here is an interview on rediff....from 2003.... 'Why should we give Pakistanis a chance?' Syed Firdaus Ashraf in Mumbai | March 25, 2003 Pakistani artistes and singers have performed in India for a long time. Singer Abhijeet recently protested this phenomenon. 'Why should we allow these people into our country to perform when we are not welcome in their country?' he asked in a letter to the Government of India. Along with bhajan singer Anoop Jalota, ghazal artiste Jagjit and playback singers Kumar Sanu and Jaspinder Narula, Abhijeet asked the government to ban Pakistani artistes from performing in India. "We don't play cricket because our people are being killed by them. Why should we allow their singers to perform here?" he asks Associate Editor/Chief Correspondent Syed Firdaus Ashraf. What have you written to the prime minister? We are seeking the government's help in banning [the entry of ] Pakistani artistes [into India]. I was hurt when I heard about the atrocities Indian artistes face in Pakistan. Our artistes are banned there -- from performing as well as on television. One can't even attend a wedding without them [Pakistani authorities] being suspicious that you might perform there. But Pakistani artistes are welcomed in India; they make money. Some even settle down here. I ask that our government should consider the dignity of our artistes. There are Indian Sufi singers, ghazal singers and pop singers here as well who do not get a chance. Why should we give Pakistanis a chance? [Ghazal singer] Jagjit Singh was sent back to India when he wanted to perform in Pakistan. We gave much respect to [playback singer] Noorjehan, felicitated her, but Lataji [Mangeshkar] was denied a visa to Pakistan. We [indians] cannot play cricket with them. We have no relations with them. But they seek refuge in our culture. Lucky Ali performed in Pakistan three years ago. Lataji refused the Pakistan Cricket Board invitation to perform. She must have refused because she was denied the visa earlier. How can she go there again? It is humiliating. You tell me, how many Indian singers are shown on Pakistani television? None. Why should our channels show them? As for Lucky Ali, I don't know whether he has Indian or New Zealand citizenship. Check with him. Do you listen to Pakistani music? I used to listen to [ghazal artistes] Ghulam Ali and Mehdi Hasan. Now I don't. They can make money here, but we cannot make money there. Look at Adnan Sami. What have you got against him? I met many Pakistanis in Houston, America. They are very angry with Adnan because he never says he is proud to be a Pakistani. But he is a British citizen. No. He holds a British passport. If a Pakistani comes [to India] via some other country, does it mean he is not a Pakistani? Is it professional rivalry speaking? No way. I have sung 200 hit songs. At the cost of my career, I am taking on these Pakistani singers. People say I am doing this for publicity. Why? What publicity do I need? My songs are being played all over on television from morning to evening. I am seen on television channels. But music is for everyone. These artistes have not harmed anyone. Let me give you an example of [the late] Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. He was a qawwali singer in Pakistan. No one knew him. As soon as he landed in India, we gave him such a rousing welcome, he became world famous. He then said in an interview, 'I have come [to India] to settle the score.' You understand what this means for India? What does it mean? I don't know. But what am I to think when a person from an enemy country says that? But people enjoy their music. Who said that? Our music has 100 per cent audience in Pakistan compared to theirs in our country. Who else has joined this protest with you? There are many NGOs angry about our artistes being treated badly in Pakistan. When they came to know Adnan Sami and Abida Parveen are Pakistanis, they got very angry. We call Pakistani singers to perform here. Our heroines dance with them; that is bad. What does your letter say? We have four chappatis to eat in our country. Why do we need to share that with our enemy country?

does anyone know.....are Indian artists still banned from performing in pakistan? I know Indian movies and shows are banned on tv, I think.....especially the soap dramas since a lot of them is based on Hindu house hold and values and shows Gods and Goddesses and dieties.

There is a big difference between India and Pakistan. Do you want India to go the Pakistan way?
Sorry to go off topic: Let's see..... we are different, we won't be like them,....and what has been the result so far? 20 bomb blasts in last 2 yrs alone resulted in THOUSANDS of indian citizen deaths!! Our soldiers constantly dying in Kashmir? Our embassies are getting attacked, once again our soldiers are dying? we have opened our door of "friendship" after they illegally occupied our territory in 1999....JUST 9 years ago... resulted in 1000 indian casualty... now tell me, who's the victim of this relationship? and who's the abuser? once again, this is off topic but had to say it.

Music doesn't kill people. If abhijeet has to complain....then complain about the peace talks. Complain about the govt not doing anything about the terrorism. How does bad mouthing a singer who is here to make an honest living and who happens to be popular make any difference to the situation ?He is just looking for some sensational publicity on these silly reality shows who bank on these dramas forTRP .He comes across as a pathetic bitter loser.

On this whole Abhijeet-Atif saga. Personally I find Abhijeet a decent singer, nothing out of the world but still a very formidable artist nonetheless. Yes he does have the habit of saying things every now and then but that doesnt change the fact that he is a)good singer. b)right on the money here. When Abhijeet says - Aajkal ke singer ki awaaz ki kamjori ko instrument se dabaaya jaata hai - is there any doubt that is 100% true? Just look at the one of the biggest hits right now - Mauja Mauja. Most Indians love it but how cr@ppy the singer Mika really is? Can a half decent music fan say Mika is a great artist by remote chance? If you strictly talk of Abhijeet's music you will find many of his songs just like that - Bas itna sa khwaab hai(Yes Boss) comes to mind immediately where it is the singer and not some instrument in background that takes your breath away. And it is not that today we dont get good music we do. In the worlds of Pritams, Reshammiyas, Sajid-Wajids etc you can still listen to Omkara. Every song, whether it was popular or not, has the singer voice very distinct from the music instruments. What instruments does Rahat Fateh Ali Khan need to sing Naina thag lenge, or Sukhwinder in the title song. I beleive Abhijeet's basic premise is correct, though I am not sure why he picked Atif as his firing target. Personally to me Atif is okay, nothing stellar but chalta hai kind. xxx

I have a similar comment as Lurker. Abhijeet is an established talent and rightfully deserves to be eccentric. This Atif guy is average and is quite besura. I don't know why we import these no-talent hacks from across the border, when we ourselves have a great talent pool. Singers in SRGMP, Idol etc are a 1000 times more talented than singers like Atif. Quite naturally, Abhijeet is bitter. Pak has denied visas to singers like Lata, Jagjit, Anup Jalota, etc., but India bends over backwards to import hacks like Atif, Zeba, Adnan Sami etc. and give them breaks.

On technical ground we all gotta agree with Abhijit that atif doesn't sing with his real voice, so he is crap. On sentimental ground Atif is the same ungrateful %$#@ who once said " Love the music (pakistani), not where it's coming from(india)". That's when he was asked about reaction of pakistani fans back home. I also remember him talking BS about about Himesh's singing, paki fans didnt protest back then.

Point 1.. The respect that paki artists get in India.. Indian artists dont get that much respect there... Point 2.. I have heard lot many talented .. abhijeet, sunidhi chauhan, and now aadesh saying that Atif is not A TRUE SINGER.. now there must be something that those people know that we ordinary people dont know about SINGING.. i liked atif's couple of songs.. but there is something.. same thing with sukhwinder that Asha ji pointed out.. there must be something..

same thing with sukhwinder that Asha ji pointed out.. there must be something..
If I am not mistaken, she was referring to that kid contestant and not the adult singer. Anyhow, I didnt like what she said, its not like you are there for a beauty pageant that singers cant make some facial expressions. I dont rate Asha or Lata's voice any better than today's singers. Its just that I feel they had a monopoly all those years. The singers just have voice, but its the composer who should get the real credit for the composition. my five cents
If I am not mistaken' date=' she was referring to that kid contestant and not the adult singer. Anyhow, I didnt like what she said, its not like you are there for a beauty pageant that singers cant make some facial expressions. I dont rate Asha or[b'] Lata's voice any better than today's singers. Its just that I feel they had a monopoly all those years. The singers just have voice, but its the composer who should get the real credit for the composition. my five cents
..all thngs considered, dude..lata? cmon man Its just like, if cricket was so easy then why was only bradman the one to have that record
On this whole Abhijeet-Atif saga. Personally I find Abhijeet a decent singer, nothing out of the world but still a very formidable artist nonetheless. Yes he does have the habit of saying things every now and then but that doesnt change the fact that he is a)good singer. b)right on the money here. When Abhijeet says - Aajkal ke singer ki awaaz ki kamjori ko instrument se dabaaya jaata hai - is there any doubt that is 100% true? Just look at the one of the biggest hits right now - Mauja Mauja. Most Indians love it but how cr@ppy the singer Mika really is? Can a half decent music fan say Mika is a great artist by remote chance? If you strictly talk of Abhijeet's music you will find many of his songs just like that - Bas itna sa khwaab hai(Yes Boss) comes to mind immediately where it is the singer and not some instrument in background that takes your breath away. And it is not that today we dont get good music we do. In the worlds of Pritams, Reshammiyas, Sajid-Wajids etc you can still listen to Omkara. Every song, whether it was popular or not, has the singer voice very distinct from the music instruments. What instruments does Rahat Fateh Ali Khan need to sing Naina thag lenge, or Sukhwinder in the title song. I beleive Abhijeet's basic premise is correct, though I am not sure why he picked Atif as his firing target. Personally to me Atif is okay, nothing stellar but chalta hai kind. xxx
Lurker, I understand what you are saying, but different people have different tastes in music. What you like (rafi, kishore, etc) may seem like complete crap to a hip hop fan, while you probably see absolutely no talent in someone like snoop dogg. Abhijeet might have a different taste for music, but that does not imply that his taste/his singing etc is better than anyone else.
Lurker' date=' I understand what you are saying, but different people have different tastes in music. What you like (rafi, kishore, etc) may seem like complete crap to a hip hop fan, while you probably see absolutely no talent in someone like snoop dogg. Abhijeet might have a different taste for music, but that does not imply that his taste/his singing etc is better than anyone else.[/quote'] Holy, I think it is beyond that really. Yes your point about people having varied taste in music is well taken but is this taste in music something that only Gen X has?? Clearly no. People have always had different taste in music. If you are talking of Kishore, Rafi or anyone else they had their own set of followers but then there was another set of follower for Mukesh, Manna De, Hemant Kumar, KL Saigal etc. However almost all of the fans of these artists would agree that while they did prefer Mukesh, Kishore Kumar was a fantastic artist as well. And while Rafi would probably be liked by the most few of his fans would disagree that Manna De was miles ahead in classical music. You can not compare this to Pritam or Reshamiyyas of today who even their own fan do not respect. Forget a Kishore fan, even a Himesh Reshamiyya fan does not respect Reshamiyya. Sure he will go and buy CD, watch his show etc but I am yet to meet a Reshamiyya fan who shall admit that Himesh is a genius of any sorts, much less original. I beleive this is what Asha Bhonsle meant when Himesh Reshamiyya lamented to her - Where are the Asha and Lata today?? Asha Bhonsle, quite correctly, replied that if senior music directors dont give the right chances to the young talent how are they going to unearth great singers anyway? xxxx

May be Ludh meant 'Lata or Asha' of today. Clearly, I prefer to Sunifhi Chauhan or Shreyas Ghousal's voice compared to Asha/Lata of today. They should have stopped singing atleast 15 years back. But in their hey days, they were clearly much much better than the incomplete singers of today (in the same age).

..all thngs considered, dude..lata? cmon man Its just like, if cricket was so easy then why was only bradman the one to have that record
May be Ludh meant 'Lata or Asha' of today. Clearly' date=' I prefer to Sunifhi Chauhan or Shreyas Ghousal's voice compared to Asha/Lata of today. They should have stopped singing atleast 15 years back. But in their hey days, they were clearly much much better than the incomplete singers of today (in the same age).[/quote'] IMO, music is very much a personal preference. There are no stats to measure the greatness of a singer like runs or wickets taken. If the public likes a singer, then that is the ultimate litmus test since they're are the real judge. As for Lata, I have only heard her in the recent past, most likely last 10 or so years so I can only base my judgment based on that. Perhaps a little skewed comparison but I personally find her voice too nasal. I consider myself a fan of songs rather than just singers, that's why I rate composers higher.