Asia Cup U19

rkt.india

39 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

India has lost 3 Outta 4 times to Pak in U19 tournaments off late.

Record against BD isn't great either.

Reckon grassroots and selection problem mostly.

Pressure thingy is overblown

Nah. The problem is overaged players. BCCI has curbed age fudging while Pak and BD are still picking age fudgers.

3 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Nah. The problem is overaged players. BCCI has curbed age fudging while Pak and BD are still picking age fudgers.

Yes ,U19 cricket is about getting 2/3/4good international quality players from each batch, winning WC in the way is always sweet

Look at Aus or SA they haven't done that much well in these events like India or Pak

But their senior side has dominated international cricket most of the times,their U19 players graduate into professional cricketers better as compared to others

On 12/22/2025 at 8:37 PM, pkmmamks said:

Yeh and his approach is like a 10 year old. Khilao aur use and aur aise hi hagega

you were right

17 hours ago, Tillu said:

This Sameer Minhas will be their new Zimbabar.

Minhas and that Maaz Sadaqat guy in Emerging cup look quality.

Sadaqat can bowl as well.

But the thing with these guys is their longevity is for 3-4 years max.

Bobby Azam is carrying a fat belly and his reflexes have slowed down.

5 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Plate division hai bhai... friggin Arunachal.

U19 Asia Cup was a lot higher in quality than this

He's still young and playing really well for his age

Asia cup was lost by bowlers

4 minutes ago, Lord said:

He's still young and playing really well for his age

Asia cup was lost by bowlers

That was a batting beauty.  Losing without any semblance of fight exposed the top order.

Edited by Lone Wolf
26 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

That was a batting beauty.  Losing without any semblance of fight exposed the top order.

Rememebr last Asia cup we lost to bangladesh and pakistan. But we still made it to world cup final. I think we over-rate these padosis based on these asia cup encounters. We have lost to pakistan quiet a few times in Asia cup in age group level. 

In 2017 India lost to Nepal in Asia cup. We went on to win the world cup next year

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/acc-u19-asia-cup-2017-18-1125930/india-under-19s-vs-nepal-under-19s-6th-match-group-a-1125947/full-scorecard

We also lost to Bangladesh

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/acc-u19-asia-cup-2017-18-1125930/bangladesh-under-19s-vs-india-under-19s-12th-match-group-a-1125953/full-scorecard

Edited by vvvslaxman
13 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

ememebr last Asia cup we lost to bangladesh and pakistan. But we still made it to world cup final. I

Both BD and Pak U19 were better last time.  That BD maruf Kid alone was better pacer than all of our guys.   Slower non Highveld Bloemfontein aided us in that regard.

But as soon as tournament moved to Highveld we started having trouble.

Sachin Das carried us into that final. We had no buisness beating SA on that Highveld Benoni track. Legit top 5 clutch knock In U19 cricket by an Indian.

Highveld exposed our bowling and in the final Aussies showed us levels.

8 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Both BD and Pak U19 were better last time.  That BD maruf Kid alone was better pacer than all of our guys.   Slower non Highveld Bloemfontein aided us in that regard.

But as soon as tournament moved to Highveld we started having trouble.

Sachin Das carried us into that final. We had no buisness beating SA on that Highveld Benoni track. Legit top 5 clutch knock In U19 cricket by an Indian.

Highveld exposed our bowling and in the final Aussies showed us levels.

That was a really inexperienced u19 side with very little preparation. This u19 side players have played much more together like England tour, Aus tour, triseries, now Asia Cup.

1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said:

Minhas and that Maaz Sadaqat guy in Emerging cup look quality.

Sadaqat can bowl as well.

But the thing with these guys is their longevity is for 3-4 years max.

Bobby Azam is carrying a fat belly and his reflexes have slowed down.

There development to next level is poor

Same guys will look fish out of waters few years down the line

Sadaqat still didn't play with the SR required today in t20s even against poor attacks

38 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Rememebr last Asia cup we lost to bangladesh and pakistan. But we still made it to world cup final. I think we over-rate these padosis based on these asia cup encounters. We have lost to pakistan quiet a few times in Asia cup in age group level. 

In 2017 India lost to Nepal in Asia cup. We went on to win the world cup next year

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/acc-u19-asia-cup-2017-18-1125930/india-under-19s-vs-nepal-under-19s-6th-match-group-a-1125947/full-scorecard

We also lost to Bangladesh

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/acc-u19-asia-cup-2017-18-1125930/bangladesh-under-19s-vs-india-under-19s-12th-match-group-a-1125953/full-scorecard

We have been loosing,emergings,U19s vs Pakistan ,bangla since 2020/22 ,Mavi also played one of them

Harshit too

What we want is few great to good players(bat and bowl) for every transition phase

1 minute ago, Suhaan said:

We have been loosing,emergings,U19s vs Pakistan ,bangla since 2020/22 ,Mavi also played one of them

Harshit too

What we want is few great to good players(bat and bowl) for every transition phase

Traditionally they use Asia cup to iterate players and see who is good for WOrld cup. Wonder if they are doing the same here? 

5 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

There development to next level is poor

Same guys will look fish out of waters few years down the line

Sadaqat still didn't play with the SR required today in t20s even against poor attacks

There was one guy who mad century last Asia cup against us as well. NOt sure what happened to him. Most of these guys are actually not 19 years old. This Ali Raza played last world cup. Playing this world cup as well. THey say he is 17. He looks like 24 atleast.

6 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Pitches in Oman were dodgy.. those desert tracks aren't ideal to judge

Pitches in U19 Asia Cup were good especially ICC academy ones which were drop in ones brought from Brisbane Gabba.

I don't think Suryavanshi should be playing under-19. It is a lose lose situation for him. He should just stick to firts class, A games etc until he develops. That is where he will learn the mental aspects of the game.

8 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Pitches in Oman were dodgy.. those desert tracks aren't ideal to judge

Pitches in U19 Asia Cup were good especially ICC academy ones which were drop in ones brought from Brisbane Gabba.

Even these ones were slowing down in 2nd innings 

Yes good batting conditions on Sunday morning