Imran Khan approach on covid19 - practicable for Pakistan (Speech, 40 days back)?

59 minutes ago, Singh bling said:

The harsh reality of India is 7.5 lakhs die every year because of diarrhoea and 4.5 lakhs from tb every year so even 1 lakh covid deaths  in year is nothing in india.

And it's not Covid vs economy . It's going to be Covid vs other deaths. With longer Lockdown poor people will be hit hardest . They will face starvation , malnutrition , other diseases . So we need balance approach rather than just fanatically going after Covid.

are you prepared for one of those 1 lakh people to be your family member or even you?

1 hour ago, FischerTal said:

are you prepared for one of those 1 lakh people to be your family member or even you?

It's not about personally thinking. Just because I am middle class , is my life more important to government than life of poor people? We are a country with 6 lakh malnutrition children deaths in normal year. If those deaths increased to 9-10 lakhs and 80 k Covid deaths saved then overall there are more. Deaths.

If I think selfishly then yes bhaad mein jaaye economy as long me and my family members are safe but Government cannot think in that way.

1 hour ago, Singh bling said:

It's not about personally thinking. Just because I am middle class , is my life more important to government than life of poor people? We are a country with 6 lakh malnutrition children deaths in normal year. If those deaths increased to 9-10 lakhs and 80 k Covid deaths saved then overall there are more. Deaths.

If I think selfishly then yes bhaad mein jaaye economy as long me and my family members are safe but Government cannot think in that way.

Situation is pretty horrible in pakistan. They have closed malls and super marts as employees tested positive. Either way, if you dont control, it will affect poor as well as middle class

1 hour ago, Autonomous said:

Situation is pretty horrible in pakistan. They have closed malls and super marts as employees tested positive. Either way, if you dont control, it will affect poor as well as middle class

But how to control it.India's locked is failing badly despite strict implementation.

Lockdown Isn’t Flattening India Virus Curve as in Italy or Spain

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-04-30/lockdown-isn-t-flattening-india-virus-curve-as-in-italy-or-spain

Lockdown in China , Spain and Italy started showing results after 15-20 days. and cases started to decline. But in India we have highest cases after 40 days and we don't know from here cases will decline or increase . 

7 minutes ago, Singh bling said:

But how to control it.India's locked is failing badly despite strict implementation.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-04-30/lockdown-isn-t-flattening-india-virus-curve-as-in-italy-or-spain

Lockdown in China , Spain and Italy started showing results after 15-20 days. and cases started to decline. But in India we have highest cases after 40 days and we don't know from here cases will decline or increase . 

Correct, listen to kejriwal interview, it provides template on how to deal with covid19

https://youtu.be/Qyay-5fohC8

Starts at 3:40

Without any further delay this must be adopted imho 

Edited by randomGuy
11 minutes ago, Singh bling said:

It will come off. 

1 hour ago, Singh bling said:

Not true Doctor bling, if u think the lockdown failed badly, then ur not capable of comprehending the scale of misery without it. 

You mention the number of malnutrition & TB deaths in India, what about the bigger number of corner cases that barely or somewhat survive these conditions & diseases ? How many of those would be able to survive a covid 19 infection especially with our limited healthcare resources ?

On 5/1/2020 at 7:39 PM, randomGuy said:

That IFR could vary from place to place. 

Given your confidence in India's ability to have a low case fatality rate, how many people do you think have been currently infected in in India. Remember that 1323 are now dead in India from this. Based on that you estimate the current number of covid infections to be...? 

Edited by kosingh
2 hours ago, kosingh said:

Given your confidence in India's ability to have a low case fatality rate, how many people do you think have been currently infected in in India. Remember that 1323 are now dead in India from this. Based on that you estimate the current number of covid infections to be...? 

Let me throw arnd some random numbers on my mind (these numbers obviously have nothing to do with government)

Infections: 1.2-1.8 crores

Antibody positives : 40-60 lacs

1.2 cr minus 40 lacs = 80 lacs

1.8 cr minus 60 lacs  = 1.2 cr.

So 80 lacs to 1.2 cr. people in process of developing antibodies; to develop them in next 15 day.

Edited by randomGuy
11 hours ago, Singh bling said:

Americans and europeans are just waiting for 'i told you' moment wrt India. Things have been in check till now god willing they will be in check going forwards as well. 

Social distancing as a concept cannot be implemented in India and that is what only worry as we go for relaxations. 

23 hours ago, Clarke said:

Not true Doctor bling, if u think the lockdown failed badly, then ur not capable of comprehending the scale of misery without it. 

You mention the number of malnutrition & TB deaths in India, what about the bigger number of corner cases that barely or somewhat survive these conditions & diseases ? How many of those would be able to survive a covid 19 infection especially with our limited healthcare resources ?

India's Lockdown failed in comparison with China , Spain and Italy. Ofcourse it is successful in containing immediate explosion but slow and steady growth of Corona virus is going on. 

I don't have answer how many lives will be lost in borderline cases but do you have answer that after how much lockdown situation will be normal? After 42 days we have highest number of cases so what chances are that after more 50 days cases will come down.Also continous lockdown will ruin economy and we all know that in that situation the people at bottom of ladder will be hit most hard.

Anyway work with restrictions is the way forward and Government is already doing that.