jf1gp_1 Posted July 13, 2009 Posted July 13, 2009 lets overlook the stats and look at what the team achieved under him Joint winners of CT (we would have won had it not rained two days) Finals of WC Drew a test series in Aus - there were other big wins but these are the top 3 imo However, more than the wins its this attitude you see in todays team which was never there pre ganguly. i remember srinath bowling a bouncer to ponting, apologizing n ponting giving srinath a mouthfull to the absolute extrordinary dance by sreesanth after hitting nel for a six to an aussie beast crying over bhaji. Win at any cost, i am above everyone, self belief is gangulys legacy not some drawn series in Zim
gloryof83 Posted July 13, 2009 Posted July 13, 2009 Before Ganguly = Indian Cricket Team After Ganguly = Team India
Lord Posted July 13, 2009 Posted July 13, 2009 i'm amazed.Ganguly inherited a team ingulfed in match fixing crisis,where people started to look every bad performance with suspision,there was complete lack of belief n turned into a fearless team that looked the others into the eye,backed youngsters who now make the core of the team.as an achievement he levelled the series against Aus in Aus,broke thier 16 win streak in 2001,took us to World cup final n other achievements Ganguly will remain the best Indian captain for a long time to come.Dhoni still has a long way to go to even mattch him
Lord Posted July 13, 2009 Posted July 13, 2009 Before Ganguly = Indian Cricket Team After Ganguly = Team India well said:two_thumbs_up:
Malcolm Merlyn Posted July 13, 2009 Posted July 13, 2009 He had the guts to take on the established bullies of cricket......the aussies and others.....he gave india team the belief to win....how many players in the present team are finds of dhoni....dhoni himself was selected by ganguly..........he is a legend and some lunatic wont make it look different:yousuck:
vvvslaxman Posted July 13, 2009 Posted July 13, 2009 He had the guts to take on the established bullies of cricket......the aussies and others.....he gave india team the belief to win....how many players in the present team are finds of dhoni....dhoni himself was selected by ganguly..........he is a legend and some lunatic wont make it look different:yousuck: I beg to differ. Dhoni selected himself. He did very well in A matches despite he was a representative of a plate team. And also Ganguly was foolishly pursuing Parthiv for 19 Tests where he dropped 23 catches. Karthik was the one that was selected for Tests. Dhoni became a Test cricketer only under Dravid because of his 183 not out. Most of the players selected themselves thanks to strong under-19 or India A performance or domestic performance. Tendulkar made debut under Srikkanth.. will that make Srikkanth an exceptional captain? And let us not fail to give credit to John Wright our first foreign coach. As i said he removed the habit of depending on one or two players. Depending on Kumble, Depending on Tendulkar, Depending on Srinath. He did the best he could do with the resources available without whinging about absence of players. He made sure India work as a team. But he was not able to sustain momentum as a captain. India took series leads only to give it right back to the opposition. Also his own performance took a dip which directly affected India's chances.
patriot Posted July 13, 2009 Author Posted July 13, 2009 I beg to differ. Dhoni selected himself. He did very well in A matches despite he was a representative of a plate team. And also Ganguly was foolishly pursuing Parthiv for 19 Tests where he dropped 23 catches. Karthik was the one that was selected for Tests. Dhoni became a Test cricketer only under Dravid because of his 183 not out. Most of the players selected themselves thanks to strong under-19 or India A performance or domestic performance. Tendulkar made debut under Srikkanth.. will that make Srikkanth an exceptional captain? And let us not fail to give credit to John Wright our first foreign coach. As i said he removed the habit of depending on one or two players. Depending on Kumble, Depending on Tendulkar, Depending on Srinath. He did the best he could do with the resources available without whinging about absence of players. He made sure India work as a team. But he was not able to sustain momentum as a captain. India took series leads only to give it right back to the opposition. Also his own performance took a dip which directly affected India's chances. VVS ...man hats off to you, for continuing to hit the nail on the head. I can't understand all this ridiculous romantacizing of Ganguly's captaincy because he supposedly selected ..X and Y. Ganguly failed to lead from the front as a batsmen ( unlike Dhoni, who has been absolutely brilliant) as captain. We continued to suck in finals throught his captaincy winning nothing outright apart from the Natwest trophy. All this attitude and all ...courtesy Ganguly is also utter BS. We as a country are becoming increasingly, confident and bold in all spheres of life, and that culminates in the way we have played our cricket lately. Our new breed of fast bowlers and young smashing batsmen ..who have not even played a single game with Ganguly in the side ( let alone captain) all show incredible aggresion...what we call the NEW ,CONFIDENT, INDIA. Has Ganguly inspired all this ? Bull Shyte. Sure he deserves some credit, but not nearly as much as some guys here want to give him. No one talks about Ganguly's mysterious, cowardly injuries in the morning of the 1st day of a test on seeing green pitches ( does nagpur against Australia ring a bell ? ) . How is this supposed to effect team morale ? Or is this also some inspiring story ? I have no doubt that Dhoni has already exceeded by far..whatever Ganguly has done.
punjabi_khota Posted July 13, 2009 Posted July 13, 2009 I have no doubt that Dhoni has already exceeded by far..whatever Ganguly has done. No. Apart from NZ, we haven't even toured any country under Dhoni for tests, wtf are you on about ? Dhoni has had more success winning ODI series than Ganguly, no doubt. And I think that his major success so far. It is still too early to talk about Dhoni leading from front in the tests and better than Dada...etc etc. I am guessing Dhoni's greatness will be judged by how he leads the test team devoid of any membes of the fab 4, which is gonna happen by 2011.
patriot Posted July 13, 2009 Author Posted July 13, 2009 No. Apart from NZ, we haven't even toured any country under Dhoni for tests, wtf are you on about ? Dhoni has had more success winning ODI series than Ganguly, no doubt. And I think that his major success so far. It is still too early to talk about Dhoni leading from front in the tests and better than Dada...etc etc. I am guessing Dhoni's greatness will be judged by how he leads the test team devoid of any membes of the fab 4, which is gonna happen by 2011. Since you conceed wrt ODIS, lets talk about tests. We failed to beat even a pi$$ poor Windies in WI under Ganguly (when every other team apart from Zim did that). We could'nt even beat Zim in Zim under the great Ganguly in the 1st attempt ( we drew 1-1). We have won 5 out of the 7 matches Dhoni has captained. None of which were against minnows. We have'nt lost a single test. Dhoni's batting average as test captain is 60. 5 of Ganguly's 13 wins have been against minnows ( 13-5= 8) , 3 Zim, 2 Ban. We don't even have a 100% record against them, even at home under Ganguly. Ganguly as captain averges a pathetic 37 with the bat as a specialist batsman. You continue dodging the question about ganguly's cowardly pull out and mysterous injuries. Kya raaz hai ??kya inspiration tha ? Continue living in your lala land. You can't ignore facts.
patriot Posted July 13, 2009 Author Posted July 13, 2009 With Dravid as captain ( who is rated as a softie compared to ganguly ): We won a test series in WI and Eng after ages. We won the only test ( in Mumbai defending 100ish score ) in the 2004 home series loss against Aussies, when Ganguly developed an "injury" after the curator ( a f.cuking traitor) failed to heed Ganguly's request for a turner in nagpur and instead prepared a grassy wicket.
Guest gaurav_indian Posted July 14, 2009 Posted July 14, 2009 Ganguly failed to lead from the front as a batsmen ( unlike Dhoni, who has been absolutely brilliant) as captain. We continued to suck in finals throught his captaincy winning nothing outright apart from the Natwest trophy. All this attitude and all ...courtesy Ganguly is also utter BS. We as a country are becoming increasingly, confident and bold in all spheres of life, and that culminates in the way we have played our cricket lately. Our new breed of fast bowlers and young smashing batsmen ..who have not even played a single game with Ganguly in the side ( let alone captain) all show incredible aggresion...what we call the NEW ,CONFIDENT, INDIA. Has Ganguly inspired all this ? Bull Shyte. I have no doubt that Dhoni has already exceeded by far..whatever Ganguly has done.
chanakya Posted July 14, 2009 Posted July 14, 2009 VVS ...man hats off to you, for continuing to hit the nail on the head. I can't understand all this ridiculous romantacizing of Ganguly's captaincy because he supposedly selected ..X and Y. Ganguly failed to lead from the front as a batsmen ( unlike Dhoni, who has been absolutely brilliant) as captain. We continued to suck in finals throught his captaincy winning nothing outright apart from the Natwest trophy. All this attitude and all ...courtesy Ganguly is also utter BS. We as a country are becoming increasingly, confident and bold in all spheres of life, and that culminates in the way we have played our cricket lately. Our new breed of fast bowlers and young smashing batsmen ..who have not even played a single game with Ganguly in the side ( let alone captain) all show incredible aggresion...what we call the NEW ,CONFIDENT, INDIA. Has Ganguly inspired all this ? Bull Shyte. Sure he deserves some credit, but not nearly as much as some guys here want to give him. No one talks about Ganguly's mysterious, cowardly injuries in the morning of the 1st day of a test on seeing green pitches ( does nagpur against Australia ring a bell ? ) . How is this supposed to effect team morale ? Or is this also some inspiring story ? I have no doubt that Dhoni has already exceeded by far..whatever Ganguly has done. Name the selector who called up yuvi and told him to stay focused after being dropped. Name the selector who pushed to keep Dravid in the team in ODIs when Dravid was one of the worst batsmen in ODIs. Name the freak who backed bhajji even though no one else did. btw patriot how old are you? :D
patriot Posted July 14, 2009 Author Posted July 14, 2009 Name the selector who called up yuvi and told him to stay focused after being dropped. Name the selector who pushed to keep Dravid in the team in ODIs when Dravid was one of the worst batsmen in ODIs. Name the freak who backed bhajji even though no one else did. btw patriot how old are you? :D The decision to make Dravid keep was jointly decided by Wright and Ganguly( in Dravid's own words, see below) , but you would be want to give ganguly all the credit, right ? http://www.rediff.com/wc2003/2002/nov/12inter.htm Atleast Dravid picked up as a batter averaging nearly 40 at a strike rate of 75 in his last 100 games ( purely as a batsman). Ganguly on the other hand averaged a pathetic 35 in his last 100 games at an even pathetic strike rate of 71. Then went crying to Sharad pawar..after he got kicked out of the team...So sad he could'nt motivate himself. LOL @ ^ . yeah Ganguly the selector cum motivator. LOL. Atleast have a hang of the facts before parading your utter lack of knowledge. http://stats.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/36084.html?class=2;filter=advanced;orderby=default;template=results;type=batting Yuvi after all the Ganguly motivation averaged 30 at strike rate of 86 in 110 games under Gangu. " 44 at strike rate of 86 in 68 games against Dravid. " 42 at strike rate of a whopping 96 in 53 games under Dhoni. It's so obvious Gangu's diktat and " motivation " brought the best out Yuvi among all the captains.:--D How old am I ? Old enough to clear a few illusions of your wrt Indian cricket.
Gambit Posted July 14, 2009 Posted July 14, 2009 The team under Dhoni has been good in ODIs but to equal Ganguly's success, he has to win a CT and reach a World Cup final. Winning bilateral series' is an excellent achievement but the real prized catches in ODIs are the CT and the WC. Ganguly has reached one CT final, won a CT and reached one WC final. Let's see if Dhoni can better that.
DomainK Posted July 14, 2009 Posted July 14, 2009 Dhoni's success as a captain has been appreciable, but we will have to watch that for some more time before we can call him the greatest captain India ever produced. Ganguly inherited a broken team down on its knees battered and shattered after the match fixing controversies. What he did with the team will remain a great example in the history of the game. So, in praising Dhoni or anyone else, lets not try to belittle the achievements of a great player like Ganguly.
patriot Posted July 14, 2009 Author Posted July 14, 2009 He's already won India a World Cup. Believe me no one remembers finalists, people remember champions. And Dhoni made us World Champions. His win loss ratio in ODIS is nearly 2:1. Thats twice of what Indian teams in the past have had under various captains, where our success rate is is about 55 %.
patriot Posted July 14, 2009 Author Posted July 14, 2009 domainK, I think ,VVS posts very well convey what I am trying to put forth. Ganguly was good, but not great. Alot of it is false romantasization of what GANGULY has brought about.
patriot Posted July 14, 2009 Author Posted July 14, 2009 Also ..as VVS once agan pointed out, folks are giving all the credit to Ganguly..but forgetting John Wright, who was made the coach after the match fixing controversy in 2000.