coffee_rules Posted May 12, 2021 Posted May 12, 2021 (edited) They got artisans from India (They are termed as Dalits here to show upper caste oppression of India) on B1 visa and have pay issues. Court case and FBI also involved. NY times and woke liberal have an open season connecting them to Modi, Ram Mandir, RW Hindu nationalists. https://www.nytimes.com/2021/05/11/nyregion/nj-hindu-temple-india-baps.html#click=https://t.co/mzAShvMAGq “They were brought to the United States on religious visas, or R-1 visas — temporary visas used for clergy and lay religious workers such as missionaries — and presented to the U.S. government as volunteers, according to the claim. They were asked to sign several documents, often in English, and instructed to tell U.S. embassy staffers that they were skilled carvers or decorative painters, the complaint said. We are naturally shaken by this turn of events and are sure that once the full facts come out, we will be able to provide answers and show that these accusations and allegations are without merit,” Mr. Joshi said. Now they go on a rant about Modi, RW Hindus, Caste system, Ram Mandir etc, and convert a pay dispute to report their real agenda. ” The organization has strong ties with Narendra Modi, India’s prime minister, and his ruling Bharatiya Janata Party. Mr. Modi has said that Pramukh Swami Maharaj, the spiritual head who built BAPS into the largest Hindu sect in the United States before dying in 2016, was his mentor. Mr. Modi gave a eulogy at his funeral and laid the foundation stone for a temple that BAPS is building in Abu Dhabi. The organization also pledged the equivalent of about $290,000 to Mr. Modi’s most important election promise: building a temple in the city of Ayodhya, where a mosque had stood before Hindu devotees destroyed it in 1992. The destruction of the Babri Mosque set off waves of sectarian violence, and the construction of the temple in Ayodhya is a significant step in the quest by Mr. Modi and his party to shift India from its secular foundations toward a Hindu identity.” Edited May 12, 2021 by coffee_rules
sandeep Posted May 12, 2021 Posted May 12, 2021 stupid, but not suprising, that desi uncles tried to save money by breaking rules. I dont' know if 'caste' was really an issue here, more of a class thing - exploitation of poor workers. AFAIK these Swami Narayan ppl are not really caste driven, its a gujju dominated community, with a wide range of 'castes' within. But I could be wrong, I don't know that much details about them.
sandeep Posted May 12, 2021 Posted May 12, 2021 31 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: NY times and woke liberal have an open season connecting them to Modi, Ram Mandir, RW Hindu nationalists. Hindus have only themselves to blame if they commit criminal acts. No point crying like a victim if you leave the door open to getting yourself humiliated. coffee_rules and G_B_ 1 1
G_B_ Posted May 12, 2021 Posted May 12, 2021 If they have employed them on less than minimum wage they deserve to be punished. Simple. BAPS temples are here in the UK as well. Not seen any such issues. But then again these things are never out in the open. sandeep 1
coffee_rules Posted May 12, 2021 Author Posted May 12, 2021 Just now, sandeep said: Hindus have only themselves to blame if they commit criminal acts. No point crying like a victim if you leave the door open to getting yourself humiliated. True, I am not defending the crime here. If they can be proved, they are culpable and deserve all the bad press. This is like snatching chocolate from a kid for people to blame Hindusim. Totally irresponsible of the authorities. sandeep 1
vvvslaxman Posted May 12, 2021 Posted May 12, 2021 This is quiet prevalent. Not at all surprising. Using cheap labor. What do you think big IT companies were doing all these years?
mishra Posted May 12, 2021 Posted May 12, 2021 Getting VISA is real issue. Every thing else is sensationalism. Every Company which gets Employees VISAs breaks that rule. But offcourse, they find a big scandal when probably number of VISA baps apply is nothing but may be in single or double digits. And people say, Hindus aren’t targeted.
punjabi_khota Posted May 13, 2021 Posted May 13, 2021 (edited) Lol I went to this mandir like 5 years ago, didn't know it was STILL (!!) under construction. Edited May 13, 2021 by punjabi_khota
coffee_rules Posted May 13, 2021 Author Posted May 13, 2021 (edited) Edited May 13, 2021 by coffee_rules mishra 1
coffee_rules Posted May 13, 2021 Author Posted May 13, 2021 In a hurry, we unnecessarily blamed patidar uncles for exploiting Dalit workers. Fact check. NYtimes went ahead and named Ram Mandir being built on a mosque correlating to this case. This is what I claim dishonest journalism of the west. mishra 1