Who is the answer to India's allrounder conundrum?

• Yusuf Pathan
    • Suresh Raina
    • Ravindra Jadeja
    • Irfan Pathan

why not keeping a trundler in the team who can bat and field too.. there would be one change..instead of useless trundlers who leaks run while fielding, and then cannot bat, we have a trundler who can contribute in two departments, can save dhobi from getting banned thts why dhoni loves trundlers as they make sure that he captains india next time also
Because Nayar makes PK look like Philander.

Tough to find any medium pacer who bats well. Irfan Pathan is probably best of the lot but he needs to hold his spot on bowling. there are few spinners who are decent batsmen - Ashwin, Jaddu, Abdulla, Piyush Chawla thisis one area where we lag behind all other teams- everyone has an allrounder

Ashwin, Abdulla aren't really very useful batsmen in ODIs. Piyush and Jaddu have better records.
That is the major issue because if India entertains any thoughts of winning in Eng,Aus or SA they will need a decent medium pacer who can take at least couple of wkts and add 30-40 odd runs down the order. The last significant win in Perth 2008 Irfan did that and the results showed.
That is the major issue because if India entertains any thoughts of winning in Eng' date='Aus or SA they will need a decent medium pacer who can take at least couple of wkts and add 30-40 odd runs down the order. The last significant win in Perth 2008 Irfan did that and the results showed.[/quote'] Pace or spin, we have only had two quality allrounders in our cricketing history - Vinoo and Kapil. An alternative strategy would be to discover a genuine wicketkeeper-batsman, someone like Prior, Sangakkara, etc who can average more than 40 and bat in the top 6. That way, we can afford to play a bowler who can bat (like Ashwin, or Irfan) at No.7 and go with a 5 bowler attack. It is amazing how almost every major team has got good allrounder(s) for Tests/ODIs: Bangladesh - Shakib England - Broad, Bresnan, Swann Australia - Watson South Africa - Kallis Sri Lanka - Matthews Pakistan - Hafeez India - ??? New Zealand - Vettori West Indies - Dwayne Bravo

Irfan is the best we have, his batting is better then some batters in our line up outisde the sub continent , especially with the horizontal bat strokes and technique, also with bowling in test's with the red cherry if used properly he can get wickets, he should be persisted with in ODI'S AND TEST'S, he has done well after his comebback , but don't judge him purely on the basis of Asia cup where all bowlers failed miserably, from all teams.

Pace or spin, we have only had two quality allrounders in our cricketing history - Vinoo and Kapil. An alternative strategy would be to discover a genuine wicketkeeper-batsman, someone like Prior, Sangakkara, etc who can average more than 40 and bat in the top 6. That way, we can afford to play a bowler who can bat (like Ashwin, or Irfan) at No.7 and go with a 5 bowler attack.
Dhoni can do it if he wishes,but he won't.He is so conservative these days.
There r many other contenders as well... But, sayapa ye hai, we don't give enough chances to young players.. Budau log team hi nahi chodte, how we r supposed 2 give chances to newbies :((
Irfan is the best we have' date=' his batting is better then some batters in our line up outisde the sub continent , especially with the horizontal bat strokes and technique, also with bowling in test's with the red cherry if used properly he can get wickets, he should be persisted with in ODI'S AND TEST'S, he has done well after his comebback , but don't judge him purely on the basis of Asia cup where all bowlers failed miserably, from all teams.[/quote'] ++ Even i am big fan of Irfan Pathan... He is really committed and looking fitter and wants 2 improve. You can clearly see the passion in him.. Not only he is the best we have got, but he is also among the best in the world in seaming all-rounders category. Just that he needs to stop experimenting with his bowling action again and again
Pace or spin, we have only had two quality allrounders in our cricketing history - Vinoo and Kapil. An alternative strategy would be to discover a genuine wicketkeeper-batsman, someone like Prior, Sangakkara, etc who can average more than 40 and bat in the top 6. That way, we can afford to play a bowler who can bat (like Ashwin, or Irfan) at No.7 and go with a 5 bowler attack. It is amazing how almost every major team has got good allrounder(s) for Tests/ODIs: Bangladesh - Shakib England - Broad, Bresnan, Swann Australia - Watson South Africa - Kallis Sri Lanka - Matthews Pakistan - Hafeez India - ??? New Zealand - Vettori West Indies - Dwayne Bravo
Ashwin will be our alrounder in tests and Irfan in ODIs. He needs to work on his fitness though.
I won't consider someone an all rounder if he sucks in fielding. Kapil, Botham, Hadlee.. were all great fielders too.

Ask Dhoni and he shall say Jadeja Ask Ganguly and he shall say Laxmi Ratan Shukla Ask Tendulkar and he shall say Abhishek Nayyar Ask Kapil Dev and he shall say Stuart Binny Ask Sehwag and he shall say Rajat Bhatia.

I won't consider someone an all rounder if he sucks in fielding. Kapil' date=' Botham, Hadlee.. were all great fielders too.[/quote'] I will take him if he can bat and bowl well enough. We never had great fielders even before, likes of Laxman etc. Ashwin is a safe catcher, may not be very athletic, but there is always scope for improvement.
I will take him if he can bat and bowl well enough. We never had great fielders even before' date=' likes of Laxman etc. [b']Ashwin is a safe catcher, may not be very athletic, but there is always scope for improvement.
:omg:
Ask Dhoni and he shall say Jadeja Ask Ganguly and he shall say Laxmi Ratan Shukla Ask Tendulkar and he shall say Abhishek Nayyar Ask Kapil Dev and he shall say Stuart Binny Ask Sehwag and he shall say Rajat Bhatia.
I think Kapil would rather say Joginder Sharma:haha: