A few random weekend musings

BacktoCricaddict

(1) Why are faith-based dietary restrictions more acceptable than science-based ones?  For instance, if I told someone I have given up white rice for some "mannath," they will not say "eh ... nothing will happen if you eat just a little."  Although, deep inside, everyone knows it's just a superstition and nothing is going to happen if I ate a bit of white rice.  But if I said I have given it up because I don't eat high-glycemic foods, "arre yaar .. thhodaa khaaoge toh kuch nahin hoga." 

(2) This happens quite a bit to my IT-buddies:  Why it more understandable to a manager when you can't work on a weekend because you're vacationing out of town, but not really understandable why you can't work when you are stay-cating?  Arre ... I don't want to travel, but just because I am in town, it doesn't mean I want to work.

(3) At my workplace, if I say I am leaving early to take my child to the dentist ... everyone gets it.  "Oh good luck etc. etc."  What if I said "I just don't want to be in this meeting because I'd rather mow the lawn today?"  OMG, I'd get quite the side-eye.  Bottom line is that, either way, I am off-campus doing something unrelated to work.  Why is one more acceptable?

Edited by BacktoCricaddict

14 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

(1) Why are faith-based dietary restrictions more acceptable than science-based ones?  For instance, if I told someone I have given up white rice for some "mannath," they will not say "eh ... nothing will happen if you eat just a little."  Although, deep inside, everyone knows it's just a superstition and nothing is going to happen if I ate a bit of white rice.  But if I said I have given it up because I don't eat high-glycemic foods, "arre yaar .. thhodaa khaaoge toh kuch nahin hoga." 

(2) This happens quite a bit to my IT-buddies:  Why it more understandable to a manager when you can't work on a weekend because you're vacationing out of town, but not really understandable why you can't work when you are stay-cating?  Arre ... I don't want to travel, but just because I am in town, it doesn't mean I want to work.

(3) At my workplace, if I say I am leaving early to take my child to the dentist ... everyone gets it.  "Oh good luck etc. etc."  What if I said "I just don't want to be in this meeting because I'd rather mow the lawn today?"  OMG, I'd get quite the side-eye.  Bottom line is that, either way, I am off-campus doing something unrelated to work.  Why is one more acceptable?

Yes, it is hard for you atheists to understand such gullibility. Stay-cations are becoming common when we can’t afford these days. I have days that I have to take, don’t have money to go somewhere, would rather stay home and relax. Very common. You guys in academia also have the luxury of taking a break and calling it sabbatical! Namm thara kaarmikaru we can’t do it :musicus:

On 9/3/2022 at 11:34 PM, BacktoCricaddict said:

That is because faith shouldn't be questioned. Just believed and adhered to. Ideally a personal choice. And then the questions are personal.

Science by its very nature is to be questioned and empirically challenged. Science doesn't take offence.