Book_Worm Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 Pure and impure discussion still going on in 2015! i was about to ask about AMITS as soon as i read the first post and then found out he himself has posted !! I moved to india after living in USA for 15 years That's half of my life.. was worried about my dad who is a widower and was living all alone.. No regrets .. India has changed a lot and for the better I do miss USA some times it is natural to do so.. My son is such a tyrant temper tantrums and crying to getting his way . there are times i just let him cry if i do that in USa some good and kindly neighbour would call the police and i would be charged with negligence of my child, or danger to my child etc.. whenever i get nostalgic about USA this brings me back to earth!!
Tiger80 Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 Pure and impure discussion still going on in 2015! i was about to ask about AMITS as soon as i read the first post and then found out he himself has posted !! I moved to india after living in USA for 15 years That's half of my life.. was worried about my dad who is a widower and was living all alone.. No regrets .. India has changed a lot and for the better I do miss USA some times it is natural to do so.. My son is such a tyrant temper tantrums and crying to getting his way . there are times i just let him cry if i do that in USa some good and kindly neighbour would call the police and i would be charged with negligence of my child, or danger to my child etc.. whenever i get nostalgic about USA this brings me back to earth!! Is this type of freedom modern people want ? If your child cry then police will intervene , what rubbish is this.
punjabi_khota Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 Is this type of freedom modern people want ? If your child cry then police will intervene ' date=' what rubbish is this.[/quote'] That is bullshit. No one gives a **** if your kid cries in your home.
HippoSucks Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 That is bullshit. No one gives a **** if your kid cries in your home. I've seen a few incidents in some rich neighborhoods where some people heard a kid crying loudly for a few minutes and then they intervened...
Book_Worm Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 That is bullshit. No one gives a **** if your kid cries in your home. Not Bullshit at all. This happened to my own cousin brother. His son was crying for a long time because he wanted to play with the knife and my brother and his wife were not giving him. The boy had a habit of crying and forcing his parents to indulge but who would give a knife to a 3 year old kid to play. Their neighbor called 911. Luckily the police understood the situation and left..
Texan Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 ^^ I have also heard of situations where kids that are old enough to understand how this works threatening parents that if their demands are not met, they will call the police and rat out the parents with some lies.
Kalia_Test Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 Even I have heard many such fears by my NRI friends in US that have kids
moniker Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 Looks like NRIs don't shed their Indian mentality of being fearful of the police and the fear about what the char log will think if police steps on their doorsteps. If you know that your child isn't crying due to negligence but throwing a tantrum and making unreasonable demands, why fear? The police is there to help you.
vvvslaxman Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 Would like to settle in India , preferably some small village in Kerala owning a Tea shop.
punjabi_khota Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 Even I have heard many such fears by my NRI friends in US that have kids :haha:
HippoSucks Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 Looks like NRIs don't shed their Indian mentality of being fearful of the police and the fear about what the char log will think if police steps on their doorsteps. If you know that your child isn't crying due to negligence but throwing a tantrum and making unreasonable demands' date=' why fear? The police is there to help you.[/quote'] It is obviously a hassle of having the police come up to your door and you having to explain to them why the kid was crying. But of course this isn't some common occurrence, although it can happen sometimes.
Desi Cartman Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 I'm pure again It's actually not as bad as it seems when it comes to child protective services. A colleague of mine was telling me that his son called them and complained about his parents. They actually heard him and said, we will send in local police. The cops came and told the kid to STFU and don't call them or the services even if the dad smacks him a little. Lol I guess some people have been not so lucky but then it makes it to the news. Usually the services and cops can figure out the difference between real abuse and a kid who is trying to get his parents in trouble.
dial_100 Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 ^ :cantstop: Heard this before. May be we are talking about the same kid.
kruiser Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 ^^ I have also heard of situations where kids that are old enough to understand how this works threatening parents that if their demands are not met' date=' they will call the police and rat out the parents with some lies.[/quote'] Just tell those kids that fine, if you call, you will go live with Child protection services or with a foster family.. that will straighten them up. No Kid wants to loose the home privileges..
Number Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 Don't know for good. Nothing is certain. But definitely long term. Had this in mind for quite some years, but never implemented it. :giggle: Nothing patriotic ..just for family reasons. My mom is not feeling well. Wanted to do it for quite some time, never had the guts until it was for the personal reason. :two_thumbs_up: You are from Bangalore right?
Desi Cartman Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 ^ :cantstop: Heard this before. May be we are talking about the same kid. Probably not, it happened 2 weeks ago and there is another angle that I dont want to post here.
Desi Cartman Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 And then something like this happens http://reason.com/blog/2015/06/11/11-year-old-boy-played-in-his-yard-cps-t People support parents who are victims as well, and its a big deal, these things get out in media. So yes, it does happen but considering that it also protects a lot of kids from abuse, I rather have it with changes than not to have it.
Kalia_Test Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 ^^^^ Would have been much better if the cops had asked the kid(s) then and there if they felt neglected ( subjective - parents might have genuine issues ) or more importantly if they felt they were left in danger . If not, then there is nothing there but torture to both kids and parents. Unfortunately, the law ( where any aira gaira naturam padosi can create issues in a family ) seems pathetic.
flamy Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 And then something like this happens http://reason.com/blog/2015/06/11/11-year-old-boy-played-in-his-yard-cps-t People support parents who are victims as well, and its a big deal, these things get out in media. So yes, it does happen but considering that it also protects a lot of kids from abuse, I rather have it with changes than not to have it. Total WTF. The US is a buffoonery of litigations. This comment about sums it up: In the old days, the authorities would probably have asked the neighbor, "Did you ask the kid inside to wait for his mom? Offer him some milk and cookies? But now, with a world of nannies, of White House Wookies, common sense is a vestige of the past. No one would offer to invite the child in, for fear of being accused of a crime or sued, they wouldn't offer them milk because they could be lactose intolerant and the cookie's would violate the Mooch's menu dictactes. They should be taken out and horse-whipped (metaphorically, yes, metaphorically horsewhipped as I no longer have a horse and never owned a horsewhip.) or run out of town on a rail (a metaphorical rail as a real rail is too heavy for me to lift.) :hysterical::hysterical: :facepalm: :wall:
Texan Posted June 16, 2015 Posted June 16, 2015 It's actually not as bad as it seems when it comes to child protective services. A colleague of mine was telling me that his son called them and complained about his parents. They actually heard him and said, we will send in local police. The cops came and told the kid to STFU and don't call them or the services even if the dad smacks him a little. Lol I guess some people have been not so lucky but then it makes it to the news. Usually the services and cops can figure out the difference between real abuse and a kid who is trying to get his parents in trouble. The thing is though that colleague of yours will now be in two minds whether to discipline his kids when they do something wrong and risk having police at their doorstep again or to just let go and don't do anything. 9 out of 10 times I can bet they will choose the latter.