rkt.india Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 How easily people forget that even in 2007 we were in winning position with Pakistan requiring almost 10 an over with tail-enders and Misbah. Pakistan was always just catching up and never went ahead. With 13 runs in last over' date=' most of the captains would go with a pacer.[/quote'] Bboth the matches against Pak in 2007, we should have won easily but for Misbah and our poor bowling both went to the wire.
Trichromatic Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 but joginder?? What do you mean? All other pacers had already completed their 4 overs. We had only Bhajji as main bowler.
Trichromatic Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 Bboth the matches against Pak in 2007' date=' we should have won easily but for Misbah and our poor bowling both went to the wire.[/quote'] +1. But somehow people portray our win as if it some kind of tukka.
sir ji Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 I would like to quote Shoaib akhtar again here- batting dimagh se hoti hai, chhakko se nahi :D Sent from my GT-I9103 using Tapatalk 2
jairamesh Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 the foreign players play in IPL too like Gayle' date='Watto,Warner,Hussey,Faf,AB.so not sure thats the main reason[/quote'] But if you look the above players, on per bowl faced ratio they hit more 6s than the Indian players, it's crude but the following gives you an idea lack of Indian six hitters, IPL 2012: [table=head]pos| Name| bowls faced|6s|Ratio, bwls faced:6s 1 | CH Gayle | 456 | 59 | 7.7 2 | KP Pietersen | 207 | 20 | 10.4 3 | MA Agarwal | 158 | 15 | 10.5 4 | DA Warner | 156 | 14 | 11.1 5 | JA Morkel | 68 | 6 | 11.3 6 | KA Pollard | 159 | 14 | 11.4 7 | SR Watson | 168 | 14 | 12 8 | DJ Bravo | 264 | 20 | 13.2 9 | AB de Villiers | 198 | 15 | 13.2 10 | DR Smith | 98 | 7 | 14 [/table] The best India player is theyoung Manyank Agarwal, and he is no where near the team.
rkt.india Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 Making an assumption here - most of the sixes are hit by openers or batsmen batting in last 4-5 overs. We didn't have hitters at those positions. Sehwag, Dhoni, Raina, Rohit all 6 hitters at top and in lower middle order.
rkt.india Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 More sixes doesnt mean you win more matches. In this team' date=' we have Sehwag who is a big six hitter who is completely out of form and didnt even play all games. Yuvraj is a big hitter but he is coming back after a gap and still not quite best as a batsman. Gambhir, Kohli, Rohit are attacking batsmen but they dont try to clear the boundary. That's why number of sixes are less.[/quote'] batsmen cannot hit boundary on every ball or even score on every ball. Sixes hit mean you can make up for dot balls which you have taken to settle down like Gayle does.
Mariyam Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 Mariyam' date=' your BIL improves to 11-0. :--D[/quote'] 12-0 now. He and his friends attended the India RSA game too. That's an amazing record. No matter which way you try to slice it.
Lord Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 12-0 now. He and his friends attended the India RSA game too. That's an amazing record. No matter which way you try to slice it. did they arrive late:((
rkt.india Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 Our batting was full of self-doubts, never looked like playing freely even when playing with 7 batsmen and Pathan and Ashwin at 8 and 9.
Lord Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 Our batting was full of self-doubts' date=' never looked like playing freely even when playing with 7 batsmen and Pathan and Ashwin at 8 and 9.[/quote'] ++ to me,they looked like playing for thier spots more than the team,except Virat
Sooda Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 The gym going point might well be true, but you also get Jayawardenes who are not powerful at all but score rapidly with just sheer skill. He might be a unique case. Raina and Dhoni at least are as powerful as most big hitters. The rest are nto quite, and Dhoni needs too long to settle before going into overdrive. perhaps he should have opened.
rkt.india Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 ++ to me,they looked like playing for thier spots more than the team,except Virat Agree.
rkt.india Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 The gym going point might well be true, but you also get Jayawardenes who are not powerful at all but score rapidly with just sheer skill. He might be a unique case. Raina and Dhoni at least are as powerful as most big hitters. The rest are nto quite, and Dhoni needs too long to settle before going into overdrive. perhaps he should have opened. Jaywardene is not as good a hitter or T20 as Gayle, Watson, etc. He does not always scores runs at a high SR. He barely scored runs for DD in IPL.
Mariyam Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 did they arrive late:(( They were supposed to attend the Pakistan game and the RSA game. And they did. And we won both the games. I don't think they attended the Aus-Pak game. Why would they? Watching a cricket match , even a T 20 gets monotonous after some time. Watching someone else's match when you are in another country doesn't seem like the thing they would do. They probably would have gone sightseeing or tried out some local cuisine. Either ways, 12-0 is the best record of anyone that I know. And it stretches back to 96, when he first attended an India game at the age of 7.
Trichromatic Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 Either ways, 12-0 is the best record of anyone that I know. And it stretches back to 96, when he first attended an India game at the age of 7. :omg:
Trichromatic Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 Sehwag' date=' Dhoni, Raina, Rohit all 6 hitters at top and in lower middle order.[/quote'] Sehwag is horribly out of form and Dhoni is not a six hitter in this format.
Texy Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 Australia dominating majority of the predictions so far :haha:
Ammar1 Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 India is dam good team but dont waht happen to these guys brain full of money or what but have india have very bright future of batting but dont waht will happen to india when zaheer,irfan and harbajan retire dam it is like all part timers after them.
Crookbond Posted October 3, 2012 Posted October 3, 2012 IPL teams as well as Indian players have usually performed well in CLT20. How? I am not sure. Please elaborate. I also hope you read my complete post where I pointed out certain aspects of IPL that impede hitting growth.