Switchblade Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 COLOMBO: In their bid to avoid intimidating Indian crowds in Ahmedabad and Mohali, venues of the quarterfinal and semifinal matches, Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi appealed to his teammates to give their best so that they top Group A and play their knock-out World Cup matches in Sri Lanka. Pakistan, champions in 1992, have made a good start in the tournament with two comprehensive wins against Kenya and tournament favourites Sri Lanka. Afridi wants his team to carry on their winning run as it will give them the much-needed confidence for the knock-out rounds. He also knows that it is also important for them to avoid playing in India before the final in Mumbai. "I want to play in India, but not before the final," he said. "The biggest reward for us if we topped our group is that we will get to play our quarterfinals here or in Dhaka. It is good for us either way. I want to play our quarterfinal in Sri Lanka or Bangladesh because we are completely used to the conditions and in neutral games we would even get the crowd support. But in India it is going to be a different story." Afridi, who turned 31st here Tuesday, said that in Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, Pakistan will have the 'home advantage' as they won't be pitted against the home team. Afridi said his boys were working really hard to give their best in the tournament. "The players are training with a lot of intensity," he said. "It's very important for us that we do well in the World Cup and win it for our country." Pakistan lost to India in the quarterfinal of the 1996 World Cup which was played in a highly charged atmosphere in Bangalore. Pakistan last toured India in 2007-08, before bilateral relations touched an all time low after the 26/11 attack on Mumbai by Pakistani terrorists. Extremist groups in India have even threatened to disrupt World Cup matches involving Pakistan. Pakistan were slated to play all their matches at home, but after they were stripped of their status as co-hosts, the International Cricket Council (ICC) assigned their group matches to Sri Lanka to avoid any possible backlash in India. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/cricket-world-cup-2011/news/Pakistan-trying-their-best-to-avoid-playing-in-India/articleshow/7611164.cms
NareshK Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Pakistan were slated to play all their matches at home, but after they were stripped of their status as co-hosts, the International Cricket Council (ICC) assigned their group matches to Sri Lanka to avoid any possible backlash in India. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/cricket-world-cup-2011/news/Pakistan-trying-their-best-to-avoid-playing-in-India/articleshow/7611164.cms What the hell ? Pakistan were stripped of the WC matches because nobody would go there after the terror attack on the Sri Lankan team in Lahore. What does that have to do with India ? Was the reporter high when he wrote this ?
satyam1729 Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 No, BCCI did not host any Pakistan match because SL get no money from hosting Pak match. All money goes to PCB.
shrapnel Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 COLOMBO: In their bid to avoid intimidating Indian crowds in Ahmedabad and Mohali, venues of the quarterfinal and semifinal matches, Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi appealed to his teammates to give their best so that they top Group A and play their knock-out World Cup matches in Sri Lanka. Pakistan, champions in 1992, have made a good start in the tournament with two comprehensive wins against Kenya and tournament favourites Sri Lanka. Afridi wants his team to carry on their winning run as it will give them the much-needed confidence for the knock-out rounds. He also knows that it is also important for them to avoid playing in India before the final in Mumbai. "I want to play in India, but not before the final," he said. "The biggest reward for us if we topped our group is that we will get to play our quarterfinals here or in Dhaka. It is good for us either way. I want to play our quarterfinal in Sri Lanka or Bangladesh because we are completely used to the conditions and in neutral games we would even get the crowd support. But in India it is going to be a different story." Afridi, who turned 31st here Tuesday, said that in Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, Pakistan will have the 'home advantage' as they won't be pitted against the home team. Afridi said his boys were working really hard to give their best in the tournament. "The players are training with a lot of intensity," he said. "It's very important for us that we do well in the World Cup and win it for our country." Pakistan lost to India in the quarterfinal of the 1996 World Cup which was played in a highly charged atmosphere in Bangalore. Pakistan last toured India in 2007-08, before bilateral relations touched an all time low after the 26/11 attack on Mumbai by Pakistani terrorists. Extremist groups in India have even threatened to disrupt World Cup matches involving Pakistan. Pakistan were slated to play all their matches at home, but after they were stripped of their status as co-hosts, the International Cricket Council (ICC) assigned their group matches to Sri Lanka to avoid any possible backlash in India. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/cricket-world-cup-2011/news/Pakistan-trying-their-best-to-avoid-playing-in-India/articleshow/7611164.cms I read today on TOI website that Indian Team is taking it easy and relaxing in their hotel... they must be tired, poor fellows, after their superb performance in the field the other day:giggle: Also, its a FACT that Shiv Sena Supremo Bal Thackeray has stated that he would not allow Pakistan to play in Mumbai.
satyam1729 Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 I read today on TOI website that Indian Team is taking it easy and relaxing in their hotel... they must be tired, poor fellows, after their superb performance in the field the other day:giggle: Also, its a FACT that Shiv Sena Supremo Bal Thackeray has stated that he would not allow Pakistan to play in Mumbai. For that Pakistan has to reach final :haha::haha: They are relaxing because their other match is against Ireland. :hysterical:
Gotham Cronie Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Not sure what the story is here. Of course Pakistan would want to top their group so that they can play BAN/WI.
Gotham Cronie Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 I read today on TOI website that Indian Team is taking it easy and relaxing in their hotel... they must be tired, poor fellows, after their superb performance in the field the other day:giggle: Also, its a FACT that Shiv Sena Supremo Bal Thackeray has stated that he would not allow Pakistan to play in Mumbai. Is it a FACT? source?
zen Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Every team has its strategy and wants to do what it is more comfortable doing I hope that Pak doesn't become too focused on avoiding playing in Ind as it could put more pressure on their players too perform. We all know that Pak is mostly good when there is less pressure on them .... By making all these statements, including warning other sides, Afridi is probably putting his lads under pressure
ganeshran Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Its understandable. Who would want to play against an unfriendly crowd?
shrapnel Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Is it a FACT? source? Read it on the TOI website a week or so ago....can't be bothered to post the link. Do a google search mate, if you doubt it.
achilles Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 I doubt it. Its all about interpreting the statement. The reporter has interpreted it wrong.
Cricket_Guru Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Thakrey is better than Kayani. in what sense...
ganeshran Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Thackeray did say that a decision has not been taken whether to oppose the match. He did not say that Pakistan wont be allowed to play. Even if he says that, No one in India takes Thackeray seriously, neither does he have any substantial power in Maharashatra. the real Maratha strongman is Sharad Pawar who is now the ICC chairman and it will be a personal insult to him if the match has to be shifted,
Cricket_Guru Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Thackeray did say that a decision has not been taken whether to oppose the match. He did not say that Pakistan wont be allowed to play. Even if he says that, No one in India takes Thackeray seriously, neither does he have any substantial power in Maharashatra. the real Maratha strongman is Sharad Pawar who is now the ICC chairman and it will be a personal insult to him if the match has to be shifted, chalo, ye bhi theek hai :afridi
Gotham Cronie Posted March 2, 2011 Posted March 2, 2011 Read it on the TOI website a week or so ago....can't be bothered to post the link. Do a google search mate, if you doubt it. I did and I found two articles. One saying that a decision has not been made yet. The other a few days later saying that they will be allowed to play. Also, its a FACT that Shiv Sena Supremo Bal Thackeray has stated that he would not allow Pakistan to play in Mumbai. :hmmm:
Switchblade Posted March 4, 2011 Author Posted March 4, 2011 Pakistan should not play quarters in India: Akram KARACHI: Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi is right in saying that the team should top the group to avoid playing its quarterfinal match in India, feels former skipper Wasim Akram. "I agree with what Afridi and coach Waqar Younis have said that they would not like to play their quarterfinal in India," Wasim said from Colombo. The former fast bowling great pointed out that it would be better for Pakistan to play their quarterfinal in Sri Lanka or then in Bangladesh. "In these two countries Pakistan will get a lot of support and many Pakistani supporters will find it easier to reach these countries to back their team compared to India," Wasim said. He said there was always extra pressure playing in India for Pakistani players and that is why they were looking at remaining in Sri Lanka for their quarterfinal. "But I don't think it will be a problem playing their semifinal or final in India because by that time the team would have played a knockout match and would be over their nerves," he added. Wasim also advised the Pakistan team to avoid giving too many statements in the media. "I think their main focus should be on cricket you don't need to discuss everything in the media. There should be an element of secrecy about which team you are playing or if any player is unfit. No need to discuss everything in the press," he said. Pakistan's former captain Imran Khan also backed the policy of players giving minimum statements in the press. "It also depends on who is speaking because when you come into the media you must be able to express your thoughts clearly many times I have seen that cricketers have landed up in trouble because what they wanted to say and what they eventually said was not the same thing," Imran stated. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/cricket-world-cup-2011/news/Pakistan-should-not-play-quarters-in-India-Akram/articleshow/7619247.cms
Switchblade Posted March 4, 2011 Author Posted March 4, 2011 do they lack self beleif that if by chance they come and play the q.f here that they,l end up packing their bags back to home:giggle:
Lord Posted March 4, 2011 Posted March 4, 2011 somebody tell him that Pakistan hasnt reached Q/Fs yet