Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 2 minutes ago, maniac said: True apparently RGV admitted that he stole the famous Govinda Govinda music from Sarkar from Omen RGV n tarantino are coolest, both worked in a video library watched films in huge numbers and wud never shy away to tell where they stole from maniac 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 Aamir- Amit trivedi did BMG i think amazing work
maniac Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 (edited) 5 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: damn i cant think of many...im sure their are but i cant. I can think many south films but not bollywood...I hve to start revisiting hindi films again Apart from Rehmnan and Chowta unless you don’t consider then Bollywood because of their south connection I think Vishal Bharadwaj is right up there. Maachis was great and so was omkaara and that shahid Kapoor movie forgot the name with Priyanka chopra . Rest all sound like clones of their work. No disrespect because music is a gift but as I said there are great musicians and then there are geniuses. From old Hindi movies RD Burman was the standout and a cut above the rest. Cant go back any further Edited July 22, 2021 by maniac
maniac Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 2 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: RGV n tarantino are coolest, both worked in a video library watched films in huge numbers and wud never shy away to tell where they stole from there is a difference they don’t steal they adapt it to their own needs. Kahaan omen aur kahaan Sarkar lol
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 Just now, maniac said: Apart from Rehmnan and Chowta unless you don’t consider then Bollywood because of their south connection I think Vishal Bharadwaj is right up there. Maachis was great. Rest all sound like clones of their work. No disrespect because music is a gift but as I said there are great musicians and then there are geniuses. From old Hindi movies RD Burman was the standout and a cut above the rest. Cant go back any further Im trying to think, but just cant recall only. I was thinking about haider n kaminey Their are few good ones now who are doing great work just cant recall Yup RD burman was in a different league
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 1 minute ago, maniac said: there is a difference they don’t steal they adapt it to their own needs. Kahaan omen aur kahaan Sarkar lol yup the lines between inspiration n ripping off have been blurred
maniac Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Im trying to think, but just cant recall only. I was thinking about haider n kaminey Their are few good ones now who are doing great work just cant recall Yup RD burman was in a different league Maachis. Again sound that was way ahead of its time. Now that’s what excites me. Ankit_sharma03 1
maniac Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 Just now, Ankit_sharma03 said: yup the lines between inspiration n ripping off have been blurred yes because I will find it somewhere but he was speaking in Telugu but his explanation of why he thought Omen music fit there was genius.
maniac Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 @Ankit_sharma03 it’s in Telugu but I think you will get the gist of it
maniac Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 (edited) Translation for non Telugu speakers : Rehman is apparently a league apart from every music director he worked with he wanted an erotic number and gave mr india song as a reference but rehman sent him the tune that became Hai Rama yeh kya hua. RGV didn’t get it initially and Rehman usually who doesn’t convince directors was confident so RGV went with his instincts and later when he saw the orchestrion he was blown away the way Tablas and Indian instruments and ragas were used to create the sound. Actually so true, just listen to it if you have a good sound system/home theater Edited July 22, 2021 by maniac Ankit_sharma03 1
Jimmy Cliff Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 As a kid, watching Lagaan and Dil Chahta Hai back to back within a couple months in 2001 blew my mind. DCH's Bgm is decent enough in a situational kinda way but this track during the opening credits is pretty evocative. maniac 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 Another genius of Rehman.... Jimmy Cliff and maniac 2
Ankit_sharma03 Posted July 22, 2021 Posted July 22, 2021 Just now, Jimmy Cliff said: Time to cheat a bit. Scam n Sacred games both had outstanding BGM Jimmy Cliff 1