Number Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 Mumbai: There's a lot of mutual respect between Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma -- the duo that produced a 172-run match-winning stand against Pakistan on Sunday. While Virat admits to being a fan of the classy Mumbai batsman, Rohit feels that the pair needs to shoulder the responsibility of India's batting workload over the next decade. Rohit and Virat have already shared four hundred-plus partnerships in ODIs. In just 16 innings, they have combined for 1,006 runs with an average stand of 67. On Sunday evening, Virat reminded Rohit that he was a fan of his batting. "He came up to me and said that he loves batting with me. I am surprised to know that Virat Kohli is a fan of my batting. That is a huge compliment for me," Rohit told MiD DAY yesterday. "Actually, I enjoyed his batting from the other end. I noticed how he murdered the Pakistani attack with a cool head. He is extremely mature for his age. In a short span, we have already shared a lot of big partnerships. I hope we can put up many more stands and win many more matches for the country. We have the responsibility of carrying India's batting into the future," added the elegant right-handed batsman. Rohit, who hasn't yet attained the level of consistency like his younger partner, rues the shot that caused his dismissal on Sunday. "I played a pull shot for a six before (in the knock). So, I thought I could execute it again. Unfortunately, the ball rose on me, and I got out. I want to try and become more consistent. I have got out playing loose shots so many times in my career," he said. Rohit has 1,961 runs from 80 ODIs. "We should always bat second in Bangladesh. We could have chased even 350 against Pakistan because it's easier to bat under lights in these conditions," he added. Rohit said the team was missing Yuvraj Singh. "I have been enjoying my bowling a lot. But if Yuvraj was here, Suresh Raina and myself wouldn't need to bowl so much. Once Yuvi is back, we will be an even stronger team," he said. http://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/news/item/187189-virat-kohli-extremely-mature-for-his-age-rohit-sharma
Cricketics Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 Good to see both of them having respect for each other. It was fun to hear Gavaskar say "I have seen the future. This is the future" when both Kohli and Sharma were batting.
akshayxyz Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 circlejerk of size two. we need bigger circle, for our better future.
Old guy Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 :hysterical: now kohli is mature ....:hysterical:
vvvslaxman Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 Kohli's progress is consistent with all the great players at the same age.. It is mr'taulent Rohit who takes forever to mature.
Cricket Tragic Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 Raina says hello... What's with the Raina obsession? :hmmm:
vvvslaxman Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 What's with the Raina obsession? :hmmm: It was totally an irrelevant post to this thread lol :cantstop:
Prakat Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 Kohli's progress is consistent with all the great players at the same age.. It is mr'taulent Rohit who takes forever to mature. lol reminds me of the sardarji uncle who went to watch Mera Naam Joker after many years and expected to see the older Rishi Kapoor later on in the film and came out disappointed later, saying, "Mein tou baitha tha, ki Chintu badda hoga, badda hoga, per Chintu badda hota hi nai hai!"
vvvslaxman Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 lol reminds me of the sardarji uncle who went to watch Mera Naam Joker after many years and expected to see the older Rishi Kapoor later on in the film and came out disappointed later' date=' saying, "Mein tou baitha tha, ki Chintu badda hoga, badda hoga, per Chintu badda hota hi nai hai!"[/quote'] :cantstop:
Crookbond Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 Kohli's progress is consistent with all the great players at the same age.. It is mr'taulent Rohit who takes forever to mature. +1
chainsmoker1985 Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 :hysterical: now kohli is mature ....:hysterical: Abe ab Kohli se kya problem hai tujhe... :finger:
Old guy Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 Abe ab Kohli se kya problem hai tujhe... :finger: this... :finger: he is mature batsman agree but not a mature person no way! :facepalm:
SLICKR392 Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 this... :finger: he is mature batsman agree but not a mature person no way! :facepalm: Yep! He had no idea what to do when Gilli was going all Mamba on RCB in Dharmashala. He would go all mc bc if the bowlers don't bowl welll, if he become the captain. (infact, our bowlers need someone like that)
Old guy Posted March 27, 2012 Posted March 27, 2012 Yep! He had no idea what to do when Gilli was going all Mamba on RCB in Dharmashala. He would go all mc bc if the bowlers don't bowl welll, if he become the captain. (infact, our bowlers need someone like that) actually ur right :hmmm: our bowlers do need some one to shout at them and say mc bc he can be captain.. but even after that i dont think i will call him mature :P but imagine him in tense moment of the game .. bowler bowling usual filth :nervous: that would be rated r content i can garuntee u :hysterical:
chainsmoker1985 Posted March 28, 2012 Posted March 28, 2012 this... :finger: he is mature batsman agree but not a mature person no way! :facepalm: Now, where does the 'Kohli as a person' comes in? And why would you be having any problems with that even he robes a bank..... Though I don't think Kohli has done anything as of now that he should be ashamed of and 'Kohli as a person' can be questioned.. Then why'd you hate him as a person :hmmm:
Old guy Posted March 28, 2012 Posted March 28, 2012 Now, where does the 'Kohli as a person' comes in? And why would you be having any problems with that even he robes a bank..... Though I don't think Kohli has done anything as of now that he should be ashamed of and 'Kohli as a person' can be questioned.. Then why'd you hate him as a person :hmmm: lol is just out of control right now tbh .. asa captain u would have to think of others too... now imagine virat kohli handling sreesanth he made even dhoni angry.. i can imagine kohli up rooting one stump and scaring (to say the least ) with it :wall:
DomainK Posted March 28, 2012 Posted March 28, 2012 Extreme maturity + extreme attitude = MC BC MC BC