New Zealand TV Host Paul Henry Made Fun Of Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit

all of you dickshits that are getting offended need to stop getting angry and take a look at this situation properly people in the west will always find foreign names funny. thats because they sound funny. are u telling me u dont chuckle when you read out the delhi minister's name? come on... i dont think u can blame them for that. do they intend to be racist? no, they just find the name funny. the same thing happens to chinese ppl too. some asians have the right idea and they understand this for what it is. thats why its common to see asian ppl keeping their native names and also using an english name. indians get english nicknames too. i think u dickshit indian ppl living abroad need to start doing the same. stop introducing yourselves as akshit and hardik and mrityanandarajan and get yourselves some real names.
:confused_smile: Blending in is boring. Integrate with the society you are living in, sure, but don't lose your identity. Bush is a funny name. p.s. wish my name was smth like mridungamutyam :woot:
well' date=' in that case there is a FB page for ppl who disagree on his suspension but yoda, my point was if the country was so bad then it wouldn't allow immigration or let an Indian become a governor. I know we all generalize, its outta habit but we would also feel the same if someone generalized Indians if someone did something wrong Actually, we might defend it by blaming the region[/quote'] I don't know how bad the country is, I am commenting based on the user comments which makes them look pretty bad IMO, but ofc they or anyone else here could care less about my opinion. :giggle: Regarding them electing him, it just means they hated whoever was on the other side even more. May be he was an Asian for all we know or policies of the other side made them vote for the guy of Indian origin. Anyways, it is irrelevant to the discussion here. This guys is racist and there are many people who are condoning his actions and they are racists too. Ofc it doesn't mean the entire country is racist.

That name can be changed, bearing in mind its pronounced DIXIT right? No faarener is going to know that. Should just change it to Dixit so it pronounced right. Its the hindi/sanskrit manner of writing/pronouncing that is important anyway and the english spelling should reflect that

As someone pointed out in another thread, Indian's will go pay money to see Russell Peters mock Indians and Indian names but the second someone who is white does it all hell breaks loose. Take it easy people

Black dude to another black dude - wadup n!gga ---> :two_thumbs_up: White dude to black dude - wadup n!gga ---> :nervous: just sayin :winky:
He goes generalizing the whole people based on what this one reporter said: Bigoted Indeed. Their governer general is of Indian descent :laugh:
dude u quoted rajiv. u and i or on the same page :dontknow:

Indians have to stop being so sensitive; who is this Paul Henry ? he can ridicule Indian names or hate Indians as much as he wants who cares ? i was shocked to hear Indian foreign minister complaining about this to NZ govt. What next we start taking bloggers to court ? why do we have this urge to be liked/respected by white world ? I am willing to bet anything; in a few months this henry will be offered a hindi movie or show up as a participant in some reality show

Although this guys comment is nothing to take to court, but very delighted to see some Indians are very easy abt it..but strangely enough throw knives when their own region is attacked lets see, good to save this thread, will come in handy

all of you dickshits that are getting offended need to stop getting angry and take a look at this situation properly people in the west will always find foreign names funny. thats because they sound funny. are u telling me u dont chuckle when you read out the delhi minister's name? come on... i dont think u can blame them for that. do they intend to be racist? no, they just find the name funny. the same thing happens to chinese ppl too. some asians have the right idea and they understand this for what it is. thats why its common to see asian ppl keeping their native names and also using an english name. indians get english nicknames too. i think u dickshit indian ppl living abroad need to start doing the same. stop introducing yourselves as akshit and hardik and mrityanandarajan and get yourselves some real names.
You missed the point. Finding the name funny is fine. But he followed it up with, she is an Indian so she must be the same
If you are Indian living abroad and are not offended by this & ignore it as if it's 'simply funny' then chances are some of you are called this on a daily basis and don't find it offensive at all :winky:
well said Under bhai Anyone with a backbone shouldn't take this lightly. Once you start accepting racism as part of life...you have lost your identity....we usually apply this "chalta hai" attitude to everything before it's too late...we have to stand up as a community and have one unified response to this
Guest Gunner

From what I have read about this guy, he does this all the time so he wasn't particularly targeting Indians or anything like that. The fellow making fun of her name was not an issue, his follow up statement "she is Indian therfore it suits her" is where the trouble lies. In his mind he has a highly insulting image about India. Whether India is good or bad we aren't going to allow some ******* on TV to make fun of our country thats for sure. Btw, he ran into the wrong guy when he made fun of Sir Anand Satyanand the Governor General of New Zealand, he had to issue a public apology to him and he was suspended from his job for two weeks. Now with this incident I think his fate is sealed. I really don't think he is a representative or spokesperson for the entire population of NZ and therefore this nonsense should be seen in isolation. A few years ago my boss was a New Zealander and quite honestly he was a superb guy to work with and I have also had friends from NZ over the years and I have never heard of such nasty beahviour or speech from any of them. Isolated case, insulting yes.

Good post. BTW, did you read the reader's comments in that article about the Governor General? That's what pissed me off more than this ahole's comments. Many of them seem to think he was just mis-informed about the the governor general and didn't know that he was born here and hence should have been given a free pass. Are they really that dumb or think others are?
Guest Gunner
Good post. BTW' date=' did you read the reader's comments in that article about the Governor General? That's what pissed me off more than this ahole's comments. Many of them seem to think he was just mis-informed about the the governor general and didn't know that he was born here and hence should have been given a free pass. Are they really that dumb or think others are?[/quote'] Yoda, you have to understand something about where these people are coming from. Small countries with tiny populations don't have the same standards related to racism, drawing the line on certain jokes etc. Come to Europe and I will show you plenty of small countries where people will say silly things and just laugh it off. It doesn't mean that they are racist or agree with racism, it just means that their standard of what constitutes racism is different. Further people from small countries also tend to be easy going about such jokes, for the NZers from what I read in the comments section this guy is their greatest source of morning prime time entertainment, what can you say? I mean its kind of like comparing a guy from chennai with a guy from Kothagiri. Small town people just tend to be more laid back about these things and will certainly not react like a US/UK about this. A general clarification on Sir Anand Satyanand, he is very much a New Zealander, his father is Indo-fijian and mother Anglo-Indian, he was born in New Zealand. He is also married to a New zealander for the last 40 years. The guy was just ill informed and very stupid.