Women's T20 Asia Cup -2024 - Tournament Thread

1 minute ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Naah... Women sport needs all the backing they can get. And it's not as if they earn a lot from endorsements and via other channels which Men's team and players do. It'll take some time for sporting & cricketing culture to be established for women as we're not like Eng or Aus where girls/women have equal access to sporting infrastructure.

Women sports and athletes already face plenty of challenges and hurdles as it is. We don't want to make it harder. Yes, make changes to the team so it's not a preserve of a select few, inculcate meritocracy, act on broadening the pool of players, and spread the sport. But you can't take away resources away from Women cricket and throw it at Men's cricket which is getting enough funding as it is.

They are getting the backing without giving back anything. About time results come. Men cricket gets what it generates.Still there is lot of room for improvement which can be prioritized.

13 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Yes, they already do that, they did recently by giving some money to Indian olympic athletes.

Do you rather want people like Jay Shah pocket all that money for himself.

Jay Shah doesn't get any money from BCCI. These are honorary, non-paids jobs. 

Just now, Lord said:

They are already doing enough for women's cricket. Took over from women's body due to media pressure. It doesn't mean placing them equal to men until they produce results. It comes at a cost of bettering men's cricket

No it does not come at any cost of men''s sport.

No they are not doing enough, You need more girls to play cricket in rural areas.This investment will pay dividends later.

They are just doing fine, they reached finals and had a bad day.

Losing in finals is not a disgrace.SL played well today , they won it is that simple.

13 minutes ago, putrevus said:

What is it with this nonsense sentiment that they have to win to deserve the money.

Other team is allowed to win, any team can have bad day. 

There are two ways of deserving money. Either you win or you generate money. If you start getting easy money, you take things for granted. Losing to a team like SL doesn't bode well for them. These asian women teams aren't even that good or strong. 

10 minutes ago, Lord said:

They are getting the backing without giving back anything. About time results come. Men cricket gets what it generates.Still there is lot of room for improvement which can be prioritized.

It takes a long time for culture to change. This is the first generation of women cricketers in the true sense. Similar to men's team in 83. They'll need time. But as I mentioned earlier we need to add more players to the pool and weed out non-performers and not allow the team to stagnate. But taking away resources is not the solution as Women team hasn't reached that stage yet.

2 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

There are two ways of deserving money. Either you win or you generate money. If you start getting easy money, you take things for granted. Losing to a team like SL doesn't bode well for them. These asian women teams aren't even that good or strong. 

That is stupid argument.If this set of players  get complacement, they can be replaced by more hungrier players.

Paying them has got nothing to do with their performances.Why are people acting as if they are paying these players from their pockets.

WI lost to India in 1983 finals when they had no business of losing to them.It is sports teams can have bad days.

2 hours ago, rollingstoned said:

Indian men were good enough to get to a stage where they might have choked it away instead of laying eggs and getting mogged royally after boasting about how equal they are to the men and making it all a zero sum game where they have to be elevated at someone else's expense which is what feminism and wokeism is all about. We deride the idea that horses should be compared to donkeys which is quite reasonable, not that there is some imaginary double standard at play here because sometimes the horse fails the way a donkey might. 

It's the other way round actually, men's problems are said to be their own personal problems while women's problems have to be collectivised and the responsibility borne by everyone in society which reveals to anyone with half a Brain cell what a humongous scam this whole gender equality lark is. Funny that a soft  brained loser male feminist - verily the most pitiable creature that can exist- calls others l, especially those who can see it for what it's worth as 'losers' instead of hyperventilating and engaging in cringe and emasculated smear tactics along with every irrelevant appeal to emotion just to prevent any discussion of the same. 

I don't want my mother or sister to get a leg up she doesn't deserve but then I have a thing called honor unlike the kind of chomu who has to stoop to this 'tere ghar mein maa behan nai hai kya?' line of argumentation when he has no leg to stand on. 

After getting grilled by so many posters on his fake feminism, he goes AWOL. He is a master of hit n run posts. I clicked on this post just to see if he is upto something and bingo was I right or was I right? :lol: He also claimed women find him attractive because he is a feminist. Do you believe it? :laugh:

Just now, Ultimate_Game said:

It takes a long time for culture to change. This is the first generation of women cricketers in the true sense. Similar to men's team in 83. They'll need time. But as I mentioned earlier we need to add more players to the pool and weed out non-performers and not allow the team to stagnate. But taking away resources is not the solution as Women team hasn't reached that stage yet.

How much did men's 83 team get?

13 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Wouldn't scrap WIPL but yes we can always make the players who're not performing accountable. Bring in others but scrapping WIPL or not backing women's cricket & sports is counter-productive.

Women cricket won't ever improve in India ... We will stay at this level.  Cricket won't ever be accessible to rural women in India unless Per capita income and HDI improves.

Indians are stupid to not even realise all that .

A bankrupt SL with better HDI than us is at our level...with even smaller base to select from.

It's basic science.

Use money on improving women sports...  It is downright humiliating to see no Indian participants in Synchronised events when even  Malaysians and Indonesian women participate.  Absolutely disgusting that we allow WIPl when money should be spent somewhere else.

WIPL has zero utility other than free money for foreigners and businesses and sponsorships etc.

1 minute ago, Lone Wolf said:

Women cricket won't ever improve in India ... We will stay at this level.  Cricket won't ever be accessible to rural women in India unless Per capita income and HDI improves.

Indians are stupid to not even realise all that .

A bankrupt SL with better HDI than us is at our level...with even smaller base to select from.

It's basic science.

Use money on improving women sports...  It is downright humiliating to see no Indian participants in Synchronised events when even  Malaysians and Indonesian women participate.  Absolutely disgusting that we allow WIPl when money should be spent somewhere else.

WIPL has zero utility other than free money for foreigners and businesses and sponsorships etc.

It takes a lot of time, resources and effort to change sporting culture of a country. But you don't want to take away the opportunity away from select few who do aspire and dream to be successful in that field. Otherwise what's the difference between us and Taliban as we can say we don't want to back women sports/cricket as we don't think they'll be successful.

It'll take at least a generation for the sporting ethos and culture to change but you have to start somewhere. To me the women team right now is similar to Men's team before 83 WC. The next generation will be better and things will gradually change for the better. BCCI needs to focus on spreading the game at grassroot level, increasing the pool of players and slowly weeding out the non-performers. But it'll take time and not gonna happen on a hurry.

9 minutes ago, Lord said:

How much did men's 83 team get?

Different times. And compared to Men's team currently, they probably get paid peanuts if you factor in endorsements and IPL contracts.

2 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

It takes a lot of time, resources and effort to change sporting culture of a country. But you don't want to take away the opportunity away from select few who do aspire and dream to be successful in that field. Otherwise what's the difference between us and Taliban as we can say we don't want to back women sports/cricket as we don't think they'll be successful.

It'll take at least a generation for the sporting ethos and culture to change but you have to start somewhere. To me the women team right now is similar to Men's team before 83 WC. The next generation will be better and things will gradually change for the better. BCCI needs to focus on spreading the game at grassroot level, increasing the pool of players and slowly weeding out the non-performers. But it'll take time and not gonna happen on a hurry.

I am not asking us to stop Women cricket....  Just take everything back 5 years... Bring back old system and salaries that served us well... And donate money to other women sports... Discard WIPL which is waste of time.

Increasing salaries and wasting money is useless exercise. Indian women cricket is still at that level which was 10 years ago. Nothing will or can change.

Just now, Ultimate_Game said:

Different times. And compared to Men's team currently, they probably get paid peanuts if you factor in endorsements and IPL contracts.

There's WIPL too. IPL and endorsement pay fair prices based on marketability etc. The fact that women cricketers don't get proves they are nowhere near men in terms of popularity/ability so them getting equal contracts is absurd. This is not some sabka saath sabka vikaas scheme.

Just now, Lord said:

There's WIPL too. IPL and endorsement pay fair prices based on marketability etc. The fact that women cricketers don't get proves they are nowhere near men in terms of popularity/ability so them getting equal contracts is absurd. This is not some sabka saath sabka vikaas scheme.

Are they getting same IPL contracts or same contracts from BCCI.

6 minutes ago, Lord said:

It'll take time. Rome wasn't built in a day. I agree likes of Harmanpreet have been persisted for too long. But the option is not to throw the baby out with the bathwater. Make changes but not take resources away from women cricket.

Not talking about the resources, just player contracts. 

Just now, Lord said:

Not talking about the resources, just player contracts. 

They can be tweaked as required as long as they focus on Women cricket but personally I wouldn't cut down salaries. Instead weed out long-term non-performers.

nah they don't deserve it atm. None of them. You keep saying it'll take time. Pay them if/when the times actually comes :dontknow:

1 hour ago, Lord said:

Why not use that extra money for men's cricket first? By your logic just because they have money they should be supporting other sports too.Extra money doesn't mean you splurge on non revenue generating avenues.

or take it easy on the number of ads they show on stadium, jerseys, every little thing on the ground like boundary ropes. or take it easy on the ticket price. or have a contract with the broadcasting group where they have to finish the ads when the bowler is ready in his runup. Fans make the sport what it is. Its time to respect the fan.