Iyer vs Sky vs Kisan - Who'd you pick?

Downtown

1 hour ago, sandeep said:

Batting unit needs them both ideally speaking - Iyer is fearless, aggressive and absolutely murders spin in the middle 30 overs - something that not a lot of our batting unit can do outside of Pandu, who's not the destroyer threat he used to be.  Also, has the guts to deliver clutch performances in tough scenarios. 

Sky is the game-breaker down the order that can take the game away in a blink - something the 2015 WC winners had in peak Maxwell.  The problem is that you need 6 decent bowling options for ODIs and even if you gamble on Pandu as 5th bowler, you still need 5+ overs elsewhere.  Ideally we take both Iyer and Sky, bench Jadeja, but only if we had 5 overs in the top order which we simply do not.  

Bottomline if I had to pick just one??? I would pick SKY and bench Iyer, but that's heart over head.

Kya fayda itni analysis ka..semi final me toh choke hi karna hai :hitler:

League game me toh teeno run bana denge.

2 hours ago, Lord said:

Then that's fault of others. There are so many lol. If we get another platform builder we won't get extra 20-25 runs.

MSD has done it, Yuvi has done it. That is his batting position. We never had  10 over specailists. DK briefly. That's it.  Because more often than you don't need it. INdia misses out mostly when there is a collapse. Somebody has to resurrect and finish the game. Pant was shaping up well. His loss means we need someone similar. 

1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said:

MSD has done it, Yuvi has done it. That is his batting position. We never had  10 over specailists. DK briefly. That's it.  Because more often than you don't need it. INdia misses out mostly when there is a collapse. Somebody has to resurrect and finish the game. Pant was shaping up well. His loss means we need someone similar. 

SKY is a specialist batsmen. He can easily play middle overs and then finish. Sure he hasn't done it till now in ODIs expect 1-2 occasions but has the ability to do it. Only new ball is issue but many batsmen struggle v swing

5 minutes ago, Lord said:

SKY is a specialist batsmen. He can easily play middle overs and then finish. Sure he hasn't done it till now in ODIs expect 1-2 occasions but has the ability to do it. Only new ball is issue but many batsmen struggle v swing

Need more proof about his batting credentials in various scenarios.  He has failed far ttoo often than succeeded. There is no guarantee he turned a corner as pretty much everyone butchered the bowling today.

10 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Need more proof about his batting credentials in various scenarios.  He has failed far ttoo often than succeeded. There is no guarantee he turned a corner as pretty much everyone butchered the bowling today.

and in Mohali?

1 minute ago, Lord said:

and in Mohali?

I would say Asia cup. 2 back to back 50s turning a corner means, Kishan made 82 in a much tougher situation. That would also amount to something. He played well today as well.  In order for him to be considered above guys like Iyer he has to do demonstrate his ability to play long innings. Not just T20 scenario knocks. 

6 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

I would say Asia cup. 2 back to back 50s turning a corner means, Kishan made 82 in a much tougher situation. That would also amount to something. He played well today as well.  In order for him to be considered above guys like Iyer he has to do demonstrate his ability to play long innings. Not just T20 scenario knocks. 

no, finisher doesn't have to play long innings. He rescued team in Mohali and played quick knock today. That's pretty much a no. 6 is required to do.

1 minute ago, Lord said:

no, finisher doesn't have to play long innings. He rescued team in Mohali and played quick knock today. That's pretty much a no. 6 is required to do.

No.6 batsman is not a finisher.  That means we assume our top 4 always bats till 40th over. That doesn't happen. They could be out inside 20 overs and you will still have 30 overs to cover. Even in  Mohali he had a great platform.

Iyer would have been a shoe-in if he had been playing regularly but I think he is undercooked for the World Cup, not many games under his belt. 

I dont rate Ishan highly, so Suryakumar would be my pick, especially because World Cup will be largely played on patta wickets with no assistance for bowlers. He is capable of scoring a freakish innings which can take the game away from the opposition.

21 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

No.6 batsman is not a finisher.  That means we assume our top 4 always bats till 40th over. That doesn't happen. They could be out inside 20 overs and you will still have 30 overs to cover. Even in  Mohali he had a great platform.

In Mohali, he came in 33rd over. There was no platform. One wicket and that was an easy loss

Anyway he has done it before

In his debut series, he came in at 12th  over and scored 64.

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/india-tour-of-sri-lanka-2021-1262739/sri-lanka-vs-india-2nd-odi-1262756/full-scorecard

Did it against WI in 2022, came in 12 th over.

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/west-indies-in-india-2021-22-1278661/india-vs-west-indies-2nd-odi-1278677/full-scorecard

So it's not like he can't do it. But finishing will remain his main role.

22 minutes ago, Lord said:

In Mohali, he came in 33rd over. There was no platform. One wicket and that was an easy loss

Anyway he has done it before

In his debut series, he came in at 12th  over and scored 64.

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/india-tour-of-sri-lanka-2021-1262739/sri-lanka-vs-india-2nd-odi-1262756/full-scorecard

Did it against WI in 2022, came in 12 th over.

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/west-indies-in-india-2021-22-1278661/india-vs-west-indies-2nd-odi-1278677/full-scorecard

So it's not like he can't do it. But finishing will remain his main role.

This proves the point that he can't play long innings.  DEepak Chahar faced more balls than him in one of the match. IN the other match He couldn't take the game deep. Got out right before acceleration. You are looking for century makers not cameo merchants. With longish tail every batsman has to be able to play long innings. Given that Two all rounders Pandya/Jaddu can't do that consistently onus will be on 5 batsmen. I definitely don't want SKY to be one of the 5 batsmen. 

4 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

This proves the point that he can't play long innings.  DEepak Chahar faced more balls than him in one of the match. IN the other match He couldn't take the game deep. Got out right before acceleration. You are looking for century makers not cameo merchants. With longish tail every batsman has to be able to play long innings. Given that Two all rounders Pandya/Jaddu can't do that consistently onus will be on 5 batsmen. I definitely don't want SKY to be one of the 5 batsmen. 

With Suryakumar, you have to take the gamble. He will either fail quite quickly or he will win a match on his own, especially if its a flat track like what you will get in the World Cup. Sometimes, India has been found too defensive in approach and playing the safe game and found short.  A player like Suryakumar in the  middle overs might be just what India needs. 

7 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

It's not his role to play long innings. See his interview. TM has told him to bat 40 balls. Everything above that is a bonus. This is exactly what no. 6 is mostly required to do.

And its not like Samson was scoring tons after tons. Guy has 1 ton in 117 List A games.

5 minutes ago, Lord said:

It's not his role to play long innings. See his interview. TM has told him to bat 40 balls. Everything above that is a bonus. This is exactly what no. 6 is mostly required to do.

And its not like Samson was scoring tons after tons. Guy has 1 ton in 117 List A games.

Then TM is out of their mind lol 40 balls in a 300 ball game.  I am not talking abotu Samson. At international level in the matches played together Samson has comfortably outperformed SKY. I am talking about this weird thought of picking SKY over Iyer/Kishan. 

11 minutes ago, kubrickian said:

With Suryakumar, you have to take the gamble. He will either fail quite quickly or he will win a match on his own, especially if its a flat track like what you will get in the World Cup. Sometimes, India has been found too defensive in approach and playing the safe game and found short.  A player like Suryakumar in the  middle overs might be just what India needs. 

In 26 games he hasn't done that. Others played bigger part. He failed a lot of times though. He hasn't done it even in domestic. In T20s he sure has played some cameos which is okay for T20.  Winning on their own is like scoring 150, 160 runs. Not 60 runs 30 balls on a flat road with a set platform.

3 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

In 26 games he hasn't done that. Others played bigger part. He failed a lot of times though. He hasn't done it even in domestic. In T20s he sure has played some cameos which is okay for T20.  Winning on their own is like scoring 150, 160 runs. Not 60 runs 30 balls on a flat road with a set platform.

He has scored tons in T20s, you think he cant score in ODIs, Today would have scored if he had 10-15 more deliveries.

no. 6 won't score 150-160 lol

9 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Then TM is out of their mind lol 40 balls in a 300 ball game.  I am not talking abotu Samson. At international level in the matches played together Samson has comfortably outperformed SKY. I am talking about this weird thought of picking SKY over Iyer/Kishan. 

He can score 70-80 in those 40 balls and change the game. That's what most no. 6 are supposed to do.