Why do Indian Cricket Fans body shame their own players so much? Is there a cultural acceptance of body shaming in India?

jalebi_bhai

Whether it's calling Rohit, Pant, Sarfaraz etc. fatsos or calling Bhuvi, Arshdeep, Chahal etc. malnourished, why do Indian fans indulge in so much body shaming? Is there a sensitivity problem in our fan base?

I must admit, I have also been guilty of body shaming players in the past so I'm not trying to be holier than thou here. 

We indians are body shamers from day one. Not only that we also comment on dark skin.. motu, kalua, pasli, chikna etc are all slangs used by us. But dont generalise indians.. its rampant in western culture too and more so. The kind of body shaming which happens in british schools is unbelievable and cruel.. just google it.. so i guess we a lot of times lose our sensibilities and then comment on a players body type and derive satisfaction by rebuking them and taking out our frustrations because of a catch drop or mis field.. forgetting that its human nature.. in terms of atheletism elite sportsmen theory yes they need to be fit but end of day we also have to look at skills..its better to criticise a batsman about his front foot defence or lack of options like sweep against spin than commenting on their physique..but kya kare hum bhi insaan hai.. its habit and habit is our second nature..

People like chahal should be criticized as Shaw has been dropped for being fat and unfit than why can't chahal be criticized for being slimy malnourished moron. From which angle he looks like professional athelete for our major spoting event. Him and Bhuvi should not be near team due to them being lethargic sloth on the field.

4 hours ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Whether it's calling Rohit, Pant, Sarfaraz etc. fatsos or calling Bhuvi, Arshdeep, Chahal etc. malnourished, why do Indian fans indulge in so much body shaming? Is there a sensitivity problem in our fan base?

I must admit, I have also been guilty of body shaming players in the past so I'm not trying to be holier than thou here. 

This is an elite athlete body who gets paid millions to perform at the best at international level:

spacer.png

This is not elite international standard:

spacer.png 

spacer.png

Only in indian cricket you see a wide spectrum of bodies which can be said are not elite athlete by any chance.. Eng, Aus and NZ still maintain a minimum level of body structure for their players and its not an unreasonable demand if you are paid millions for your services.

9 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

This is an elite athlete body who gets paid millions to perform at the best at international level:

spacer.png

This is not elite international standard:

spacer.png 

spacer.png

Only in indian cricket you see a wide spectrum of bodies which can be said are not elite athlete by any chance.. Eng, Aus and NZ still maintain a minimum level of body structure for their players and its not an unreasonable demand if you are paid millions for your services.

image.png

What about this? Is this the body of an elite athlete?

3 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

image.png

What about this? Is this the body of an elite athlete?

He's a heavy weight boxer..

now youll say why are NFL defence line so big and heavy and same with Rugby- their body structure is designed for their role in the team. 

12 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

now youll say why are NFL defence line so big and heavy and same with Rugby- their body structure is designed for their role in the team. 

rohit is the best power hitter in the side. Needs core Muscles. That’s where the strength comes from :)

16 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Yea, and he has some flab. Doesn't mean he's not the best in the world. 

Different individuals have different body types so it's really upto them to figure out the best body shape to maintain. There is no template as such.

Classic example is that of Irfan Pathan who lost his swing due to change in action after bulking up. 

7 minutes ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Yea, and he has some flab. Doesn't mean he's not the best in the world. 

Different individuals have different body types so it's really upto them to figure out the best body shape to maintain. There is no template as such.

Classic example is that of Irfan Pathan who lost his swing due to change in action after bulking up

ofcourse... Mitch Johnson was a skinny mofo obvs?

On 9/12/2022 at 4:26 AM, jalebi_bhai said:

If they are overweight they need to be called. Rohit and Ashwin need to lose 20 kgs each.

Body shaming me and you is wrong but the professional athletes is a fair game.

On 9/12/2022 at 9:15 AM, LordPrabhzy said:

Those NFL defensive linemen are big but they are strong and fast too. They can do 40 yds in less than 5 secs. They are the strongest athletes out there. Offensive linemen are bigger than defensive.