Suggestions for India's Redemption

that is just as he hit good rhythm in Australia. In Banglore test and as well as Sydney tests, he was barely going over 135K. He had never bowled that fast even in domestic cricket before. He has since been inconsistent in terms of PACE. and he is only one is so many u19 pacers we have seen bowling that fast, probably Yomahesh too bowled 87 mph in 2006 U19 WC but then he went downhill. Yomhaesh could have been groomed so well if he was in England or Australia.
yes i watched him in the final in srilanka u19,i had hoped of being the next srinath ,i followed him closely watched some india blue,green,red matches he dropped pace there.again in ipl he was 130 and keeper was standing up so i gave up,no development
I think India's approach in unearthing fast bowlers is wrong...You find someone bowling 140+ and people cream in their pants...It should be finding some young talent who consistently can bowl 130-135+ with ability to move the ball and eventually groom him to add more pace to his bowling without having to drop is ability to move the boall. This is were the Indian mgmnt have dropped the ball over the years with Ishanth,Irfan,Balaji,RP and Sree who had incredible ability to move the ball and had decent pace and age on their side when they started. Ishanth is the only ray of hope as of now
I do not think this is right approach. Making a 135k bowler bowl 145k is tougher than making a 145k bowler learn seam and swing.
that is just as he hit good rhythm in Australia. In Banglore test and as well as Sydney tests, he was barely going over 135K. He had never bowled that fast even in domestic cricket before. He has since been inconsistent in terms of PACE. and he is only one is so many u19 pacers we have seen bowling that fast, probably Yomahesh too bowled 87 mph in 2006 U19 WC but then he went downhill. Yomhaesh could have been groomed so well if he was in England or Australia.
Ishanth has a natural ability to extract bounce and he is definetely has the ability to bowl fast/maintain consistency in his pace over a longer period of time compared to the others. He still has age on his side and all he needs is first priority a good physio and a decent bowling coach Yomahesh---That is the most random fast bowling talent I have heard in a while....Yomahesh might be 9th or 10th in the pecking order even in the pool of mediocre bowling talent that looks like we have in our hand.
No..it is not completely true. Take example of Broad and Bresnan who were just medium fast initially but now can bowl 90 mph.
every indian bowler to popular belief has gained pace- Irfan when he came in was not quick as it was hyped he bowled a odd ball at 140 to gilchrist but he was 125-135km/h .he lost his action in pakistan and wi and was dropped came back against aus and clocked 145km/h and was bowling consistently at 130-145 that is the quickest i have seen him R.p singh started at 130 km/h played and at t20 world cup he was 140+ clocked 147 km/h,but he was dropped and now he shadow of himself sreesanth when he started he too was 130 but he gained pace at 24-23 and clocked 149km/h .he has fitness problems so drop in speed ishant will gain pace if he works hard no doubt.
problem is they do not sustain it for long and lack consistency
Ishanth has a natural ability to extract bounce and he is definetely has the ability to bowl fast/maintain consistency in his pace over a longer period of time compared to the others. He still has age on his side and all he needs is first priority a good physio and a decent bowling coach Yomahesh---That is the most random fast bowling talent I have heard in a while....Yomahesh might be 9th or 10th in the pecking order even in the pool of mediocre bowling talent that looks like we have in our hand.
you must have watched him in U19 WC 2006. he is best U19 bowler I have ever seen, but he went downhill since.
problem is they do not sustain it for long and lack consistency
That is exactly why we need a good physio than a bowling coach because coming from domestic cricket with a more conventional method of coaching these guys show better ability and skill than after working with a bowling coach of supposedly international standards. This goes back to my theory that they have the natural ability for pace and swing but to sustain the hectic international schedule they need good strength training and conditioning

Why just for starters. Why not for existing players. What abt Sehwag, Zak...who cleared them for Eng trip. Who manage their fitness itself. Its clear that the players themself dont.

Where's the BCCI's money going? http://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/cricketnews/New-age-funding-old-age-spending/Article1-737750.aspx

Would you like to earn in hundreds of crores but have little say in how the money is spent? That is the situation with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The world's richest cricket board distributes 70% of the money generated from its TV deals with Nimbus and the Indian Premier League (IPL) among its member associations, but has no mechanism in place to monitor how the affiliates spend the money. Long gone are the days of frugal existence when a Test or one-day venue acquiring a Super Sopper used to make news in the media. Indian cricket has also rapidly spread beyond major cities, with talent emerging from many small towns and the hinterland. The BCCI spreads its wealth to its regional units to encourage them develop infrastructure and support young talent. However, the money is not always spent properly. Windfall for states Between 2006-07 and 2010-11, BCCI's 27 full members got around R60 crore each. But the board feels "many affiliated units don't utilise the money properly". Its officials admit the board "cannot have" a monitoring mechanism in place. Even if a system is put in place, the BCCI cannot hold back money from any unit as it can ill afford to offend its voters. "If you are giving money, you should also check how it is used. There are clauses to check but they are not followed," says Kiran More, former international and an ex-secretary of the Baroda Cricket Association. "Everyone ends up blaming the BCCI for not following them. But the onus lies more on the state associations. They should strive to be the best and make sure the money is invested into cricket development." Currently, all that an affiliate must do is submit its statement of accounts to the BCCI. According to the board's rules, it can hold back disbursements only if a unit had failed to submit accounts for the previous two years. The HT investigated the affairs of three state associations, each headed by a top former or current BCCI official, and found many shortcomings. Stadium dreams "The board gives the money to develop infrastructure. If you keep it in the bank, then it is of no use," says BCCI vice-president Arindam Ganguly. However, the Tripura Cricket Association (TCA), where Ganguly is the secretary, is focused on saving money so that it can build an "international stadium" costing no less than Rs100 crore, while budding cricketers in the state are hard-pressed to find proper grounds, let alone turf wickets, to play on. "If you go through our accounts, you will see a huge amount of money kept in the bank," Ganguly admits. "But that is because we have a plan." The TCA has a bank balance of more than Rs55 crore. The plan is to build a stadium near the Agartala airport and expand the facilities at the MBB Stadium and convert it into an academy for the Northeast. Land in both locations has been leased to the TCA for 20 years. The budget is "Rs125-130 crore for the two projects", says Ganguly. While the academy makes sense, the international stadium does not. Agartala does not even have the kind of hotels required to accommodate international teams. The TCA gives each subdivision "no less than Rs1.5 lakh a year", says Ganguly. That includes Rs50,000 for ground preparation. "The grounds are used for all sports, and given the amount of rain Tripura gets, Rs50,000 is not enough," says Dilip Sarkar, secretary of the Udaipur subdivisional cricket association. Village stadium In what can be a cautionary tale to the TCA, Haryana Cricket Association (HCA), of which former BCCI president Ranbir Singh Mahendra's son Anirudh Chowdhury is the secretary, wasted board's one-time infrastructure grant by building a stadium at Lahali village, about 15km from the nearest town, Rohtak. With the nearest airport in New Delhi and no suitable hotels even in Rohtak, the stadium can host only domestic matches. "It's a waste. You can't even host a camp there because players from Rohtak have to travel about 30km to and fro," said a former Haryana player on condition of anonymity. An HCA official, however, said: "The place has developed in the last few years, and we are sure it will have amenities like five-star hotel, and airport somewhere nearby." Not even a ground The Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association has a bank balance of more than Rs100cr, but has yet to have a ground. It has had to let go opportunities to host international ties after being refused the use of the state govt-owned Green Park in Kanpur. To make matters worse for budding cricketers, a few junior selectors use the Kamla Club ground, leased to the UPCA, as a private academy & charge hefty fees.

Suggestions for India's Redemption

^Yeah' date=' we're hearing about everything that is wrong only now. Only few people have spoken about it earlier.[/quote'] Well, you can say where they. But isn't it best time to cry, because now there are more chances of getting something changed from BCCI.
Absolutely. A guy bowling 135K at 17-19 can easily bowl over 140 by the time he is 22 with some strength training and refinement. That is why I said the should also organize camp for bowlers age 20-25 and see how many can bowl 140 then. 17-19 is an immature age physique wise and they will be fortunate to find a bowler bowling 140 at that age and if they can find that guy can certainly compete with Akhtar and Lee in terms of speed in coming years. There is only 2-3 guys in the world who I have seen bowling 140+ at 17-19 age group. Pattrick Cummins from Australia, Adam Milne from New Zealand, and we already know about banned Mohammad Aamir.
Strength training is the most important thing as a pace bowler. I am working with some pace bowlers in my area and i have asked them to beef or oyesters everyday. I am sure i can bring out some good prospects, they are pretty young, 13-15 year old boys. I focuss mainly on their balanced run up and strength training. Boys do ask me how to swing the ball, i have asked them bowl quick without worrying abt anything. Wait for couple of years, i will produce some good prospects from my local dunlop cricket ground here in delhi.
Another important thing is to let a young bowler develop naturally till 18-19 years of age and only after then a bowler should start gym work outs related to strength training. Strength training is working on muscles which are used in bowling and help gain pace like hips, thighs, chest, shoulder, wrist but no need to making a too heavy muscular body like wrestlers. In fast bowling, we need fast twitch fibers, which can be developed by fast exercises, like short sprint running, rather long and slow running, doing work outs shorter but faster to develop those fast twitch fibers. You can go to http://www.pitchvision.com/ to read and learn more about these things.
No, i am not training them to be heavy muscular, i have seen a significant improvement after they started to eat more meat and tirbulus terrestris(a herbal product for producing high testosterone) Yes, i do focus on building twitch fibres with these boys, few guys naturally have strong shoulders and i let them bowl for 9 to 10 bowl in evenings without any break. In the morning i train them to build twitch fibres, i have high hope with these boys, because i selected them personally from the govt schools(these pvt school boys dont really train hard, i dont know why.!!!) and they are pretty much eager to learn and make a mark. Even if they dont become fast bowlers i am sure they will become police men or get college seats in sports quotas.

Atleast make them sprint a lot combined with push-ups at variable speeds and chin ups. Rowing and swimming for lats as free hand exercises. I am not sure if you should be giving them supplements at this tender age. Instead of focussing on beef, may I suggest eggs? Having around 10-12 boiled egg whites is a good source of protein.

Atleast make them sprint a lot combined with push-ups at variable speeds and chin ups. Rowing and swimming for lats as free hand exercises. I am not sure if you should be giving them supplements at this tender age. Instead of focussing on beef' date=' may I suggest eggs? Having around 10-12 boiled egg whites is a good source of protein.[/quote'] I have selected boys who are athletic enuf to be pace bowlers. i train with 7 boys in our local dunlop ground everyday with lot of enthusiasm. Although these kids are from humble background the training has made them pretty strong mentally aswell as physically. The supplemement is a herbal product which can be taken from the age of 15. There is absolutely no harm in taking it every day. Yes, i am focussing on push-ups and i spend a good amount of money from my salary to get meat everyday. Eggs is ok, but i want testosterone, it burns fat quickly and gives u strong muscle. Thanks for ur suggestion bro.

India will need to focus on rebuilding--Peter Roebuck http://www.thehindu.com/sport/cricket/article2400936.ece India needs to examine the evidence provided by the heavy defeats in England and respond accordingly. Pretending it was a bad patch or a cursed tour will merely prolong the agony. Moreover, the scale of the loss does not allow any room for complacency. It is over. India's steady rise in the last 15 years or so reached its highest point in 2011 as the team attained top position in the Test rankings and won the World Cup. And then the side fell away so rapidly that it will be hard pressed to retain its position in the top-4 needed to qualify for the inaugural Test championship in 2013. India could even lose in Australia this winter, though its host is enduring complications of its own. India has an old batting order, an unreliable pace attack, a spinner lacking bite, poor fielding and abject running between wickets. It is hardly a recipe for success. Clearly the time has come to forget about deeds and debts and champions and crowd pleasers and sentiment and to focus on rebuilding. However, it's all very well advocating change. Naming names is another matter. Half the current team has faltered and ought to be replaced. In some cases the newcomers could join the squad, others are required right away A possible combination My team for the next Test starts with Virender Sehwag and Cheteshwar Pujara. Providing he is fully fit, Sehwag is indispensable. He is capable of dominating an attack from the first ball. Burdened with a more modest record, Gautam Gambhir cannot survive recent setbacks. Dropping a player of his calibre is hard, but he needs to wake up If Pujara is considered better suited to first wicket down then Rahul Dravid can open. He carried the batting in the Caribbean and England and has earned his place with current deeds, not past heroics. At present he is India's best batsman and only his age counts against him. Let challengers shift him. Perhaps they will have better luck than opposing bowlers. Of course, it's too early to replace Sachin Tendulkar. It's not so long ago that his renaissance was the talk of the game. England bowled superbly and like so many comrades Tendulkar looked rusty. He remains a giant and has often been effective in Australia. However, the end is not far away. Alas V.V.S. Laxman and Suresh Raina cannot be retained. Laxman is a wizard with the willow and has a fine record down under but he looked ponderous in England and is sluggish on the field. Raina still looks shaky on the back foot and fragile early in his innings. It's time to give Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli a chance to prove their worth. They can bring the ripeness of youth to a jaded outfit Although he played and led poorly, Mahendra Singh Dhoni holds his place. After all he took the team to the top and commands respect. Amongst the bowlers, Sreesanth, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel, R.P. Singh and Mishra cannot survive. R.P. Singh was a ridiculous selection. India has put too much faith in dainty left-armers. Praveen did well but lacks the extra pace and penetration needed elsewhere. Rely on Zaheer, Ishant India ought to rely on Zaheer and Ishant and add the fastest and strongest young bowlers they can find. Harbhajan is first choice spinner but needs to recover his zest with bat and ball. His game is built on aggression. But India also needs to identify and develop a new spinner, one capable of surprising batsmen. Raw speedsters and bemusing tweakers can replace the time servers. Heavy defeat provides an opportunity to renew. India ought not to waste it. Ruthlessness is required.

I think they need to get rid of the coach, bowling coach and whoever was responsible for playing an injured/unfit viru, zak and rp. Whether this is the team management or anyone else, this was an amateur error. After this they need to start grooming some new bowlers and give them a long run. Ashwin/Ojha as the spinnner and giving some other fast bowlers a shot. I would rest Laxman for the WI series and play Kohli as number 5 and drop Raina and play Sharma/Pujara at 6.