Clarke Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 KARACHI: Former test captain Waqar Younis accepted an offer from the Pakistan Cricket Board to take over as national team coach on Saturday, a day after the PCB had offered him the position. “I have received a proper offer from the Pakistan board and I am ready to take on this challenge,” Waqar told Reuters from Sydney, where he is based with his family. Waqar who played 87 tests and 262 one-day internationals between 1989 and 2003 said the PCB had given him a contract that runs through the 2011 World Cup. “That is fine with me. I see this job as a big challenge as Pakistan cricket has great talent and potential to deliver top results against all teams,” Waqar said. Waqar will replace another former skipper Intikhab Alam, who has been released as head coach despite having a two-year contract with the board that ends this November. Since 1995, the board has changed the coach at least 14 times with former England player Bob Woolmer enjoying the longest stint from 2004-07 until his sudden death during the last World Cup in the West Indies. PCB chairman Ijaz Butt also told a news conference on Friday that they would be looking at appointing foreign consultants on a series-to-series basis when required. Waqar, who was a bowling coach with the national side from 2006-07, said he had no issues working with foreign consultants and would return to Pakistan soon to finalise his agreement with the board. http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/cricket/08-waqar-younis-appointed-pakistan-coach-until-world-cup-ts-02 ======================= I was hoping Chappell would be the one ( Anyways good 4 the neighbors, they have a former gr8 phaasst bowler as their coach. Please ignore his bowling/fielding coaching in Australia :two_thumbs_up:
Ultimate_Game Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 Greg Chappell would have been an ideal coach for those guys and his philosophy of "divide and rule" would have been a perfect fit for the pakistani politics :giggle: But waqar could yet turn out to be a masterpiece if he has an obsession with phaaast meat eating bowlers and bits & pieces sloggers like any other paki :--D
Guest BossBhai Posted February 28, 2010 Posted February 28, 2010 -- Removed on request of the user --
vvvslaxman Posted February 28, 2010 Posted February 28, 2010 He will "kireate" a room for team fights
patriot Posted February 28, 2010 Posted February 28, 2010 Pakistanis need Waqar as coach. This is not the way to tamper. Waqar will teach these donkeys more discrete methods. Mashallah.
Deleted_User_1 Posted February 28, 2010 Posted February 28, 2010 Yup, a cheat as head of a team of cheaters..........match made in heaven
Celeste Posted February 28, 2010 Posted February 28, 2010 Yup' date=' a cheat as head of a team of cheaters..........match made in heaven[/quote'] sour grapes
Clarke Posted February 28, 2010 Author Posted February 28, 2010 sour grapes grapes .. balls .. w/e btw Mr. Ahmedinejad, we had Mr. Netanyahu earlier on this site, if u guys could resolve ur differences here, the planet we share would be spared from being a nuclear ash-tray.
Gunner_Mania Posted February 28, 2010 Posted February 28, 2010 Waqar Younis offered Pakistan coaching job / Miandad opposes Waqar's appointment as coach Waqar Younis has been offered a contract by the PCB to coach the Pakistan side until December 2011. The former fast bowler, in Sydney currently, received the contract yesterday and is expected to sign it and send it back over the next few days, in the process becoming Pakistan's fourth coach in three years. The PCB finally confirmed that they had made an offer to Waqar to coach the side. "I would like Waqar to join the Pakistan team," Ijaz Butt, chairman PCB, said at a press conference. "We are awaiting a reply as we have offered him to take over as our head coach." It is believed that Waqar has some concerns over the contract that has been sent and will raise a couple of points with the board. There is likely to be further negotiation over the financial package and Waqar is also keen to have a clause which allows him to take stock of his role after the 2011 World Cup, a buffer of sorts against what is a generally a period of considerable administrative turbulence. Some of the targets set in the contract, about what the team needs to be achieving in that timescale might also be re-calibrated. None of them, however, are thought to be significant enough to derail his desire to be coach. Waqar will likely be working alongside former team-mate Ijaz Ahmed, who will be, according to Butt, the fielding coach for the side. Ijaz was in charge of the recent Under-19 Pakistan side that finished runners-up at the World Cup in New Zealand; as one of the best Pakistan fielders of his time he is expected to improve the lot of what must be among the world's poorest fielding sides. Ijaz was with the side in Dubai as a batting and fielding trainer for the two Twenty20 internationals against England. The PCB has also spoken about their plans to engage foreign coaches for consultancy stints as and when needed on Pakistan's tours, of which there will be a few given that they are not playing at home for some time. The idea sits well with Waqar. "I think that is good thinking and I would be happy with anything that works to better and improve the state of the national side," Waqar told Cricinfo. Remarkably there is still no official announcement on the fate of Intikhab Alam, the man Waqar is replacing. Intikhab still has time to run on his contract; he was appointed for two years in October 2008. The board initially said that a decision would be taken on the coaching set-up only after an inquiry committee analyzing the Australia tour completed its work and made its recommendations. But they seem to have pre-empted themselves by contacting and now offering the position, without having - publicly at least - decided on the fate of Intikhab. http://www.cricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/450178.html Lahore: The Pakistan Cricket Board seems divided on making Waqar Younis the national team's coach and Director General Javed Miandad has opposed the former pacer's appointment, citing his involvement in the match-fixing scandal. Miandad said he is surprised that the PCB had not heeded to the Justice Malik Qayyum's report on match fixing issued 10 years ago and was giving responsibilities to those players who were fined on the basis of the report. "Everyone knows that Justice Qayyum had recommended to the board to not give positions of responsibility to Waqar, Aaqib Javed, Wasim Akram etc in Pakistan cricket but this is what is happening," he said. "I don't see the logic behind offering Waqar the coaching position because he was with the team in Australia as bowling and fielding coach and didn't do anything notable. Plus he has not prior experience of being a full-time coach," Miandad said. Miandad said he was also surprised at the plans to have a foreign consultant with the team. "I have offered my services to the board to work as batting consultant and I am an employee of the board which is constantly saying it is facing financial problems so why waste money on a foreign consultant?" he asked. The former Pakistan skipper was also not happy with the 30 probables announced for the Twenty20 World Cup and pointed out that it was useless to give chances to players like Imran Farhat or Imran Nazir. http://cricketnext.in.com/news/miandad-opposes-waqars-appointment-as-coach/47203-13.html The next comedy in town begins. Even before confirmation of Waqar as coach, the knives are out.:haha::haha::haha::haha:
Karan114 Posted February 28, 2010 Posted February 28, 2010 Haha, poyzzz cricket is well and truly a circus
King Posted February 28, 2010 Posted February 28, 2010 I do believe Miandad is right here. If Waqar has been implicated with match fixing and has been clearly told not to be given coaching responsibilities PCB should stay clear of appointing him. If there are a few close games not going Pakistan's way Waqar will be cited even if he's clean. I don't see any reason why Ejaz Ahmed be appointed the head coach.. he's a non controversial player, not a bad player in his days and will not have an ego of a superstar player. I'm quite sure the players will heed to him more than Waqar. Waqar led a revolt against Wasim Akram and made Wasim's life bloody difficult. What's he going to say to his boys when they go his way? PCB is committing a huge mistake by appointing someone like Waqar. He should be used in the capacity of fast bowling coach and Saqlain as spin bowling coach.
patriot Posted March 1, 2010 Posted March 1, 2010 Miandad: Pakistan Coach must be batting expert as well . http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=99705 Expert on batting, bowling should be made coach: Miandad Updated at: 2000 PST, Sunday, February 28, 2010 KARACHI: Director-general Pakistan Cricket Board Javed Miandad said that such person should be appointed coach of the national cricket team who holds command in both departments of the game – batting and bowling. However, he avoided to make any direct comment on the appointment of Waqar Younis as coach of the Pakistan team. Talking with media here on Sunday, Javed Miandad refused to make any comment on the controversies of match-fixing. When asked about coaching offer to Waqar Younis, he said that this is not in his jurisdiction to talk on this matter but in his opinion, such person should be made the coach who can focus on both batting and bowling. Kaam shuru nahi hua abhi toh aur Mian Miandad Waqar Younis ke pet pe laat mar raha hai. Miandad saheb if you are hinting at yourself, may I ask whats your bowling expertise ? :D
DomainK Posted March 1, 2010 Posted March 1, 2010 betting expert more like. :haha::haha::haha::haha::haha::haha: They are still publicly fighting. Dont they ever feel bad?
Watson87 Posted March 1, 2010 Posted March 1, 2010 I do believe Miandad is right here. If Waqar has been implicated with match fixing and has been clearly told not to be given coaching responsibilities PCB should stay clear of appointing him. If there are a few close games not going Pakistan's way Waqar will be cited even if he's clean. I don't see any reason why Ejaz Ahmed be appointed the head coach.. he's a non controversial player, not a bad player in his days and will not have an ego of a superstar player. I'm quite sure the players will heed to him more than Waqar. Waqar led a revolt against Wasim Akram and made Wasim's life bloody difficult. What's he going to say to his boys when they go his way? PCB is committing a huge mistake by appointing someone like Waqar. He should be used in the capacity of fast bowling coach and Saqlain as spin bowling coach. When was that Paaji? Guess I wasn't born, can anyone tell me the whole stroy:pray:
vvvslaxman Posted March 1, 2010 Posted March 1, 2010 Please give some coaching post to Miandad . Atleast abdomen guard coach if not anything else. d.