Future of indian cricket after Tendulkar retires

You call inability to chase down 359 in a ODI as a failure ... no wonder you love T20 ... kindly stick to it.
Yea also the 280+ was too much for him in 2011. :hahaha: Like I said, I am not talking about his failures, rather the successes of others during his career. So it hasn't just been Tendulkar and nothing else. I don't expect to you get this with your blinders on.
guys' date=' dont derail my thread with these stupid arguments. they ahve been done a million times and have NOTHING to do with the topic i brought up.[/quote'] I personally don't think people will stop watching cricket because one man leaves the scene. Even die hard Sachin fans will make peace with his exit. I have been following him since he made debut in Pakistan. But i was more crazy about Sachin in the 90s than now. Because Sachin literally stood head and shoulders above everyone. We would lose all hope once he leaves. Nowadays INdia has lot of matchwinners. My following is always related how well INdia does. If India plays like Bangladesh i will give up watching cricket. Not because Sachin leaves.
Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

My following is always related how well INdia does. If India plays like Bangladesh i will give up watching cricket. Not because Sachin leaves.
Well we will never drop down to that level given the money and general available talent.

There is just too much money in cricket for it to die out after Sachin. The BCCI knows how to rake in the moolah. Thats probably the only thing they know. Even after Sachin retires, he will be a part of the Indian set up in some capacity or the other. He could be our coach, or batting coach, or a commentator or even a selector/ and God willing the president of BCCI ( not sure if that happens how much power he will really hold). I agree with Manny, that this is a transitional phase. There may never be another Sachin again in pure cricketing terms, but BCCI will market the future Indian cricketers as if they are some kind of Sachin re-incarnations to get people on the grounds. That kind of stuff always works. For eg, Afridi is not even 1/10th the batsman as Inzamam, but he draws the crowds and is the people's favourite. That kind of stuff will happen in India too. Manny, what you should take note of is that Sachin, and Laxman, and Dravid are cricketers first and foremost. Not so the case with Yuvraj or Dhoni or Sehwag ( I dare add) who are entertainers and cricketers. While there maybe a few cricket lovers left, the commercial success of cricket is mainly due to those who want entertainment (over quality/purity and what not) when watching the game. Those guys are in the majority and its that demographic whose demands have to increasingly met by the BCCI to be commercially viable. As an example, I stay in Mumbai, not too far from the Wankhede, and I've not attended a single test match in my life and definitely not watched a game explicitly for Sachin. But I would make it a point to attend as many IPLs or ODI (to a lesser extent). For people like me, which I believe to be the vast majority, Sachin's absence will hurt and he will be missed, but its not the end of the world. The show will go on.

In the future (15-20 years from now) that very well may be the only format around.
I can bet you anything you want - t20 is NOT the future of cricket. T20 is only a poor form of entertainment which can never be a substitute for proper good quality cricket.
Actually I agree with BB that 20-20 is not really cricket(cannot believe a guy with Yusuf Pathan's cricket talent is a star there - kind of Arena league football to NFL analogy between real cricket(Test) to 20-20) but I watch it as I got on with it LOL.
Wow!!! we agree on something finally :winky:
You call inability to chase down 359 in a ODI as a failure ... no wonder you love T20 ... kindly stick to it.
these are the people who IMO, more than you or me or other so called "fanatics", consider him to be a GOD and demand of him that he scores big every single time he goes out to bat and if in 10 matches he scores big in 7 matches then you won't find them applauding him for the 7 matches where he played well but you will definitely find these guys criticizing him for failing in 3 matches.
No he didnt. Man had a plan to score one boundary an over. Feel free to tell me which other "Greatest" player has done such a thing in a WC Final chasing 359 against that sort of bowling. BTW what were your other "Greats" doing ... especially those that were incharge of bowling ? And then you wonder why SRT fans crawl up your backside and give you a hard time. If you post BS like this you deserve all the harrasment.
But he had already scored the boundary for the over. Why did he go for another one? :hmmm:
Totally agree! No one is above the game is one of the biggest myths around. The game is made by individuals. Without individual brilliance no game can survive. Of course we can turn around and argue that without the game there would be no individual to ply his trade. So it is more like the game and the individual need each other, neither being greater than the other. Why is badminton picking up in India, especially among girls? Saina Nehwal. Why did badminton go the dodo's way throughout the late 80s and 90s? Padukone was done, Gopichand was yet to make a mark. No role models, no idols to follow.
But those individuals and role models come and goes with time but games stays. don't you think?
We all know why he plays it but has played a grand total of ONE International T20s lol. We also know why the stadium began filling up today. Such players are hard to replace.
Yaar international T20s are not real thing, How many T20s Indian team play in one year. IPL is T20, CL is T20. IMO, T20 is pure entertainment and I am no fan of T20 and do not even watch much T20 with interest. But, according to you T20 is not cricket, then whoever plays T20 is not a cricketer, but SRT plays T20 IPLs, CLs, and even sit in the dressing of his T20 team when he is injured and not even participating. Is he not a cricketer as he plays T20?
What kinda logic is that? I say Driving Car is not cricket. So whoever drives a car is not a cricketer. Sachin drives car, so he is not a cricketer. So simple. I say T20 is not cricket, even if many cricketers indulge in that.
It was just a joke to fire up SRT bhakts.:cantstop:
He failed in the two finals he was there. And thankfully someone else stood up and took us home in one of them. That is the truth. So for me' date=' even during SRT's career others have done some commendable stuff which will keep me interested in the game even after he retires, cause Indian cricket wasn't just him even while he played.[/quote']You have a right to your opinion. But come on Yoda please don't turn this thread into a Sachin versus others thread. Everyone realizes it is a team game and that it takes more than one person to win a game.
You have a right to your opinion. But come on Yoda please don't turn this thread into a Sachin versus others thread. Everyone realizes it is a team game and that it takes more than one person to win a game.
except if that person is Goddy - then he is expected to win all matches (be it Tests or ODIs) single handedly and if we lose, then however hard he has tried or however well he has played, the entire responsibility for the loss is his.
But those individuals and role models come and goes with time but games stays. don't you think?
Game produces these individuals as in these individuals master the game. But it is these individuals that keep the game alive. If cricket were to be played without brilliant individuals for even a 5 year stretch you can rest assured it will die. The game provides opportunity for an individual to shine. In turn the individual, much like a respectful payment, keeps the game alive.
I don't think BB said that...that is your inference from his statement. He only said the first part. This is how misunderstandings start and the thread derails...we generalize the opinions of someone beyond scope when whatever one says is within a t,s,p,c