Number Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 the only reason I can think of for him not getting the sack from the BCCI babus. Being the yes man of everyone is another. :dontknow:
maniac Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 This is why I say Dhoni is not a good enough captain,I know there is no use crying over spilt milk and coming up with what-if scenarios but for eg;Against Pak continuing with Kohli the bowler without putting pressure on thr new batsman,now it did not hurt us in that particular game and is all forgotten now but just imagine,if we had attacked and wrapped up pak earlier and chased it down pretty fast what it would have done to over run-rate and pak's runrate. I remember a similar blunder he made in the CT 2009 game vs Pak as well but now that's not the point. Dhoni has been making these kind of stupid mistakes over and over again.... which are going over the fan's heads but are haunting us in the long run-Another Eg;Tied game in the CB series.His attitide seems to be like will take anything for now rather than the big picture It's time to kick him out of Captaincy...but I still maintain he should be there as a Wk-Batsman in the side
Ultimate_Game Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 His emotions are understandable and it seems he is the only guy who gives a rat's ass! The rest all look stoned... Balaji celebrating would go down as one of the worst sights of cricket history! Steyn's look after that was hilarious True. After SA scored 122 it was practically a loss for us.
Tendulkar_Bhai Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 You need to quantify your statement - this looks like pure speculation. What are your sources? Its not pure speculation Dhoni is known for having a big say in selections and even the selectors have admitted it after Jadega was called up when in England due to injuries, they received alot of criticism for not picking someone like Pathan and they came out and said MS requested Jadega. This would not have been the only time!
saket123 Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 Unless a team player speaks about Fletcher.. I think it is all speculation. But the bottom line remains.. To the fans following Indian cricket.. Fletcher appears as a lazy fatso who cannot be troubled to do anything worthwhile. He appears to have ZERO input into anything and couldn't care less about what's going.
NareshK Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 And the reason we didn't chase was the fact we were playing 5 bowlers. You generally chase when batting is your strength or playing an extra batsman. With 5 bowlers you can't win the toss and decide to chase. Yeah but Sehwag and Gambhir were totally out of form and looked very shaky. In fact, they did next to nothing in this tournament and I think Dhoni wasnt even considering playing Sehwag at one point. Another batsman in would be Tiwari who didnt have enough match practice. So not enough options there. That probably prompted him to choose 5 bowlers and not to chase in that game.
Ultimate_Game Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 ^^^^ Still think our strongest combination is 7-4 and for the team to go against it in a crucial super 8 game was a joke. Team think-tank should be sacked just for that blunder alone.
BeautifulGame Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 His emotions are understandable and it seems he is the only guy who gives a rat's ass! The rest all look stoned... Balaji celebrating would go down as one of the worst sights of cricket history! Steyn's look after that was hilarious :facepalm: So why the feck did Steyn look so excited after Morne hit Balaji for a six?
Malcolm Merlyn Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 Rohit Sharma should be thrown out of the squad like Jadeja or else Dhoni will keep playing him.Thats Dhoni's biggest problem,he will keep playing his favourites or he is too stubborn.Tiwari has performed whenever given a chance.But Dhoni wont play him regularly.
Magneto Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 Yeah but Sehwag and Gambhir were totally out of form and looked very shaky. In fact, they did next to nothing in this tournament and I think Dhoni wasnt even considering playing Sehwag at one point. Another batsman in would be Tiwari who didnt have enough match practice. So not enough options there. That probably prompted him to choose 5 bowlers and not to chase in that game. Neither did the bowlers have much practise. Tiwary could have played a warm-up game or two if that was a concern at all. Fact is, he was never in Dhoni's scheme of things.
Ultimate_Game Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 Yeah but Sehwag and Gambhir were totally out of form and looked very shaky. In fact, they did next to nothing in this tournament and I think Dhoni wasnt even considering playing Sehwag at one point. Another batsman in would be Tiwari who didnt have enough match practice. So not enough options there. That probably prompted him to choose 5 bowlers and not to chase in that game. It's not just a question of whether the extra batsman is in form or not. The extra batsman gives you the buffer to go for your shots right from get go and we probably wouldn't have seen the 30 ball 30 go slow from Irfan at the top of the order if Sehwag had played. Even a 8 ball 10 would have been much better from Sehwag.
munafbhai Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 yup we need new coach and if dhoni keeps on doing what he did in this tournament new captain Hopefully new selectors will give robin, rayudu, dhawal kulkarni and others chance and those u -19 heroes chance
Crookbond Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 :facepalm: So why the feck did Steyn look so excited after Morne hit Balaji for a six? +1 Steyn was infact very disappointed with Morkel.
maniac Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 Here is another reason and I know I attribute a lot of failures to Dhoni's captaincy but what's seriously up with the pathetic team selection....and people talking about Tiwary here...here is the deal,He may or may not have outperformed Rohit but the fact is Gambhir,kohli,Dhoni,Rohit,Tiwary,Rahane are all the same kind of players-Our squad looks very 1 dimensional and some one like Y.Pathan should have been picked. People here talk about Pollard all the time but he has been a failure too so far but there is always an xfactor they bring in to this format
Sandeep99 Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 I know I'm using the same old cliche, but 1.2 Billion cricket crazy population and the best we can give is Balaji?!! Hell with Indian cricket
Lord Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 with the way our batsmen played,even if we got 11 of them,wouldnt hv mattered,bowlers did good actually.5 bowlers would hv been great today
Lord Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 It's not just a question of whether the extra batsman is in form or not. The extra batsman gives you the buffer to go for your shots right from get go and we probably wouldn't have seen the 30 ball 30 go slow from Irfan at the top of the order if Sehwag had played. Even a 8 ball 10 would have been much better from Sehwag. how is 8 ball 10 better 30 ball 30?Afridi mode?
Ultimate_Game Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 Here is another reason and I know I attribute a lot of failures to Dhoni's captaincy but what's seriously up with the pathetic team selection....and people talking about Tiwary here...here is the deal,He may or may not have outperformed Rohit but the fact is Gambhir,kohli,Dhoni,Rohit,Tiwary,Rahane are all the same kind of players-Our squad looks very 1 dimensional and some one like Y.Pathan should have been picked. People here talk about Pollard all the time but he has been a failure too so far but there is always an xfactor they bring in to this format This point I agree with. You do need a couple of power hitters in the team for T20s. There has to be a guy like Yusuf Pathan, or similar in case he's out of form, to take the attack to the bowlers. With Yuvi nt fully fit we only had one in Raina and Raina didn't get too many hits in the middle. Selectors have to take the fall for that one, i.e. not selecting any power-hitter, but still think we could have reached semis had we stuck to 7-4 combo throughout.
Magneto Posted October 2, 2012 Posted October 2, 2012 His emotions are understandable and it seems he is the only guy who gives a rat's ass! The rest all look stoned... Balaji celebrating would go down as one of the worst sights of cricket history! Steyn's look after that was hilarious But if you look at it from Balaji's POV, he has a right to be excited. He is making a comeback after years, has been given the ball to defend 14 (even if India are out of the cup, the match was still to be won), has got smashed for a SIX, got a wicket in the next ball, again been smashed for a SIX by a No.11 batsman and has managed to slip in a yorker in the penultimate ball of the match to get the wicket. Natural reaction for any sportsman!