Why films the greatest invention of all-time?

Since the first flicker of light hit a screen, movies have not only entertained us, but also enabled us to learn about ourselves, our culture and the world. Movies have broken down the barriers of space and time to make us aware of new possibilities and endless ways to see the world. Through movies, we have not only gone back in time to revisit history but also explored how future can unfold. Movies have also looked into the dimensions of the world inside our minds through psychological films. 

Filmmaker Dziga Vertov remarked that through the movie camera one can make "the invisible visible, the unclear clear, the hidden manifest, the disguised overt". Movies can create magic! 

Movies can be like the Lord Brahma's mango that Narada brought to Lord Shiva. Anyone who ate the mango could gain wisdom. Kartikeya and Ganesha were made to compete for the mango. The competition was a race around the world three times. While Kartikeya went on the journey on his peacock, the heavy Ganesha with his mouse took another path. Ganesha made Shiva and Parvati sit together and circled around them 3 times sighting that his parents were his world. Gangesha got the mango. Movies allow us to explore the world without attempting to go around the world. 

Below is a remark from one of my uncles - "In college I had a difficult time. I was given limited pocket money which meant that I remained hungry to watch films".  That is enough to convey the importance of films. 

1 hour ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

No, hybrid wheat is.  

Saved starvation of millions especially Indians. It was a great story that an American got the first hybrid wheat through South America to India because of sanctions.

1 hour ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

No, hybrid wheat is.  

32 minutes ago, gattaca said:

Saved starvation of millions especially Indians. It was a great story that an American got the first hybrid wheat through South America to India because of sanctions.

Read b/w the lines. This is a fun thread on appreciating films. Why post such boring stuff here :facepalm:

PS what next penicillin, wheel, internal combustion engine, electricity, telephone, printing press, internet, COVID vaccines, … 

47 minutes ago, EnterTheVoid said:

All greater inventions than cinema. 

This is beyond belief that on a thread on films (a rhetorical question with explanation in the OP), some of you guys are posting such things :lol:

The thread for film lovers … where you discuss the impact of films and why they are the greatest invention of all-time 

14 hours ago, zen said:

Read b/w the lines. This is a fun thread on appreciating films. Why post such boring stuff here :facepalm:

PS what next penicillin, wheel, internal combustion engine, electricity, telephone, printing press, internet, COVID vaccines, … 

Sorry bhai, the OP sounded quite serious, hence I provided a counter.  

I still stand by my contention that films are not the greatest invention.  Cricket is.   

2 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Sorry bhai, the OP sounded quite serious, hence I provided a counter.  

I still stand by my contention that films are not the greatest invention.  Cricket is.   

I can see a strong case for cricket, however I would point that it is relatively one dimensional. It also spreads hate and promotes groupism. You only have to look at Cricket Talk where people proudly display their hate for other teams, players, and so on. That baboonish passion ignores the big picture, which is a goal of great inventions. On Chit Chat, you would find people work towards enjoying and respecting the one of the greatest art that can influence people's life - films :nod:  

Among a variety of things, films also provide messages in a memorable ways such as "Daru peene se liver kharab hota hai". It also tell you that "koi haseena jab rooth jati hai toh woh aur bhi haseen ho jati hai". Without films for many it would be difficult to visualize writing a letter to a woman on her feet - "Aapke paon bahut haseen hai, in hai zameen pe mat utariye maila ho ja ye gain". Films also tell you to be courageous through dialogues like "jo darr gaya samjho mar gaya".  

ARPANET - TCP/IP , the packet switched network is the greatest invention of all time, so we can troll on threads like these on the internet. 

Dennis Ritchie, the father of Unix/C - I want to say Tussi great Ho, toufa kubool karo. Meri Anna Data

1 hour ago, coffee_rules said:

ARPANET - TCP/IP , the packet switched network is the greatest invention of all time, so we can troll on threads like these on the internet. 

Dennis Ritchie, the father of Unix/C - I want to say Tussi great Ho, toufa kubool karo. Meri Anna Data

Along with the invention of the transistor.