I think issue is even if you make a deal there is no guarentee given volatility it will stick.

South korea and japan thought they agreed 150 billion. But us wants investments equivalent of 300 billion in areas like ship building.

1 hour ago, G_B_ said:

I think issue is even if you make a deal there is no guarentee given volatility it will stick.

South korea and japan thought they agreed 150 billion. But us wants investments equivalent of 300 billion in areas like ship building.

Exactly. No telling where this stops. Plus I don't get this pussy mindset. Okay tax Indian IT and then what. India taxes Meta and Google with their largest volume market in India. Is that something Trump wants to do ? 

Mahaul banaya Jaa Raha hai...

AI , Automation are already cutting into outsourcing jobs.

Problem is this uncertainty effects us more than them.

Only good thing this would have to be cleared by US Congress first and that is next to impossible.

2 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

My guess, a deal will happen eventually. US will reduce/remove the tarrifs...India in turn will give them access to some markets, or maybe appraise his efforts for the Russia-Ukraine war. Russia will capture the invaded territory, Ukraine will become smaller and a non NATO country and Trump will get a nomination for Nobel Prize

Yeah this is best case scenario looking ahead.

I too think we will giving access to them in some key sector as a peace offering..

He won't go away without a W in front of his MAGA base. Putin and XI have already humiliated him...

We are dealing with a egoistic knucklehead after all.

This should also be a lesson for coderjeets to diversify. ..

India needs a manufacturing revolution.  IT dependency has long delayed it

Even domestic consumption can keep us more than afloat if we go that route.

Dems are dumb as rock, except for Gavin Newsom recently. If I were a dem politican I am rebranding these tariffs as Trump taxes, counter the tariff revenue as money the govt stole from you & keep hitting the republicans on the fact they gave tax breaks to the rich & taxed the poor, & middleclass to offset the tax breaks to the rich.

May be they don't want to stop Trump while he is digging himse;lf into a hole & hit him near mid terms. But its increasingly clear he gave his rich buddies tax breaks while transfering the debt on to everday americans.

2 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

I doubt they will go to that level. Ofcourse I may be wrong but at this moment, all I see this is just a pressure tactic to get a win.

They cant arm twist Russia & China...one dont need US and other one can literally pause US. India has less leverage but Indian IT plays an extremely key role in keeping US alive as well. No other country in the world can out match us in terms of services...there is a reason why Trump never talks about services.

My guess, a deal will happen eventually. US will reduce/remove the tarrifs...India in turn will give them access to some markets, or maybe appraise his efforts for the Russia-Ukraine war. Russia will capture the invaded territory, Ukraine will become smaller and a non NATO country and Trump will get a nomination for Nobel Prize.

India-China-US relations will remain on tight slope...neither countries like each other. But continue to be an opportunist for the near benefit.

This is where MEA & Modi screwed up big time. 

No one is going to vote in 2029 on the question of how Op Sindhoor ceasefire came about but if the economy is bad or doesn't live up the hype then that is problematic, with important trade deal & defense deals going on, the best thing to do was flatter trump without accepting mediation, say stuff like Trump facilitation along with indian strikes had a great effect on Pakistan to realize their position, make a backdoor deal with him for nobel peace prize nomination for Ukr-Russia effort. 

if that is a bridge too far Indian should at least kept quite over Trumps claims, the readout of Modi's call with Trump was unecessarly stupid.

How did the relationship that was pushing for F35s, a Modi visit to US, Vance visit to India deteriorate to this level? I don't believe its the Russian oil that India has been buying for 3 yrs, that was just discovered by US a month ago. The trade deal with an extortionist trump was already going to be difficult, Indian Babus & modi decided to make it harder by personally insulting Trump by calling out his lie. Nobody apparently taught our Babu's to bide their time except when they delay projects to get their cuts. 

Edited by IndianRenegade
38 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Yeah this is best case scenario looking ahead.

I too think we will giving access to them in some key sector as a peace offering..

He won't go away without a W in front of his MAGA base. Putin and XI have already humiliated him...

We are dealing with a egoistic knucklehead after all.

This should also be a lesson for coderjeets to diversify. ..

India needs a manufacturing revolution.  IT dependency has long delayed it

Even domestic consumption can keep us more than afloat if we go that route.

I sense fear dripping through your posts...

1 hour ago, ravishingravi said:

Exactly. No telling where this stops. Plus I don't get this pussy mindset. Okay tax Indian IT and then what. India taxes Meta and Google with their largest volume market in India. Is that something Trump wants to do ? 

I think those that made deal with trump will find out deal is not worth paper its written on.

He has apparently introduced stealth tariffs on european cars.

Hidden port fees.

1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

Mahaul banaya Jaa Raha hai...

AI , Automation are already cutting into outsourcing jobs.

Problem is this uncertainty effects us more than them.

Only good thing this would have to be cleared by US Congress first and that is next to impossible.

Aren't these private companies? Why will they listen to him and let go of Indian manpower hurting their profits?There will be lawsuits

4 minutes ago, Lord said:

Aren't these private companies? Why will they listen to him and let go of Indian manpower hurting their profits?There will be lawsuits

they probably won't & can't do much as it will significantly hurt their investments to do otherwise. But such policy can't prevent new investments, why will you put in new money if you beleive an unstable preisdent with lot of power can hurt your company.

Edited by IndianRenegade
1 hour ago, Lord said:

Blocking night mean no further jobs or H1B or GCC set ups in India. That's possible.

Even the current ones can be reduced , not at scale but at a snails place. There is always someone else to do the job and at lower cost than what India offers 

1 hour ago, G_B_ said:

I sense fear dripping through your posts...

There should be fear with sanity. US may lose but we can get destroyed if IT is touched. And hopefully no more arrogance .