He famously went viral for chewing out some babus a few months ago, and is out there bragging about how he's building so many roads all over India.  

What do folks here think of this:

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/politics-and-nation/scania-denies-gifting-luxury-bus-to-gadkari-admits-bribing-public-sector-officials/articleshow/81472913.cms

https://caravanmagazine.in/politics/why-nitin-gadkari-denial-connection-to-scania-bus-outright-lie

16 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

25 lakhs bribery case? It could true and there should be action taken. But it looks like a joke

Do politicians deal in lakhs anymore?  Seems like chump-change ... like a bribe you might pay his assistant's assistant to get a darshan.  

21 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

25 lakhs bribery case? It could true and there should be action taken. But it looks like a joke

How do you come up with "25 lakh"?  

A bus of that type would be worth multiple crores even if sold 'used'.   And the bus is just part of it.  Gadkari's sons control a massive business empire and obfuscate holdings using household staff and drivers' as "director" etc.  None of this is new or surprising - politicians getting rich directly or indirectly is always the case.  

But the fact that reasonable folks are ready to brush this under the carpet claiming "25 lakh" is a bit.....disappointing.

Who knows, a "gift" sort of thing may have happened, the pat on each other's back kinda thing. It would be silly if that was the case & they didn't cover up the tracks with legal paperwork. 

There's another Rafale story doing the rounds, a million euro bribe for a middleman as part of a multi billion euro deal, ofc it's a big breaking news at ndtv. 

24 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Now, I am interested.  

Full size brand new 'volvo' type bus, with leather seats and high-end finishing.  I mean, clearly it was meant as a "gift" for a bigwig to facilitate more business.  And clearly Gadkari accepted it - there's pictures of him sitting in it.  The Swedish company had to release emails where it was clear that they had to "expedite delivery" because the minister wanted it before his daughter's wedding.  

Apparently they have made up a paper trail where one shell company 'bought' it using a loan from another shell co, both ultimately controlled by Gadkari family. 

30 minutes ago, Clarke said:

Who knows, a "gift" sort of thing may have happened, the pat on each other's back kinda thing. It would be silly if that was the case & they didn't cover up the tracks with legal paperwork. 

There's another Rafale story doing the rounds, a million euro bribe for a middleman as part of a multi billion euro deal, ofc it's a big breaking news at ndtv. 

Saw a few tweets on it - apparently the timing implies that the bribe was given to Congress controlled govt at the time, not BJP. 

4 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Full size brand new 'volvo' type bus, with leather seats and high-end finishing.  I mean, clearly it was meant as a "gift" for a bigwig to facilitate more business.  And clearly Gadkari accepted it - there's pictures of him sitting in it.  The Swedish company had to release emails where it was clear that they had to "expedite delivery" because the minister wanted it before his daughter's wedding.  

Apparently they have made up a paper trail where one shell company 'bought' it using a loan from another shell co, both ultimately controlled by Gadkari family. 

3 words:  Sab kameenay hain.  

Weren't these gifted to municipalities ? He mentioned on wire that these were interest free loans offered by the company to municipalities ? He mentioned the company wanted to enter indian market and gave loans to get buses. 

Edited by gattaca
20 minutes ago, gattaca said:

Weren't these gifted to municipalities ? He mentioned on wire that these were interest free loans offered by the company to municipalities ? He mentioned the company wanted to enter indian market and gave loans to get buses. 

sure they did, but this one bus was "gifted" not to some random municipality or local company.  It was given to a company controlled by his sons, 2 days before his daughter's wedding.  

The rot is so deep in Indian "politics", that this level of corruption and direct personal benefit accrued by a politician who makes billion dollar spending decisions on behalf of the elected government - barely induces a bored yawn.  

Maybe I am naive third world citizen. But I really don’t think the ethical or monetary issue involved is material enough. For me and for him. Politicians play a much more complex hand than this plain vanilla gifts. 

6 hours ago, sandeep said:

How do you come up with "25 lakh"?  

A bus of that type would be worth multiple crores even if sold 'used'.   And the bus is just part of it.  Gadkari's sons control a massive business empire and obfuscate holdings using household staff and drivers' as "director" etc.  None of this is new or surprising - politicians getting rich directly or indirectly is always the case.  

But the fact that reasonable folks are ready to brush this under the carpet claiming "25 lakh" is a bit.....disappointing.

Both the giver and taker of the bus has denied. NG even asked to prove it or face defamation. Not defending any crime, proven should be dealt by law. The 25 lakh charge is from the ET link. I don’t click on commie rags like TheCaravan.

ADEBAEA0-8668-414-E-9-FD9-8-C7789528-C26

There are enough checkers in media (scroll, wire, etc) and TV media like NDTV and IndiaToday to raise stink even if it doesn’t reek. So, this 25 lakh bribery is not a big news that has hit media to discuss seriously. Yes , in the era of lakh-crore scams, 25 lakhs doesn’t raise eyebrows.

50 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Both the giver and taker of the bus has denied. NG even asked to prove it or face defamation. Not defending any crime, proven should be dealt by law. The 25 lakh charge is from the ET link. I don’t click on commie rags like TheCaravan.

ADEBAEA0-8668-414-E-9-FD9-8-C7789528-C26

There are enough checkers in media (scroll, wire, etc) and TV media like NDTV and IndiaToday to raise stink even if it doesn’t reek. So, this 25 lakh bribery is not a big news that has hit media to discuss seriously. Yes , in the era of lakh-crore scams, 25 lakhs doesn’t raise eyebrows.

Why are you repeating the talking points of a politician's PR agent?  "25 lakh" will be just about enough to buy a nicely equipped Hyundai Elantra car or a Toyota Corolla in India.  Not a luxury bus with genuine leather seats and all the trimmings.  And the bus is likely to be a 'sweetener' on top, the actual payoffs likely larger.

I mean, I don't care if the caravan is commie left-wing rag - doesn't mean that anything and everything that's reported by them is by definition "fake news".  that's what Trump got fox news watchers to believe.

38 minutes ago, sandeep said:

Why are you repeating the talking points of a politician's PR agent?  "25 lakh" will be just about enough to buy a nicely equipped Hyundai Elantra car or a Toyota Corolla in India.  Not a luxury bus with genuine leather seats and all the trimmings.  And the bus is likely to be a 'sweetener' on top, the actual payoffs likely larger.

I mean, I don't care if the caravan is commie left-wing rag - doesn't mean that anything and everything that's reported by them is by definition "fake news".  that's what Trump got fox news watchers to believe.

I didn’t repeat about “25lakh” . Since you asked I pointed to the link. what is your point of OP? Blindly accept it on face value of the two links. Even if it is true, the amount is laughable to outrage about it. 100 crores per month and a death of a person, is a scam. Anyway. Not defending anybody, can’t add any more to the thread. 

3 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Even if it is true, the amount is laughable to outrage about it. 100 crores per month and a death of a person, is a scam.

so "even if it is true, what about phalaana dhimka?  Is that really what you wrote?  Disappointing.  

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

so "even if it is true, what about phalaana dhimka?  Is that really what you wrote?  Disappointing.  

If you know, I just did a whataboutry! You want to outrage about 25 lacs, fine.