Ram Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 Give her the benefit of doubt. If you put yourself in her shoes, you'll realize that if you are a politician, especially a women politician, who has had to overcome so many obstacles, break so many barriers, stare down so many criminals/thugs, fight so much adversity, you'll probably be totally cynical and suspecting of everything too. I dont think Mamata is crazy, I think she has probably seen so many dirty elements and ugly characters during her time in politics, even harmless students in a tv show morph into suspicious adversaries in front of her eyes. And deep down, I think many women politicians in India also probably feel that the country, especially the media, does not give them the credit they deserve. I have seen a very similar behavior displayed by Jayalalithaa too (combative, suspecting everything). Politics in India is a scumbag business and for a women like Mamata (or JJ) to rise all the way to the top is a humongous achievement. Lets give them the respect they deserve. Plus - Most of our politicians are still not that media savvy anyway. Just look Mamta talking about how there's a conspiracy on facebook.. Quite clearly, she has no clue what the hell facebook is about. But I must admit - I am sort of stunned by her underwhelming appearance. Obviously, she does not pay too much attention to her looks/appearance, but spends most of her time doing her job. Whether you like what she is doing or not, you at least have to respect the fact that she is one of the cleanest politicians around.
Texy Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 ^^^ those behavior patterns clearly disqualify her as a leader of a state. She's still in 80s thinking people will just pat her back and overlook the deficiencies. People especially youth are far more aware and will not tolerate this nonsense. This is the extended version of that video OP posted w/ audience reaction post walkout zPOn9Ldb9IQ&feature=relmfu
bangladeshifan Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 mamta is a disgrace. bcs of her there are many problems between bangladesh and india. and also bcs of her tata had to back out from west bengal if i remember correctly
yoda Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 Well you elect people like her, you deserve people like her!
Precambrian Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 Hardly bothered by her looks - but somes shuddh aadmi dusht aadmi ka kaam karega - she just cannot handle criticism.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 Give her the benefit of doubt. If you put yourself in her shoes, you'll realize that if you are a politician, especially a women politician, who has had to overcome so many obstacles, break so many barriers, stare down so many criminals/thugs, fight so much adversity, you'll probably be totally cynical and suspecting of everything too. I dont think Mamata is crazy, I think she has probably seen so many dirty elements and ugly characters during her time in politics, even harmless students in a tv show morph into suspicious adversaries in front of her eyes. And deep down, I think many women politicians in India also probably feel that the country, especially the media, does not give them the credit they deserve. I have seen a very similar behavior displayed by Jayalalithaa too (combative, suspecting everything). Politics in India is a scumbag business and for a women like Mamata (or JJ) to rise all the way to the top is a humongous achievement. Lets give them the respect they deserve. Plus - Most of our politicians are still not that media savvy anyway. Just look Mamta talking about how there's a conspiracy on facebook.. Quite clearly, she has no clue what the hell facebook is about. But I must admit - I am sort of stunned by her underwhelming appearance. Obviously, she does not pay too much attention to her looks/appearance, but spends most of her time doing her job. Whether you like what she is doing or not, you at least have to respect the fact that she is one of the cleanest politicians around. For how long can we give her the benefit of the doubt? She has been doing things like this right from day one and each incident gets crazier than the previous one. And its not as if she has suddenly become this crazy, eccentric, unpredictable, media hating politician - she has always been like this. Here is an example - Didi's vanishing act I've only met Mamata Banerjee once. It was nearly 11 years ago in 2001. However, that single experience could hold the key to understanding her wayward behaviour today. Miss Banerjee agreed to give the BBC programme HARDtalk India an interview. It was fixed for 11.30 am on a mutually agreed date in August. It was reconfirmed repeatedly, including the night before. But these assurances proved to be illusory. At the agreed time the producer, Vishal Pant, reached Parliament to escort Miss Banerjee to our studio. She met him in the lobby and they walked out together. Then, just before they got to the waiting car, she said she needed to nip back inside and promised to return in a jiffy. Vishal believed her and waited patiently. She never returned. For the first 10 minutes he thought someone must have detained her. For the next half hour he thought something urgent had cropped up. But when a whole hour lapsed he sensed she'd done the bunk. So Vishal went back into Parliament to look for the absconding Miss Banerjee. He found her surrounded by a group of Trinamool MPs. But when she saw him she refused to recognise him. It was as if she'd never seen him before. Vishal feared he had a serious problem. Hoping that wasn't the case he decided to find out. He walked up to Miss Banerjee and touched her hand to attract her attention. He was anxious to get her to the studio as quickly as possible. After all, by this time she was nearly two hours late. Miss Banerjee and the MPs surrounding her chose to misunderstand Vishal's gesture. They accused him of "grabbing" her. They claimed he had "misbehaved". And, as he recalls the incident today, "a minor scuffle" occurred. All because Miss Banerjee was determined to ditch the BBC without explanation, leave aside cause. Despite his best efforts, Vishal failed to persuade Miss Banerjee to keep her word. She simply left the group and disappeared. This time she was gone for hours. Hereafter Vishal and our other colleagues launched a wild goose chase, following every lead, heeding every bit of advice, checking (repeatedly) every home or office she could have visited. But to no avail. They got no further sight of Miss Banerjee. Like the Scarlet Pimpernel, she seemed to have "just left" each location where they thought they might find her. The hunt continued for hours. Cars anxiously scoured Delhi. Worried phone calls were put through to every person who might know where she was. Alerts were mounted at her home in case she suddenly turned up. But Miss Banerjee had vanished into thin air. Then, around 10 at night, Dinesh Trivedi came to our rescue. A few weeks earlier he had persuaded Mamata Banerjee to accept. Now he felt a need to salvage the situation. Dinesh asked Vishal to come to his flat in 30 minutes. An hour and a half later Vishal emerged with Miss Banerjee. The interview happened well after midnight. It wasn't a great interview but the main thing is it happened. Miss Banerjee snarled and snapped. For a large part she turned her head sideways, refusing to look me in the eye and giving the audience an angry profile to see. It was obvious she didn't care what anyone thought. Now, tell me, do you recognise today's West Bengal chief minister in this story? And do you think her mercurial behaviour is born of either insecurity or arrogance? Link If she continues like this than I am sure that she will be voted out of power in the next elections and will also lose a large number of MPs in Lok Sabha 2014. Well you elect people like her' date=' you deserve people like her![/quote'] the options in front of the people of Bengal were CPM or Mamta so I wouldn't exactly fault them for choosing her. That she turned out to be worse than CPM is their misfortune.
achilles Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 ^^^ those behavior patterns clearly disqualify her as a leader of a state. She's still in 80s thinking people will just pat her back and overlook the deficiencies. People especially youth are far more aware and will not tolerate this nonsense. This is the extended version of that video OP posted w/ audience reaction post walkout zPOn9Ldb9IQ&feature=relmfu I'm sorry to say this Texy dada, but the joke is on Bengal. All of us around the country and world can only say, "We told you so". This lady threw files at the Speaker, was dismissed from a bloody House of the Parliament, yet given a chance by the Congress and look at her behaviour. She didn't respect her own Railway Minister, for chrrisake, And We are expecting her to respect her people? Shameful. Utter disgrace. If people voted for her, they deserve this. The Left, for all their flaws have NEVER EVER in the times I've followed politics acted in this form of illogical and disrespectful manner.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 I'm sorry to say this Texy dada, but the joke is on Bengal. All of us around the country and world can only say, "We told you so". This lady threw files at the Speaker, was dismissed from a bloody House of the Parliament, yet given a chance by the Congress and look at her behaviour. She didn't respect her own Railway Minister, for chrrisake, And We are expecting her to respect her people? Shameful. Utter disgrace. If people voted for her, they deserve this. The Left, for all their flaws have NEVER EVER in the times I've followed politics acted in this form of illogical and disrespectful manner. Oh come one!!! they got 35 years of misery under one Govt and then finally they got a chance to vote them out. Did you really expect the people of Bengal to vote in the communists for another 5 years?? They took their chances with mercurial Mamta but unfortunately it hasn't worked out well but I wouldn't blame them for at least giving someone else a chance after 35 years.
bangladeshifan Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 Well you elect people like her' date=' you deserve people like her![/quote'] isnt that true for whole sc??
beetle Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 Oh come one!!! they got 35 years of misery under one Govt and then finally they got a chance to vote them out. Did you really expect the people of Bengal to vote in the communists for another 5 years?? They took their chances with mercurial Mamta but unfortunately it hasn't worked out well but I wouldn't blame them for at least giving someone else a chance after 35 years. To some extent I agree. Who knew she was such a big nut case?Most people expect politicians to behave differently when in power. One thing is sure...people who voted for her must be watching this horror show in shock.
Prakat Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 'Maoist' Taniya Bhardwaj replies to Mamata in an open letter... :nice: New Delhi: On Friday, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee called Presidency University student Taniya Bhardwaj a CPI(M) cadre and a Maoist for asking a question about the conduct of senior state ministers and officials over crimes against women. The question was asked at an open house session with the Chief Minister, conducted by CNN-IBN to mark one year of the Trinamool Congress's coming to power in West Bengal. An angry Banerjee castigated the audience for asking 'CPI(M) questions' and 'Maoist questions' and stormed out, refusing to participate further. Taniya Bhardwaj writes an open letter to Mamata Banerjee. Dear 'Simple Man', On being asked a simple question, you acquired a complicated avatar. We all went to the CNN-IBN question-answer session on Friday, May 18, at the Town Hall expecting to hear some heated exchanges, but it got too hot to handle. You, the most important person in West Bengal, labelled me and the rest of the audience 'Maoist and CPM cadres'. What exactly did we do to deserve this honour? We asked you questions. I asked you whether affiliates of your party, specifically minister Madan Mitra and MP Arabul Islam, who wield power, should act, or should have acted, more responsibly. Like many others, I was also greatly disturbed when Madan Mitra pronounced his own judgement on a rape victim before the police were done investigating. This woman, whose character was assassinated, is an Anglo-Indian, a member of the minority community. Thus, if we were to even forget about sensitivity, the question of political correctness still hangs over his conduct. A few months ago, this very same man had misbehaved with policemen who had stopped his car on the Eastern Metropolitan Bypass as part of its routine. As for the Arabul Islam case, it is still making headlines. I asked you something that had been on the minds of most people around me, people who voted for 'paribartan' (change). Is this what we expect of our leaders? The ones who set examples and whom people follow. This is all that I wanted to know. What I got to know, instead, is that in West Bengal, asking a question can be the equivalent of being a Maoist. 'Simple man', you claimed with pride on stage that you're not a feminist. That proclamation did not surprise us, especially after the ***** and Park Street cases. You also spoke of democracy. The answers you gave to the questions you took before mine were sprinkled with words like ‘people’, 'democracy', and 'Bengal'. But one of the most important features of a true democracy, which I have learnt as a student of political science, is freedom of expression. This freedom is the one that allows an individual to express oneself, to not have to mince words out of fear of authority. It involves enjoying a chuckle or two at cartoon about important public figures. Sadly, there seems to be a gradual failure in this aspect of the democratic machinery in the state. And just like I won’t become a Maoist simply because you called me one, the state too won’t epitomize democracy unless it is truly so in all spheres. All said and done, what you did was in haste and it made me the centre of attention. And as you stomped off in fury, you automatically assumed the role of the spoilsport. It would have been so much more ‘simple’ had you just answered my question, or even said “No comments” and moved on. The question became so important because you chose to make it important. You have spoken of 'brain drain' so many times. I hold offers from the University College, London and the School of Oriental and African Studies to study development and administration. I too will probably leave, and now you know the reason why. Had you stayed on, it would have been fun. And you would have honestly been 'a Chief Minister with a difference'. The role of your office as Chief Minister is to aggregate interest – you should at the least have heard us all out. "Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power". So said Abraham Lincoln. Love A Simple Woman – Taniya Bhardwaj http://ibnlive.in.com/news/calling-me-a-maoist-wont-make-me-one/259647-37-64.html
ravishingravi Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 Give her the benefit of doubt. If you put yourself in her shoes, you'll realize that if you are a politician, especially a women politician, who has had to overcome so many obstacles, break so many barriers, stare down so many criminals/thugs, fight so much adversity, you'll probably be totally cynical and suspecting of everything too. I dont think Mamata is crazy, I think she has probably seen so many dirty elements and ugly characters during her time in politics, even harmless students in a tv show morph into suspicious adversaries in front of her eyes. And deep down, I think many women politicians in India also probably feel that the country, especially the media, does not give them the credit they deserve. I have seen a very similar behavior displayed by Jayalalithaa too (combative, suspecting everything). Politics in India is a scumbag business and for a women like Mamata (or JJ) to rise all the way to the top is a humongous achievement. Lets give them the respect they deserve. Plus - Most of our politicians are still not that media savvy anyway. Just look Mamta talking about how there's a conspiracy on facebook.. Quite clearly, she has no clue what the hell facebook is about. But I must admit - I am sort of stunned by her underwhelming appearance. Obviously, she does not pay too much attention to her looks/appearance, but spends most of her time doing her job. Whether you like what she is doing or not, you at least have to respect the fact that she is one of the cleanest politicians around. I genuinely believe the most blinded supporters of Didi would struggle to come up with that kind of defence
akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 Give her the benefit of doubt. If you put yourself in her shoes, you'll realize that if you are a politician, especially a women politician, who has had to overcome so many obstacles, break so many barriers, stare down so many criminals/thugs, fight so much adversity, you'll probably be totally cynical and suspecting of everything too. I dont think Mamata is crazy, I think she has probably seen so many dirty elements and ugly characters during her time in politics, even harmless students in a tv show morph into suspicious adversaries in front of her eyes. And deep down, I think many women politicians in India also probably feel that the country, especially the media, does not give them the credit they deserve. I have seen a very similar behavior displayed by Jayalalithaa too (combative, suspecting everything). Politics in India is a scumbag business and for a women like Mamata (or JJ) to rise all the way to the top is a humongous achievement. Lets give them the respect they deserve. Plus - Most of our politicians are still not that media savvy anyway. Just look Mamta talking about how there's a conspiracy on facebook.. Quite clearly, she has no clue what the hell facebook is about. But I must admit - I am sort of stunned by her underwhelming appearance. Obviously, she does not pay too much attention to her looks/appearance, but spends most of her time doing her job. Whether you like what she is doing or not, you at least have to respect the fact that she is one of the cleanest politicians around. That is what is called - white lie.. Waqalat/netagiri ke baarey mein kya khyaal hai miyan?
Anonymous Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 Just when I thought our netas cannot surprise me anymore, here comes another gem. Btw, I do agree to Ram's post to an extent as women politicians are always underdogs in an openly sexist fraternity. Most people would struggle to come up with one Woman Politician's name from around the world who hasnt felt the need to assert herself in an over the top manner. From Indira Gandhi to Margaret Thatcher, they've all been over the top at some point in their careers. Having said that, Mamta is a joke even by our standards. Hard luck my bong brothers and sisters
Ram Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 My point is very simple - If you are a politician (especially of the female type) who has risen from very humble trappings to rise all the way to the top, you'll be cynical and wary of everything too. That does not make you crazy, it just makes you somebody who has pretty much lost faith in everyone/everything. Besides, there has not been a single corruption allegation against Mamta so far.. Compare that to the 1000s of crores looted by the scumbags from DMK, RJD, Congress (in Punjab, AP) and various other netas... Give me Mamta over any of those criminals anyday.
beetle Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 My point is very simple - If you are a politician (especially of the female type) who has risen from very humble trappings to rise all the way to the top, you'll be cynical and wary of everything too. That does not make you crazy, it just makes you somebody who has pretty much lost faith in everyone/everything. Besides, there has not been a single corruption allegation against Mamta so far.. Compare that to the 1000s of crores looted by the scumbags from DMK, RJD, Congress (in Punjab, AP) and various other netas... Give me Mamta over any of those criminals anyday. Have you been following her in the last few months Ram.....this is a case of a person who is not mentally normal.She sent the police to investigate the girls who asked uncomfortable questions.......how mad can you get?
Lurker Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 My point is very simple - If you are a politician (especially of the female type) who has risen from very humble trappings to rise all the way to the top, you'll be cynical and wary of everything too. That does not make you crazy, it just makes you somebody who has pretty much lost faith in everyone/everything. Besides, there has not been a single corruption allegation against Mamta so far.. Compare that to the 1000s of crores looted by the scumbags from DMK, RJD, Congress (in Punjab, AP) and various other netas... Give me Mamta over any of those criminals anyday. Spare me this whole abla-nari phenomenon. This is not 19th century for crying out loud. If women in this age want to be treated equally such points are moot. By the way Mayawati and Rabri Devi both came from humble backgrouund and are females but when they had a chance they raped their states as much as their male counterparts.
Sachin=GOD Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 My point is very simple - If you are a politician (especially of the female type) who has risen from very humble trappings to rise all the way to the top' date=' [b']you'll be cynical and wary of everything too. That does not make you crazy, it just makes you somebody who has pretty much lost faith in everyone/everything. female politicians in India have almost always been more unpredictable, eccentric and paranoid than men. Look at some of the current ones - Mamta, Mayawati, Jayalalitha, Uma Bharti, Vasundhra Raje, Rabri Devi - all are very unpredictable and eccentric but when it comes to corruption, nearly all of them are at par (if not more corrupt) than men. Besides, there has not been a single corruption allegation against Mamta so far.. Compare that to the 1000s of crores looted by the scumbags from DMK, RJD, Congress (in Punjab, AP) and various other netas... Give me Mamta over any of those criminals anyday. this seems to be her only achievement as WB Chief Minister because AFAIK her Govt hasn't done anything of note in the last one year in Bengal while at the Center she has done her best to get in the way of the Congress (and even her own party) in what little work they may have wanted to do (for ex - FDI in retail and railway fare hike). btw in your earlier post you said that it looks like she does not pay too much attention to her looks/appearance, but spends most of her time doing her job - I'd say right now she seems too busy in fighting off cartoonists and imaginary communists than in doing work.
Ram Posted May 21, 2012 Posted May 21, 2012 Have you been following her in the last few months Ram.....this is a case of a person who is not mentally normal.She sent the police to investigate the girls who asked uncomfortable questions.......how mad can you get? Beets - I admit, I have not been following everything she has been. But the fact of the matter is, we have seen far worser 'netas' in our time than the Mamta types.. Spare me this whole abla-nari phenomenon. This is not 19th century for crying out loud. If women in this age want to be treated equally such points are moot. By the way Mayawati and Rabri Devi both came from humble backgrouund and are females but when they had a chance they raped their states as much as their male counterparts. I have never defended either Mayawati or Rabri or JJ's record (in her first term. I do believe she was too naive and was manipulated during her first term b/w 91 and 96, but came back to become one of India's best CMs b/w 2001-2006 and will make TN one of the better states in the nation). The thing with Mamta is - Yes, he nuts maybe a little loose, but she has a very compelling story. She is not your average 'kiss-the-butt-of-corporates' leader who jets around in private planes and attends FDI summits. She is your common-man, rubber-meets-the-road type of politician. And I like that. Once again - I am not saying she is ideal, but compared to the rest of scumbags we have, she is not that bad.