England to face Bangladesh in one-off Test in preparation for 2027 Ashes series

England to face Bangladesh in one-off Test in preparation for Ashes series

They aren't even pretending to hide it anymore. ECB will move heaven and earth to ensure Root overtakes Sachin's run tally. Poms are already set to tour BD for a two test series in Feb, uske upar yeh. Expect more such tests against Zimbabwe and Ireland as well. 

@Laaloo kuch nahi ho sakta, make peace with it. 

How many tests in London next summer !!!! 2 in Ashes, this BD one-off, and the WTC final. 

Also they have 6 tests against Aussies next year. 

5 in Ashes and the 150th anniversary test in March in MCG. At this rate, Root will probably end up with 250 test caps. 

Just now, Gollum said:

5 in Ashes and the 150th anniversary test in March in MCG. At this rate, Root will probably end up with 250 test caps. 

England is feeding test match to root 

13 minutes ago, Gollum said:

If they end up fluking the 150th anniversary test in MCG.. it will be called as an Ashes win down under.

That game could likely be swansong for Lyon Starc and maybe even Smith.

Shameless Poms. Lectured all these years about not being selfish, retiring at the right time, not dragging on, and they are pulling this **** to overtake The Great One.

Nothing wrong in it

Kapil kept playing despite being over the hill just to break Hadlee’s record

Atleast Root is in decent form and justifies his place

12 minutes ago, Laaloo said:

Shameless Poms. Lectured all these years about not being selfish, retiring at the right time, not dragging on, and they are pulling this **** to overtake The Great One.

They are obsessed with stats but pretend otherwise, and claim a moral high ground. They did so much buildup for Anderson and Broad to pass McGrath's tally. And their stupid honours board in every ground. 

BCCI used to schedule 3 or 4 tests per year for most of 90s. Kya vision tha un mahapurushon ka. 

Even now we play less tests, uske upar 90% games only against SENA. 

1 minute ago, Gollum said:

BCCI used to schedule 3 or 4 tests per year for most of 90s. Kya vision tha un mahapurushon ka. 

We have literally stopped playing Zimbabwe altogether in test cricket.

Perhaps we are the only team along with Aussies doing this.

Every other side plays test cricket with zim outside of WTC.

Poms Pooks Pakistan, BD and even SL tours them for 2 tests.

BCCI's greed is such that we only play T20s against them.

3 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

We have literally stopped playing Zimbabwe altogether in test cricket.

Perhaps we are the only team along with Aussies doing this.

Every other side plays test cricket with zim outside of WTC.

Poms Pooks Pakistan, BD and even SL tours them for 2 tests.

BCCI's greed is such that we only play T20s against them.

And we are touring SL after 9 long years, what the hell is that? Have played them in only 2 tests in the last 9 years. As such we don't play the minnow Pooks, must compensate that by playing SL, WI, Zim, Ire more. Whole year just SENA, SENA, SENA. 

As much as the rookies are disappointing us, not easy to learn when you come up only against the best the entire season, no breathing space. 

9 minutes ago, Gollum said:

We don't even play ODIs against SL anymore. It's a travesty.

Edited by Laaloo
8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

And we are touring SL after 9 long years, what the hell is that? Have played them in only 2 tests in the last 9 years. As such we don't play the minnow Pooks, must compensate that by playing SL, WI, Zim, Ire more. Whole year just SENA, SENA, SENA. 

As much as the rookies are disappointing us, not easy to learn when you come up only against the best the entire season, no breathing space. 

No excuses really, 9 years is an awful long time more than 2 cycles gone by since we played SL in SL.

Every year there should be minimum 1 test outside of WTC against Afg/Zimbabwe/Ire.

Schedule Ireland tests before Test tour of England.

But we always see BCCI schedule those T20s instead.  

Those 3 T20s vs Zimbabwe in July serve no purpose really.

https://www.cricbuzz.com/cricket-series/11991/india-tour-of-zimbabwe-2026/matches

Would have loved a test match instead right before SL series.

Edited by Lone Wolf
1 minute ago, Laaloo said:

We don't even play ODIs against SL anymore. It's a travesty.

BCCI is a disgrace of a board. So self-serving, they don't care about fans, players, officials, groundsmen, national interests/prestige. They were inventing reasons to play the Asia Cup before blood of Pahalgam victims had dried up, that should tell you everything. 

1 minute ago, Lone Wolf said:

No excuses really, 9 years is an awful long time more than 2 cycles gone by since we played SL in SL.

Every year there should be minimum 1 test outside of WTC against Afg/Zimbabwe/Ire.

Schedule Ireland tests before Test tour of England.

But we always see BCCI schedule those T20s instead.  

Those 3 T20s vs Zimbabwe in July serve no purpose really.

Would have loved a test match instead right before SL series.

Exactly. Soft launch 4-5 rookies (esp. bowlers) in these matches against Zim/Ire and also play guys struggling for runs/wickets, like Jaiswal, Jurel, Kuldeep, to give them a confidence boost. 

RSA are world champs and even they played a 2 test series in Zim recently. Aus, NZ played 3 test series against WI. 

8 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

No excuses really, 9 years is an awful long time more than 2 cycles gone by since we played SL in SL

Ind-SL tests in SL have almost always been closely fought, and exciting. Wonderful pitches with bat/ball, spin/pace balance. 

2015 tour was a classic. Next time we crushed them 3-0 but that was peak Indian team, and probably the strongest team for SC conditions in the modern era. I expect this year's series to be fun, no matter who wins...just wish it were a 3 test series, ideal challenge in SC conditions for our young squad. 

21 minutes ago, express bowling said:

We should start playing 12 to 14 tests per year too.

Most of our test players play just 1 or 2 formats. So no workload problem. 

Outside eng and aus no one is interested in playing tests, specially vs Ind , if other boards can get a series vs Ind they prefer it to be t20is.

If they are hosting Ind it bring alot of revenue, if they are playing in Ind the players gets alot of eye-balls and a hope to IPL contract.

So if its not part of wtc most boards would like to prefer T20is and if Kolhi and rohit are ready to play then they want Odis as well

1 hour ago, express bowling said:

We should start playing 12 to 14 tests per year too.

Most of our test players play just 1 or 2 formats. So no workload problem. 

No money for bcci in that

What hurt Tendulkar, and it's entirely on BCCI, is that when he was at the peak of his powers in mid 90s, India barely played any Tests. India had just 5 Tests or so in the entire year. If India played Tests the same way English do with 12-14 Tests every year in 90s, he would've 8-10 more 100s and 2000-3000 more runs and averaging around 57.

But nobody ever blamed BCCI for caring about Indian cricket above money. And that trait has carried on as we see England host literally every WTC Final despite us being the best team the first two cycles of WTC coz BCCI can't make money hosting the WTC final. And we saw more of the same with them hosting the 2023 WC final in Modi stadium despite Chennai or Kolkatta better suited to us.

If BCCI had Indian Cricket's best interests at heart, we would've easily had 1-2 more WCs and at least one WTC. But for BCCI money supersedes everything.