Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

1 hour ago, Gollum said:

All our medalists deserve open top bus parade, like the cricket team. 

Give Manu an extra parade for winning 2 medals in 1 games. Just 22.

She will get 1 cr and a government job no? 

Bonus.

36 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Kids dont have pools to train, or gymnastics equipment from this century.. lets be realistic bhai

Bhai, Dipa Karmakar finished 4th in vault final in Rio Olympics.

She did the Produnova vault there which is the toughest one to pull off, because of risk of death. Simone Biles who is one of the GOATs appreciated her performance there, as did the legendary Nadia Comenaci. Dipa captured the entire nation's attention, achieved all that despite lack of training facilities, she is from remote Tripura. Sadly injuries cut short her career. 

No Indian archer has come close to achieving excellence like that. Despite all the facilities, training etc. 

Just now, Gollum said:

She did the Produnova vault there which is the toughest one to pull off, because of risk of death. Simone Biles who is one of the GOATs appreciated her performance there, as did the legendary Nadia Comenaci. Dipa captured the entire nation's attention, achieved all that despite lack of training facilities, she is from remote Tripura. 

No archer has come close to achieving excellence like that. Despite all the facilities, training etc. 

That is insane..

Buy manu bhaker what warrior she is.

1 minute ago, Kron said:

That is insane..

Buy manu bhaker what warrior she is.

Naari shakti in full flow. Blessed to have so many amazing women athletes. Opened our account in Sydney (Malleswari), Rio (Sakshi), Tokyo (Mirabai) and here Manu. Since 2012 London, half our Olympic medalists have been women which is lovely to see. 

Just now, Gollum said:

Naari shakti in full flow. Blessed to have so many amazing women athletes. Opened our account in Sydney (Malleswari), Rio (Sakshi), Tokyo (Mirabai) and here Manu. Since 2012 London, half our Olympic medalists have been women which is lovely to see. 

Aboriginal Aussies have Indian origin lol. Can we claim them too? Hehe

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

focusing on women sports is the way to go.

as islamic countries etc dont let women participate.

even china/usa majority medals are women.

india womens wrestling will blow up in a decade.

Just now, Kron said:

Aboriginal Aussies have Indian origin lol. Can we claim them too? Hehe

As great as Cathy Freeman and Evonne Goolagong were, nah we good. We can claim only those who came through our system. 

3 minutes ago, Gollum said:

She did the Produnova vault there which is the toughest one to pull off, because of risk of death. Simone Biles who is one of the GOATs appreciated her performance there, as did the legendary Nadia Comenaci. Dipa captured the entire nation's attention, achieved all that despite lack of training facilities, she is from remote Tripura. Sadly injuries cut short her career. 

No Indian archer has come close to achieving excellence like that. Despite all the facilities, training etc. 

Im not saying what she did wasnt an amazing feat- she did that despite the shoddy infrastructure and facilities in place for Indian gymnasts. She was an exception but in reality 99% of medals are based on the facilities and investment in grassroots. Archers falling apart are due to their mental choking. But we dont provide the best platform with good infrastructure for kids to start other disciplines which then wont translate into medals esp in gymnastics, diving, cycling, rowing etc

All im saying that one Dipa doesnt mean more Dipas will come out without any investment in grassroots. The top down approach of showering money and jobs to medal winners instead of more investment in lower levels doesnt have any advantage. The first comes sporadically and the latter means more chances of consistent medals 15/20 years down the line

4 minutes ago, New guy said:

She should get 5 cr for each medal. And does she need a government job?

If it were me I would give her 50 crore lol. If I could. But yea i am not sure. Guess it's up. To her.

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

As great as Cathy Freeman and Evonne Goolagong were, nah we good. We can claim only those who came through our system. 

Love Cathy freeman. Actually spoke to her once. Lovely lady. She is jacked too. In person. She is really jacked. One of the best athletes of all time from Australia. 

3 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Im not saying what she did wasnt an amazing feat- she did that despite the shoddy infrastructure and facilities in place for Indian gymnasts. She was an exception but in reality 99% of medals are based on the facilities and investment in grassroots. Archers falling apart are due to their mental choking. But we dont provide the best platform with good infrastructure for kids to start other disciplines which then wont translate into medals esp in gymnastics, diving, cycling, rowing etc

All im saying that one Dipa doesnt mean more Dipas will come out without any investment in grassroots. The top down approach of showering money and jobs to medal winners instead of more investment in lower levels doesnt have any advantage. The first comes sporadically and the latter means more chances of consistent medals 15/20 years down the line

You are absolutely right.

Just that I am fed up of our archers, hence the bhadaas. 

2 minutes ago, Kron said:

Love Cathy freeman. Actually spoke to her once. Lovely lady. She is jacked too. In person. She is really jacked. One of the best athletes of all time from Australia. 

Star of the first Olympics I saw, Sydney 2000. Amazing story. Her 400m gold is still regarded as Australia's greatest sporting moment. 

5 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

We don't have much talent either.

1 minute ago, MediumPacer said:

We don't have much talent either.

Talent doesn't grow on Trees... you have to nurture and provide the best facilities for children to be able to take up a sport alongside sport pedigree which means coaches are in the system. Even if its not to complete, kids in India don't even have time or parental backing to do these sports for pleasure.

11 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

Bro cycling and co costs a fortune. Pro cycles cost upwards of 20 k dollars

Will take a while catch up. I agree 20 years or so. 

Why doesnt the Lottery system in India cant fund sports like the National Lottery does in the UK? The equivalent is 2600 Crores that lottery in UK spends on funding sport. One example where Lottery is funding facilities in schools in UK

How much does the National Lottery fund sport?

Each year we invest over £250m of National Lottery and government money to help people play sport and take part in physical activity. As we receive more applications than we can fulfil, we have to decide which projects to prioritise.

Castlederg High School - Synthetic Turf Pitch

£1,070,524 to Western Education and Library Board on 27 October, 2005

To provide the rural community of Castlederg with a full-size synthetic turf pitch, tennis court, adequate floodlighting and changing facilities, based at Castlederg HS. As well as serving the pupils at 2 Castlederg post primary schools, it will also provide facilities for 11 local primary schools. Out of school hours, it will be open to the public, local sports clubs and organisations and used by approx 1600 children in curriculum time & 1015 adults, including those with learning & physical disabilities. View full grant details
Grant Programme
New Opportunities for PE and Sport
Edited by LordPrabhzy