Afridi, Wahab in form, we don't like facing leftie quicks all that much. Amir is a big match player, their spinners will keep things under control on these pitches even if they don't take many wickets Among our possible opponents on this list, they are most clutch behind Australia.....and an outstanding tournament team in England. Also luck seems to be favoring them, pressure on us whilst chasing will be immense (more than usual) because of the occasion and pre-match hype.  

BD 290: Weakest bowling attack for these conditions. Spinners won't be wicket takers and Fizz won't enjoy the same help like he gets on used surfaces. But they always play us close and Mash is an excellent captain with his bowling changes and fielding positions (best in the business if you follow BD matches regularly). Also for some odd reason our top order batting struggles against BD bowling, even when their bowlers are being their usual innocuous selves, too many soft dismissals. 300+ even against them in WC KO will be a steep chase !!!!

Anything above these scores and we will flunk badly. What are your estimates? 

Depends a lot on the pitch.

But I'd say 240 for Australia. Starc is a beast and Cummins does well against us. 

I agree with what you wrote about England. They have bowlers who can bowl cross seam back of length which our batters seem to struggle. Also, their think tank knows very well how to beat us. Have extreme pace with Wood and Archer.     

New Zealand will be 275. I see Boult as the only threat. Don't think we will have problems with Ferguson. Other bowlers are very ordinary.

Pakistan I'll say 300 plus or even 340 lol. 

There is a reason 300+ chases in WCs are so rare, more so in KOs where even 250 totals are steep tasks. Our GOAT batting lineup chased 260/275 in 2011 QF/F and they got rated so highly, despite all that dew and home conditions !!! 2015 WC saw some of the flattest batting decks in ODI history, how did the chasing stats look like? Same here. 

We can’t chase anything over 275 against Pak and Australia 

England will roll out flat tracks like they did today so will be 320 and Bangladesh the upper limit would be about 300-315

If we're chasing either in the semi or in the final we'll lose. As simple as that. Dhawan is out of the tournament, Rohit has 3 100's and Kohli has 5 fifties already this WC. These are the only two guys who can bat long and law of averages dictate they're bound to have a bad game soon. Can you remember any other batsman doing well in this WC & having a +ve impact??.

Brace for the inevitable.

Edited by Stan AF
9 minutes ago, maniac said:

We can’t chase anything over 275 against Pak and Australia 

England will roll out flat tracks like they did today so will be 320 and Bangladesh the upper limit would be about 300-315

Those are some optimistic numbers....we will smash a few WC records if we chase those totals successfully !!! 

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

Those are some optimistic numbers....we will smash a few WC records if we chase those totals successfully !!! 

This wc is under different rules. Even though so far teams have been bottling it.

Anyways team batting first has advantage however I see India can get close to 300 chasing against England and Bangladesh.

Pak or Aus chasing 275+ is almost game over 

1 hour ago, New guy said:

Pray we bat first in all matches 

What if Kohli wins the toss and elects to field :rotfl:? We all know he and that drunkard coach are capable of doing precisely that. 

3 hours ago, Gollum said:

Aus already qualified....Ind/Eng/NZ/Pak/BD are still in the hunt with Pak/BD chances appearing slim. 

What do you guys think we can realistically chase against these teams in WC SF/F environment? Pitches will be fresh (like y'day) so not too much help for spinners, all day matches. The SFs will be played at Old Trafford, Edgbaston while the summit clash will be at Lord's. Knowing Kohli's luck (and stupidity) we might end up having to chase twice in KOs to win the Cup.

Methinks:

Aus 220: Greatest fighters in cricket, SF/F mein bhoot chad jaati hai :fear1:. Expect Starc/Cummins to breathe fire in such match situations, Behrendorff is a great addition, Lyon on fresh pitches will be among the best spinners in the world belying stats and reputation. Then there is their excellent fielding/catching to complement, even more importantly the famous convict ruthlessness and clutch mentality.  

Eng 270: They surprised me yesterday, perfect bowling combo for such pitches, and we saw their incredible catching/fielding a few hours back. Even though we scored 300+ we practically played under no pressure. Things will be different in must win encounters. Archer and Plunkett will be tricky !!! They are still vulnerable when the heat is on but I feel we are developing a mental block against them, these two factors offset each other. 

NZ 250: IMO better bowling attack than Eng, Boult especially has our top order figured out and Ferguson is :flame:, easily the best fielding unit in this tournament. There are a few weak links like Grandhomme, Neesham, Kane (if he bowls, doubtful)...and they are susceptible to pressure. They have a pathetic record in WC SF/Fs, otherwise my estimate would have been lower. 

Pak 250: Amir, Afridi, Wahab in form, we don't like facing leftie quicks all that much. Amir is a big match player, their spinners will keep things under control on these pitches even if they don't take many wickets Among our possible opponents on this list, they are most clutch behind Australia.....and an outstanding tournament team in England. Also luck seems to be favoring them, pressure on us whilst chasing will be immense (more than usual) because of the occasion and pre-match hype.  

BD 290: Weakest bowling attack for these conditions. Spinners won't be wicket takers and Fizz won't enjoy the same help like he gets on used surfaces. But they always play us close and Mash is an excellent captain with his bowling changes and fielding positions (best in the business if you follow BD matches regularly). Also for some odd reason our top order batting struggles against BD bowling, even when their bowlers are being their usual innocuous selves, too many soft dismissals. 300+ even against them in WC KO will be a steep chase !!!!

Anything above these scores and we will flunk badly. What are your estimates? 

I'd say 240 for Aus, around 300 for Bang, and around 260 for most teams. however these are optimistic estimates. with only one batsmen in actuality (rohit), chasing anything above 200 will be difficult for us. we all know bratman will choke in KOs

5 hours ago, Gollum said:

What if Kohli wins the toss and elects to field :rotfl:? We all know he and that drunkard coach are capable of doing precisely that. 

Kohli should thank his lucky stars that sarfraz was as retarded as him and chose to field. Nahi to world cup record bhi gaya tha