Vickydev Posted September 16, 2022 Posted September 16, 2022 22 minutes ago, Jay said: Lol that guy has no idea about what he his talking about. Lukaku Rooney may look chubby but they are supremely fit. They can run for 10 km a game. They are super fit athletes. Peak level athletes. I would say soccer players (elite ones) are the best athletes in the world. They are not supremely fit for the sport they are in and that's what I said, sportsmen will be called out for it. For the average person they are well in shape but not for their discipline. Check my post above and see how they've been attacked not just by fans of the sport but by the so called experts as well. A footballer running 10kms is no surprise, others run even more but when you've run 9 and someone from the other team runs 9.5 you've let your team down and will be criticized. The differences no matter how small will be critical Jay 1
vvvslaxman Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 (edited) 16 hours ago, jalebi_bhai said: Ok. I will give people here the benefit of the doubt. But let's do a bit of deep dive on this issue. Bhuvi seems to be ICF's favourite whipping boy nowadays and one of the main criticisms levied at him is his body frame is too frail and fragile. Is this a fair criticism? I don't think so. Bhuvi's USP is that he can extract swing in pretty much any condition with the new ball making him lethal in PPs. Part of that swinging ability is a consequence of his smooth, high arm action which is highly repeatable. Now, if Bhuvi were to start bulking up, bringing about physiological changes to his body, it would naturally affect his action. We all know what happened with Irfan Pathan after he had bulked up in order to add more power to his batting; his action changed and his bowling lost its potency. Bhuvi might fear suffering the same fate. Another example of physiological changes altering a player's career is that of Nasser Hussain. He was a leg spinning prodigy in his early teens but after gaining height during puberty, he was no longer able to bowl leg spin effectively. It is easy for us to criticize and shame but we also need to be mindful of the nuances of the game. Bhuvi is not a hit the deck bowler, he doesn't need to have the physique of one. All the biceps, shoulder and chest enthusiasts in the thread need to chill a bit. I don't think there is a fast bowler who doesn't do weights. They have to do the basics. Some push it really hard. I agree with the point about bulking up. Brett Lee echoed the same. Fast bowlers have to be lean and mean. Brett Lee advised everyone to focus on intensity rather than gym. https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/new-zealand-in-india-2016/top-stories/focus-on-intensity-rather-than-gym-work-brett-lee-to-pacers/articleshow/54412495.cms "I just think that we have to keep promoting wickets where bowlers can bowl quick. I don't think bowlers are training correctly, there is a lot of emphasis and too much importance only on guys lifting heavy weights. Gym work is good only if it's done correctly, it has to be high on intensity and low on weights," - Brett Lee Alan Donald is a classic example. Lean/mean dude. Edited September 17, 2022 by vvvslaxman
vvvslaxman Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 I have heard Shreyas Iyer is a dedicated guy when it comes to work outs.
Jay Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 4 hours ago, SRT100 said: Correct. Lukaku and Rooney may carry sometimes extra weight and appear "bigger" than what they normally are, but there is brute strength and speed that comes with that. They are not overweight and still within a healthy weight range. Best athletes in the world as far as team sports goes is debatable. AFL players some run like 16kms per game. 99% of them are not carrying extra fat either. True. Many sports require different fitness tbh. Fast bowlers have to be some of the fittest in the world too. Because bowling in test matches for 50 overs a game is ridiculously tough too.
Jay Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 4 hours ago, Vickydev said: They are not supremely fit for the sport they are in and that's what I said, sportsmen will be called out for it. For the average person they are well in shape but not for their discipline. Check my post above and see how they've been attacked not just by fans of the sport but by the so called experts as well. A footballer running 10kms is no surprise, others run even more but when you've run 9 and someone from the other team runs 9.5 you've let your team down and will be criticized. The differences no matter how small will be critical Yea fair enough. I get what you mean. Rooney though is super fit man. Bit chubby but he can run all day..machine.
Jay Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 4 hours ago, SRT100 said: Correct. Lukaku and Rooney may carry sometimes extra weight and appear "bigger" than what they normally are, but there is brute strength and speed that comes with that. They are not overweight and still within a healthy weight range. Best athletes in the world as far as team sports goes is debatable. AFL players some run like 16kms per game. 99% of them are not carrying extra fat either. True. Many sports require different fitness tbh. Fast bowlers have to be some of the fittest in the world too. Because bowling in test matches for 50 overs a game is ridiculously tough too.
vvvslaxman Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 12 minutes ago, Jay said: True. Many sports require different fitness tbh. Fast bowlers have to be some of the fittest in the world too. Because bowling in test matches for 50 overs a game is ridiculously tough too. Tennis requires a lot of stretching especially guys like Nadal who takes elongated strides. You could easily pick up a very serious injury. More than strength you need flexibility. Cummins has really foused on his flexibility a lot. He is a thin guy too. So is Starc. But if you look at Odean smith he is built like a tank. He can stand and bowl at 135 kph lol
Jay Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 39 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Tennis requires a lot of stretching especially guys like Nadal who takes elongated strides. You could easily pick up a very serious injury. More than strength you need flexibility. Cummins has really foused on his flexibility a lot. He is a thin guy too. So is Starc. But if you look at Odean smith he is built like a tank. He can stand and bowl at 135 kph lol Exactly.
Jay Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 17 minutes ago, Jay said: Exactly. 1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said: Tennis requires a lot of stretching especially guys like Nadal who takes elongated strides. You could easily pick up a very serious injury. More than strength you need flexibility. Cummins has really foused on his flexibility a lot. He is a thin guy too. So is Starc. But if you look at Odean smith he is built like a tank. He can stand and bowl at 135 kph lol Eed a balanc of strength. Definitely strength and endurance is priority. Then flexibility and power. Power is the ability to apply strength at speed.
vvvslaxman Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 7 hours ago, Jay said: Eed a balanc of strength. Definitely strength and endurance is priority. Then flexibility and power. Power is the ability to apply strength at speed. As per Cummins leg is the key. He works his legs out the most since you use your legs to run and land. It has to be very strong. Upper body can have optimal body sterngth. You don't have to go overboard. If you look at KG here he has lean muscle.
Jay Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 55 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: As per Cummins leg is the key. He works his legs out the most since you use your legs to run and land. It has to be very strong. Upper body can have optimal body sterngth. You don't have to go overboard. If you look at KG here he has lean muscle. Oh man. I never get tired of watching rabada bowl. What a beautiful action. Repeatable. Immaculate. It's just perfection. Clean and absolutely robotic in its motion. Poetry in motion as the great harsh thakor would say. Every step he takes forward to gather momentum is calculated. It's almost like he Is a mathematician. Biomechanically the most elegant and fluid action i have ever come across along with steyn rollingstoned 1
rollingstoned Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 14 hours ago, Jay said: True. Many sports require different fitness tbh. Fast bowlers have to be some of the fittest in the world too. Because bowling in test matches for 50 overs a game is ridiculously tough too. Think it was Akram who said fast bowling fitness majorly comes from bowling in matches as much and for as long as you can, not by spending too much time in the gym and doing cardio although a bit of that is needed too. On another forum i read most of these Aussie quicks were getting injured frequently coz they hired some Aussie rules coach who put them on a regimen to bulk them up more than is needed or advised to bowl fast. Jay 1
Jay Posted September 17, 2022 Posted September 17, 2022 5 hours ago, rollingstoned said: Think it was Akram who said fast bowling fitness majorly comes from bowling in matches as much and for as long as you can, not by spending too much time in the gym and doing cardio although a bit of that is needed too. On another forum i read most of these Aussie quicks were getting injured frequently coz they hired some Aussie rules coach who put them on a regimen to bulk them up more than is needed or advised to bowl fast. Yea that is very true. I saw that article about AFL regimen. Remember AFL involves a lot of stop start action. It's not continuous like soccer or football as it's suppos3d to be called. When some gets tackled and dispossessed, you get a good minute to rest while the player who won the ball gets to line up his shot, pass the ball or just milk the time to find out any potential options in distance to pass to. While afl athletes run alot, the attacking and defensive players rarely every have to make darting runs forward. Only the midfielder are constantly shuffling around. I can sort of see the similarity with cricket fast bowling fitness because bowlers despite bowling long overs in tests, they do get a minute or so rest to resent and bowl again. They also get rotated in spells. However, the strength training you do for afl absolutely does not translate well to cricket. You need a different kind of strength. More to do with quick realise movements. Less emphasis on weights, probably lightweights is a better choice but you need to practice those movements in an explosive manner. rollingstoned 1
jf1gp_1 Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 (edited) Please first do 200 crouch every two hrs for 6 hrs and then question fitness of a keeper. Pant isn't like some nearby star keepers who falls on ground every 5th over in a 20 over game nor does he release well groomed pics from a hospital bed. Edited September 18, 2022 by jf1gp_1
Moochad Posted September 18, 2022 Posted September 18, 2022 Get paid crores but cant keep off a few extra kilos. No sympathy