Poor Abu Nechim ignored again by the selectors

rkt.india

Politics against east zone is not uncommon...remember that Ranji final match where Bengal played UP and lost...4 players from UP were selected in the national team that year but none from Bengal

The only reason I can think of is the East Zone selector being completely against him. Nechim shouldn't be disappointed though. His chance will come sooner or later. I won't be surprised to see him in the national side within the next 6-9 months.
Yes if he is really that good nothing can stop him though reviewing his performances this year there is nothing to write home about excepting say he was decent in plate division nothing great but decent. It is easy to blame the selectors when there is so little to choose in a pool of bowlers from various states that are pretty much in the same category. One has to be standout to make it easy for themselves and not lay it on the selectors.

Here is a list of top wicket takers this year in the Plate division. Abu Nechim is not in the top 20 Wicket takers playing against the same opponents as the other players. Not saying one has to strictly go by the stats but performances in FC games number of wickets taken should be an indicator and count for something. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ranji-plate-league-2011/engine/records/bowling/most_wickets_career.html?id=6709;type=tournament

i think dinda improved just like yadav did would be fair to give him chance this ipl is gonna be exciting :D would vbe able to see some bowlers in action (just 4 overs though :(()

Yes if he is really that good nothing can stop him though reviewing his performances this year there is nothing to write home about excepting say he was decent in plate division nothing great but decent. It is easy to blame the selectors when there is so little to choose in a pool of bowlers from various states that are pretty much in the same category. One has to be standout to make it easy for themselves and not lay it on the selectors.
He is stand out if you consider that next highest wicket taker in his team has 3 wickets. It show less support he got from the other end. Also consider he has played only 4 matches, one of them was washed out, so its is virtually 3 matches and 12 wickets in 3 matches is a good effort in a team like Assam where you won't find a second bowler. You need to understand "akela chana bhaad nahi fod sakta."
Its always happen to plate league players.Regardless of how good their performance are they simply dont get noticed.Its nothing new.
Not necessarily. Umesh Yadav played for Vidarbha, which has been perennially stuck in the Plate League
who is the east zone selector??
Raja Venkat who used to be Bengal Ranji Captain. Check out this article in India Today
Qaiser Mohammad Ali New Delhi, October 11, 2011 | UPDATED 16:54 IST Assam calls east zone selector a 'rubber stamp' Assam pacer Abu Nechim Ahmed has not been picked for the Challenger Trophy.RELATEDS Mumbai spin dream win in CLT20 final The issue of contentious selections threatened to snowball into a major controversy on Monday with a top state cricket official terming the east zone national selector "a rubber stamp" and accusing him of being biased against Assam players. Bikash Baruah, secretary of the Assam Cricket Association (ACA), also claimed that five of the six constituent associations of the east zone wanted to have CR Venkataraman, popularly called Raja Venkat, replaced. But he alleged that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) didn't heed to their demand and allowed Venkat one more season, the fourth one on the trot, to represent his zone on the five-man senior selection committee. "Raja Venkat is nothing but a rubber stamp. He would only select players from his state (Bengal). East zone players, particularly from Assam, are always neglected for the national team," fumed Baruah while speaking to MAIL TODAY. "During an east zone meeting on September 3, I said that Venkat should be replaced. In fact, five states - Bengal, Orissa, Jharkhand, Tripura, and Assam - wanted him to be replaced. But he was persisted with as the BCCI did not listen to us. The Board said that he has one more year to go as a selector," he said. The Assam Cricket Association's letter to BCCI.Click here to EnlargeACA was projecting former junior national selector Rajesh Borah to take the place of Venkat. A senior national selector receives Rs.40 lakh per annum. Venkat declined to react to the charge. "People can say what they want. Why should I be bothered?" he told MAIL TODAY. "Even Shoaib Akhtar has said things about Sachin Tendulkar. And who is Bikash Baruah? Is he a cricketer? I haven't heard his name." Baruah cites another reason to be angry with the national selectors: the negligence of Assam players, particularly fast bowler Abu Nechim Ahmed and prolific batsman Dheeraj Jadhav, who is playing for the state as a pro, from the ongoing Challenger Trophy. The ACA secretary felt so strongly about the non- selection of Abu Nechim in any of the three teams for the Challenger Trophy that he dashed off a letter to the BCCI president and secretary, N Srinivasan and Sanjay Jagdale respectively, on Monday. In all, 42 players have been picked for the tournament. "It is to state that an expectation is there that a player performing well in various tournaments will get a call for a higher level but, unfortunately, that expectation is believed (belied) in case of Abu Nechim Ahmed who, in spite of, a splendid show was ignored, which will definitely tell upon the moral [morale] of the player concerned," he wrote in the letter, a copy of which is with MAIL TODAY. "Needless to mention here, he would have (had) a fillip had he been selected in the Challenger Trophy," he said. "It is our earnest request to you to take up the matter with the selectors and insist on them in this regard." Apart from taking wickets consistently in domestic tournaments, Abu Nechim captured eight wickets at a good average of 16.50 in Mumbai Indians' Champions League T20 triumph. Since his first-class debut in 2005-06, he has bagged 62 wickets. In between he joined the unauthorised Indian Cricket League (ICL) and lost two years of official cricket (2007 to 2009). Abu Nechim's biggest asset, however, is that he swings the ball both ways at express speed to unsettle batsmen. Jadhav made his debut for Maharashtra in 1999- 2000, and joined the ICL. He then switched to Assam as a pro and this is his third season. In the 2009- 10 domestic season, he aggregated 631 and last season he scored 443. When contacted, Baruah said that after sending the letter, he also called up Jagdale on Monday. "I told him that Assam as well as other states also have good players who haven't been selected for the Challenger Trophy," he said. "I will also raise this issue in the next working committee meeting." Baruah feels Venkat is responsible for the plight of Assam players. "He doesn't even watches matches in the zone; he ignored our players," he alleged. Read more at: http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/assam-calls-east-zone-selector-a-rubber-stamp/1/154521.html

i can see their point. india still doesn't utilize it's entire population and the depth of its resources/talent. ppl talk about the billion population and how that should automatically guarantee world domination but the problem is that indian cricket is still all about the big cities. its only recently that we are getting players from the 'middle of nowhere' states like jharkhand and vidarbha. i can imagine an entire state's cricketers being overlooked simply because they havent got the reputation of producing international cricketers. the zonal system needs to be done away with. you need to have objectivity in selection, and judging by the east zone selectors pathetic comment about the assam cricket association's secretary, it's clearly lacking.

i can see their point. india still doesn't utilize it's entire population and the depth of its resources/talent. ppl talk about the billion population and how that should automatically guarantee world domination but the problem is that indian cricket is still all about the big cities. its only recently that we are getting players from the 'middle of nowhere' states like jharkhand and vidarbha.
Actually cricket itself as a sport requires certain investment if you want to play at a higher level( pads, bat,gloves etc). Now you compare that with football, clearly cricket costs more money. So therefore not easy to ask smaller places to start producing talented players And unlike football where club scouts roam around the world to get the best kids, it does not work in cricket. There is absolutely no incentive for scouts to go around India to find the best talent. This means the domestic competitions have to be changed, make it more prestigious, more important, thereby leading clubs to look out for the best kids out in India. Still overall, if really you want to have people from all over India, then it can only be acheived through quota system(reservation). And thankfully, nothing has happened yet. or at least nothing known public.
its the ranji plate for heaven sake. nechim should move to a bigger team playing in the elite division.
Should it really matter which team he plays for. Yadav plays for Vidharbha, and Aaron plays for Jharkand, both are plate teams. The selectors are supposed to be professionals getting paid Rs 40L per annum to do their job. They are supposed to spot the best talent for the country. One wonders if there should not be a minimum qualification for being selectors. 2 of our selectors have not played any international matches. One (Hirwani) played in just 17 Tests for Inida. The only selectors with good international exposure are Mohinder Amarnath and Srikant. Plus there should be different selection committees for International team selection and for domestic selections like the Irani Trophy, Challenger cup, Duleep Trophy, Deodhar Trophy etc.

Some people here cry for everything...earleir it was Pathan not selecetd..even Nechim selelvted they will cry Anwar kahn not selecetd....this will go on and on... he still young will get his opportunity in future...

+1 This will never stop. First it was for Aaron, now its for Abu Nechim. Once Nechim is selected cries for Dinda will begin and so on and so forth. Let the two rookie pacers get settled and be given enough chances before trying out anyone new.
Friend, this thread is about Abu Nechim. This whole thread is meant for crying about Abu Nechim. :two_thumbs_up:
Should it really matter which team he plays for. Yadav plays for Vidharbha' date=' and Aaron plays for Jharkand, both are plate teams. The selectors are supposed to be professionals getting paid Rs 40L per annum to do their job. They are supposed to spot the best talent for the country. One wonders if there should not be a minimum qualification for being selectors. 2 of our selectors have not played any international matches. One (Hirwani) played in just 17 Tests for Inida. The only selectors with good international exposure are Mohinder Amarnath and Srikant. Plus there should be different selection committees for International team selection and for domestic selections like the Irani Trophy, Challenger cup, Duleep Trophy, Deodhar Trophy etc.[/quote'] to be honest in the case of Yadav he does have better set of stats than Nechim. You can view this on cricinfo ranji record. Plus Viderbha do tend to yo-yo between divisions. I looked at Nechim's ranji stats year on year, and to be honest there are plenty of bowlers who have done better. Your right on Aaron. I feel that he should have proved himself first. Maybe what goes against Nechim is his height. He is barely 5 foot 7 inches. Malinga was taller than him based on the matches i have seen for MI. Maybe there is an instruction from the coach and captain to selectors to find tall and well built bowlers who they can mould? Both Umesh and Aaron are tall (more than 6 feet) and well built
+1 This will never stop. First it was for Aaron' date=' now its for Abu Nechim. Once Nechim is selected cries for Dinda will begin and so on and so forth. Let the two rookie pacers get settled and be given enough chances before trying out anyone new.[/quote'] When you see the likes of RP Singh, Aravind or even Mithun getting a call up, wouldn't it make you wonder why Nechim isn't even there for Challenger Trophy when he was bowling quick, accurately and taking wickets for MI in CL or now after taking 2 5-ers including a hattrick? Its these inconsistencies in selections that people are talking about here. If we shouldn't be discussing these, what else you suggest we should discuss? Perhaos you would love to see thread titles "Mithun will blow away Australia" or "Aussies- beware of Parthiv Patel" :P
+1 This will never stop. First it was for Aaron' date=' now its for Abu Nechim. Once Nechim is selected cries for Dinda will begin and so on and so forth. [b']Let the two rookie pacers get settled and be given enough chances before trying out anyone new.
There is a 3rd rookie pacer you saw in the last game , this thread about someone more deserving than him not getting selected.
When you see the likes of RP Singh, Aravind or even Mithun getting a call up, wouldn't it make you wonder why Nechim isn't even there for Challenger Trophy when he was bowling quick, accurately and taking wickets for MI in CL or now after taking 2 5-ers including a hattrick? Its these inconsistencies in selections that people are talking about here. If we shouldn't be discussing these, what else you suggest we should discuss? Perhaos you would love to see thread titles "Mithun will blow away Australia" or "Aussies- beware of Parthiv Patel" :P
My point was that there will always be deserving players waiting in the ranks for a spot. Selectors cannot pick everyone and make them play at once. With the amount of cricket we play, its more likely that most bowlers wilth good domestic records will get a cap sooner or later. W.r.t Mithun's selection, my guess is that since he already made his debut and played a handful of matches for India, selectors are going with him. A player should be given a decent number of chances before being sent back to domestic cricket to improve.
There is a 3rd rookie pacer you saw in the last game ' date=' this thread about someone more deserving than him not getting selected.[/quote'] Mithun has better domestic record than this tiny bowler