Ustad Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 Tomorrow is the big day, look forward to good game of cricket. If we win or lose lets keep thing civilized! (This also to the indian guys PUMP THIS ALL DAY! [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KTeQK0KjwZA]YouTube - Pakistan National Anthem [ROCK REMIX!] **NEW AUGUST 2009**[/ame]
Pak_Fan_4_Eva Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 I've never crossed the line. So be assured I won't do it tomorrow as well, God willing
straight.drive Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 Best of luck to all the pakistani ICF'ers(because you need it :winky:)
koc12hi Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 Thanks a lot for this outstanding sharing Its really amazing and superb work done
zen Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 IMO, Ind vs Pak cricket rivalry is not the same as it was before. Earlier the two nations were similar in many aspects but in the last decade or so, Ind as a nation has gone on to a different (higher) level. While Pakistan has been constantly fighting withing itself, foreign debt issues and so on. Let's face it, the main reason why Indians see Pakistan as a rival is because of Kashmir issue and the proxy war Pak carries out against India. But even on this front, Ind knows there is nothing much Pakistan can do. India knows it is a much better and stronger nation. , When you take the overall strength and position of the nations out of the equation, the best way to maintain cricket rivalry is if Pakistan has a stronger cricket team than India's. In this way, there is something for Indian fans to look forward to the game. Whatever rivalry there is now, mainly stems from the fact that many in India wants to make fun of the situation Pakistan is in, while many in Pakistan wants to show that they are not as bad as what India perceives or show that India is equally bad. This is the transitional phase where both sides have learned abt India's superiority and while India is trying to boast abt it, Pak is trying to stay in the game by portraying it is not that far behind. Pakistan did have a stronger cricket team in the 90s but that's no longer the case too. The next stage would be when it will be difficult for Pakistan to even compete based on mere words. And that would mark the end of this rivalry. To prolong whatever little is left of this rivalry, it is imp for Pak to win the game. Which is why winning tomorrow's game is so important for Pakistan as a loss will only break the delusions many have abt Pakistan and in a way speed up the process where it would be difficult to even compete based on the words. And if Pakistan loses badly, it will only make situation worse. While a win could only delay the inevitable. In either case, the rivalry will end if Pak doesn't manage to come up with a much stronger cricket team than India's. Sports is probably the only area where Pak as a nation can compete with India as a nation. Which is why the rivalry is more imp to Pakistan. For Ind, it a semi-final which they need to win in order to win the cup. That it is playing Pakistan only adds some excitement to it (if only a little). For how long the Ind-Pak match excitement lasts depends upon how long Pak is able to compete. As I said, a Pakistani loss (esp. a big one) will only speed up the process to end this rivalry. A Pak win, on the other hand, will give this rivalry some oxygen to last a little longer. But to maintain this, Pak will have to come up with a much stronger cricket team in future, otherwise the only area in which they can hope to compete with India will be gone too :winky:
Rajiv Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 ^^ Nicely said Rett At the end of the day, its just hundred overs of bat/ball with bragging rights, youtube bravado and forum chest-thumping
someone Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 IMO' date=' Ind vs Pak cricket rivalry is not the same as it was before. [/quote'] Have to totally disagree with that. In terms of cricket, both teams of very competitive. You can come up with your own theories but that cannot replace the history, passion between both supporters. A bit like football, you cannot replace Real Madrid vs Barcelona, Liverpool vs Manchester United. India and Pakistan will be long time rivals for each other
Sir_Afridi Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 Have to totally disagree with that. In terms of cricket, both teams of very competitive. You can come up with your own theories but that cannot replace the history, passion between both supporters. A bit like football, you cannot replace Real Madrid vs Barcelona, Liverpool vs Manchester United. India and Pakistan will be long time rivals for each other You are right. Ind/Pak pre match talk thread is almost as big a Ind/Aus and Ind/SA match thread. Some people just want to live in denial. Wy didnt Aussie or Saffer PM invited to ther match against India??:hmmm:
Clarke Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 The game is being hyped up to absurd proportions. One lakh crores of betting, tickets worth Rs. One lakh, thousand VIPs, moronic articles in the media and what not. I wonder if Jesus Christ himself came back as per the prophecy, he'd garner this much attention. You are right. Ind/Pak pre match talk thread is almost as big a Ind/Aus and Ind/SA match thread. Some people just want to live in denial. Wy didnt Aussie or Saffer PM invited to ther match against India??:hmmm: duh, there's no peace process required with SA/Oz :wall:
ravishingravi Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 IMO, Ind vs Pak cricket rivalry is not the same as it was before. Earlier the two nations were similar in many aspects but in the last decade or so, Ind as a nation has gone on to a different (higher) level. While Pakistan has been constantly fighting withing itself, foreign debt issues and so on. Let's face it, the main reason why Indians see Pakistan as a rival is because of Kashmir issue and the proxy war Pak carries out against India. But even on this front, Ind knows there is nothing much Pakistan can do. India knows it is a much better and stronger nation. , When you take the overall strength and position of the nations out of the equation, the best way to maintain cricket rivalry is if Pakistan has a stronger cricket team than India's. In this way, there is something for Indian fans to look forward to the game. Whatever rivalry there is now, mainly stems from the fact that many in India wants to make fun of the situation Pakistan is in, while many in Pakistan wants to show that they are not as bad as what India perceives or show that India is equally bad. This is the transitional phase where both sides have learned abt India's superiority and while India is trying to boast abt it, Pak is trying to stay in the game by portraying it is not that far behind. Pakistan did have a stronger cricket team in the 90s but that's no longer the case too. The next stage would be when it will be difficult for Pakistan to even compete based on mere words. And that would mark the end of this rivalry. To prolong whatever little is left of this rivalry, it is imp for Pak to win the game. Which is why winning tomorrow's game is so important for Pakistan as a loss will only break the delusions many have abt Pakistan and in a way speed up the process where it would be difficult to even compete based on the words. And if Pakistan loses badly, it will only make situation worse. While a win could only delay the inevitable. In either case, the rivalry will end if Pak doesn't manage to come up with a much stronger cricket team than India's. Sports is probably the only area where Pak as a nation can compete with India as a nation. Which is why the rivalry is more imp to Pakistan. For Ind, it a semi-final which they need to win in order to win the cup. That it is playing Pakistan only adds some excitement to it (if only a little). For how long the Ind-Pak match excitement lasts depends upon how long Pak is able to compete. As I said, a Pakistani loss (esp. a big one) will only speed up the process to end this rivalry. A Pak win, on the other hand, will give this rivalry some oxygen to last a little longer. But to maintain this, Pak will have to come up with a much stronger cricket team in future, otherwise the only area in which they can hope to compete with India will be gone too :winky: Words "nailed it" fall short of what you managed to convey through your post. It is as thorough and insightful an analysis as one can get on the so called India-Pakistan rivalry. The difference between the two nation is beyond repair at this point and it will only get worse. Earlier India & Pakistan used to invariable get clubbed togather now India gets clubbed with China while Pak gets clubbed with Afghanistan. The Ind-Pak equation is pretty much like that of a traditional joint family in India. If one family which feels neglected decides to seperate it becomes a matter of ego for both parties to justify the decision. Both want each other to fail, both inspite of the animosity are connected to each other at some level. Pakistan is the family which decided to seperate so sub consciously they need such events to integrate and boost their morale. As for the cricketing aspect, I believe the Indian side will beat Pakistan 9 out 10 times in a bilateral series. Not because they are greatly superior in terms of talent but purely in terms of temperament. But since this is one off and it has become of a home cup for India who was a favourite which is generally regarded as one of the top teams in the world and with Pakistan which has scarred and hammered in both cricketing terms and otherwise, the stakes for the game have gone up. It will be a good game. But its repercussions will not be as great as some make it to be.
Debutant Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 Why am I not at all excited about this match.Seriously I am not feeling as excited as I was before the test series against South Africa.Maybe my interest for cricket is waning.:((
Rajiv Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 Why am I not at all excited about this match.Seriously I am not feeling as excited as I was before the test series against South Africa.Maybe my interest for cricket is waning.:(( I have bigger fish to fry, took some par time networking and security courses and I have final on Thursday. I feel like a school kid who has exam anxiety
coffee_rules Posted March 29, 2011 Posted March 29, 2011 Congratulations, Pakistanis.. On a fine win tommorow.