urbestfriend Posted March 27, 2010 Posted March 27, 2010 Anyway Indian players will be dead tired at the end of IPL and perform poorly against the fresh legs from other countries. I have no hopes of us winning this Worldcup
jusarrived Posted March 27, 2010 Posted March 27, 2010 Umm' date=' my point is that you can have either x or y or z in the team but unless the a, b, c, d, and e deliver, it won't matter a fig.[/quote'] to win a tournament like wc , you just dont need a , b , c ,d & e but also your x , y or z to perform .
Gunner_Mania Posted March 27, 2010 Posted March 27, 2010 :dito: Isn't that what happened in last world cup also and even after Gary Kirsten pointed it out, the board has still done the same thing.
zen Posted March 27, 2010 Posted March 27, 2010 Looking back at the squad, a line up like the one below isn't bad either: - Sehwag - GG - Karthik - YP - Dhoni - Yuvi - Raina - Jadeja - Zak - Vinay - PK These way we are batting till #11. The top order has guys who are good against both pace and spin. Then we have power hitters coming in. The lower order is useful too For bowling, we need 3 pacers so hopefully Zak, PK and Vinay (/Nehra) will do a decent job. For spin, Jadeja, YP, Sehwag, Raina and UV can take the responsibility to bowl 8 overs amongst them. If a need for another specialist spinner (besides Jadeja) is felt then Bhajji/Chawla can come in for one of the batsmen. Ideally I would have liked to play additional specialist spinner but I don't know how effective Bhajji/Chawla would be over YP/Sehwag/Raina/UV
someone Posted March 28, 2010 Posted March 28, 2010 I cannot believe we all are discussing about IP, RU, MP but we have forgotten one player who really have done consistently well in t20. I think they did not deserve to be in the squad as explained b4 in the topic. But what about this player? Murali Kartik. Although, two sla would not be the best idea, but he also deserves some praise. Also I am not sure about Jadaja and kartik on whom is better. Guess only time will tell.
Ram Posted March 28, 2010 Posted March 28, 2010 Reasonable picks, but we should have picked Manish Pandey instead of Gambhir, Murali Karthik instead of Chawla, Irfan ahead of Nehra and someone else (Kohli, Uthappa) instead of Rohit. And guys like Gambhir, Bhajji and (maybe) Yuvraj should take Sachin's lead and slowly distance themselves from the international T20 game. Vinay deserves a spot for the sheer commitment and hardwork he has put in during the last 2 FC seasons. The weird part is, this is essentially the same batting order that lost us the previous T20 WC and yet they have retained it without making a single change, which is quite bizzare. We need some young, fresh blood like Pandey to infuse some life into our flagging batting line-up in T20.
vvvslaxman Posted March 28, 2010 Posted March 28, 2010 Are you disputing that Dhoni, Yuvi, Raina, Yusuf, Sehwag and Gambhir are some of the fiercest hitters of a cricket ball in the game today? Please don't reply further if you cannot comprehend the simple point that these are the players who'll make or break the game for India. Having another hitter in Uthappa instead of Rohit makes ZERO difference to our chances in the World Cup. Biggest hitters on paper. You are only considering their peak ability and making your case. Are they really at their peak? I don't think so.
zen Posted March 29, 2010 Posted March 29, 2010 Indian players who have won the game on their own or played a major part in victory in IPL (from the top of my head) - YP (batting, bowling and fielding) - N Ojha (RR) - S Trivedi (some superb tight bowling) - PK (hat-trick) - Vinay (that spell against MI) - Tiwary and Rayydu - Tiwari (KKR) - Uthappa - Bhajji - Tendulkar - GG - Dhoni (against KKR)
Roshanrocks Posted March 29, 2010 Posted March 29, 2010 raina also played well in the lost match vs mumbai, rohit sharma against mumbai again.... sehwag in the begining of the tournament
virufan Posted March 30, 2010 Posted March 30, 2010 Srikanth ki maa ki **** Vinay Kumar? Another 120 k trundler :wall: and what is Rohit Sharma doing there ahead of Uthappa and Pandey? And no Irfan haha we deserve to lose with such a **** team. Ashish Nehra isnt fit still they pick him. They are not going to learn they never will. Bunch of morons. Vinay and Praveen kumar have similar pace- high 120s and low 130s. So if Praveen is successful, even Vinay can be. He has done well in IPL. Let us give a chance and see. Don't expect 140s and 150 k/hr from Indian bowler. We have to make best use of what is available.
virufan Posted March 30, 2010 Posted March 30, 2010 Indian players who have won the game on their own or played a major part in victory in IPL (from the top of my head) - YP (batting, bowling and fielding) - N Ojha (RR) - S Trivedi (some superb tight bowling) - PK (hat-trick) - Vinay (that spell against MI) - Tiwary and Rayydu - Tiwari (KKR) - Uthappa - Bhajji - Tendulkar - GG - Dhoni (against KKR) Viru hit 70 odd runs in each of the 2 matches that he won for DD.
diegovegaz Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 dhoni's captaincy was our trump card in 2007 the last few series, it has been deteriorating many folds his feild positions, and the way he uses his 'resources' are non-understandable also, he seems stubborn now he has a few favourites, and is adamant on including them in the eleven, despite how they perform he's not shown any confidence in the new faces, which ultimately get dropped without being tried his captaincy, this time around, would be a major factor, given the pathetic work done by the selectors
vvvslaxman Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 dhoni's captaincy was our trump card in 2007 the last few series, it has been deteriorating many folds his feild positions, and the way he uses his 'resources' are non-understandable also, he seems stubborn now he has a few favourites, and is adamant on including them in the eleven, despite how they perform he's not shown any confidence in the new faces, which ultimately get dropped without being tried his captaincy, this time around, would be a major factor, given the pathetic work done by the selectors That has been his problem for a while. He just refuses to be flexible. In IPL you can lose all you want before effecting changes. In T20 cup one bad move send you out of the tournament. Frankly i have lost confidence in India defending any total these days not just because of his bowling but also his captaincy.
Roshanrocks Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 :D one thing i still havent found out....\ ye Joginder sharma me aisi kya baat hai ki dhoni baar baar use khilatha hai? csk for now
Pak_Forever Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 Sachin is in form of his life. I recon he could have made a big difference.
King Tendulkar Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 Sachin is in form of his life. I recon he could have made a big difference. He has been in the form of his life for 20 years now:--D
diegovegaz Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 That has been his problem for a while. He just refuses to be flexible. In IPL you can lose all you want before effecting changes. In T20 cup one bad move send you out of the tournament. Frankly i have lost confidence in India defending any total these days not just because of his bowling but also his captaincy. yes he was once praised for thinking out of the box, doing things differently but now it seems that he acts out of the plot, not doing the basics at all
someone Posted April 2, 2010 Posted April 2, 2010 dhoni's captaincy was our trump card in 2007 the last few series, it has been deteriorating many folds his feild positions, and the way he uses his 'resources' are non-understandable also, he seems stubborn now he has a few favourites, and is adamant on including them in the eleven, despite how they perform he's not shown any confidence in the new faces, which ultimately get dropped without being tried his captaincy, this time around, would be a major factor, given the pathetic work done by the selectors I do not agree with this, first we were meant to lose 07 world cup, we just managed to win through luck on misbah. If we had lose that match, we would have said that we lost cuz of dhoni bad captaincy. After all it was dhoni stubbornness which included jorhinder sharma in the finals who had played terribly b4 that. Dhoni captaincy has not changed just that we lost some matches thus we are notice his captaincy characteristics more. Next, the selectors have done an excellent job in selection as they have to select a players for a team , Plesae explain why u disagree
diegovegaz Posted April 3, 2010 Posted April 3, 2010 I do not agree with this, first we were meant to lose 07 world cup, we just managed to win through luck on misbah. If we had lose that match, we would have said that we lost cuz of dhoni bad captaincy. After all it was dhoni stubbornness which included jorhinder sharma in the finals who had played terribly b4 that. Dhoni captaincy has not changed just that we lost some matches thus we are notice his captaincy characteristics more. Next, the selectors have done an excellent job in selection as they have to select a players for a team , Plesae explain why u disagree ajit agarkar was included in our first few games, and was hammered around joginder sharma was the other medium pacer on bench he did comparatively well, kept it simple in fact performed magnificently against AUS in the semis talking about dhoni, he has been making strange decisions on the feild, and his rotation of bowlers has been pathetic sometimes, it seems he has no clue whien to use which bowler :hysterical:the selectors:haha::haha: if their policy is to pick players out of form, or the ones who cannot deliver at the international stage, they definately have done an excellent job