Tiger80 Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 ARA/PATNA: A child prodigy from Bhojpur district in Bihar has created history by cracking the IIT-JEE 2012 at the age of 12 years and nine months. Satyam Kumar of Bakhorapur village under Barahara block in Bhojpur district got all-India rank (AIR) 8,137 in the prestigious competition. He qualified from Mumbai zone, and is still awaiting his plus two results. Born on July 20, 1999, in an illiterate farmer's family, he showed his talent from childhood itself. His father Sidhnath Singh and mother Pramila Singh recognized his talent and he was admitted to Central Public School, Patna, in Standard IX at a tender age. But he left his study there midway and went to Kota in Rajasthan to join a coaching institute there. The institute's director, R K Verma, himself took his test and found latent genius in him. Verma helped finance his studies from Standard 9 to class 12, that resulted in his success in the one of the toughest examinations in the country at such a tender age. Satyam had passed class X board examination from a Kota school. Sidhnath Singh said his family members, Satyam's teachers and he himself always marvelled at his talent and they felt that the boy would do something extraordinary in his life one day. The success of his son had brought laurels to the family, which was till now in oblivion. However, Satyam said though he was happy to crack IIT-JEE, he would not join IIT this year because of his poor rank. He would make another attempt next year for a good rank, and wanted to develop a software company. Meanwhile, the entire Bakhorapur village celebrated Satyam's success by bursting crackers. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/patna/Bihar-farmers-12-year-old-son-cracks-IIT-JEE/articleshow/13308468.cms
Lurker Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 Nice. Whats the story behind Kota? It seems to have become the IIT generating mine really.
beetle Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 :hatsoff::hatsoff::hatsoff:iska dimaag to computer se bhi tez chalta hai:alberteinstein:
Clarke Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 Nice. Whats the story behind Kota? It seems to have become the IIT generating mine really. Rajasthan Atomic Power Station ..radiation .. The IITians :secret:
Tiger80 Posted May 20, 2012 Author Posted May 20, 2012 Nice. Whats the story behind Kota? It seems to have become the IIT generating mine really. Kota churns out maximum IITians http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2005-06-27/india/27833670_1_iit-jee-bansal-classes-kota
akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 ARA/PATNA: A child prodigy from Bhojpur district in Bihar has created history by cracking the IIT-JEE 2012 at the age of 12 years and nine months. Satyam Kumar of Bakhorapur village under Barahara block in Bhojpur district got all-India rank (AIR) 8,137 in the prestigious competition. He qualified from Mumbai zone, and is still awaiting his plus two results. Born on July 20, 1999, in an illiterate farmer's family, he showed his talent from childhood itself. His father Sidhnath Singh and mother Pramila Singh recognized his talent and he was admitted to Central Public School, Patna, in Standard IX at a tender age. But he left his study there midway and went to Kota in Rajasthan to join a coaching institute there. The institute's director, R K Verma, himself took his test and found latent genius in him. Verma helped finance his studies from Standard 9 to class 12, that resulted in his success in the one of the toughest examinations in the country at such a tender age. Satyam had passed class X board examination from a Kota school. Sidhnath Singh said his family members, Satyam's teachers and he himself always marvelled at his talent and they felt that the boy would do something extraordinary in his life one day. The success of his son had brought laurels to the family, which was till now in oblivion. However, Satyam said though he was happy to crack IIT-JEE, he would not join IIT this year because of his poor rank. He would make another attempt next year for a good rank, and wanted to develop a software company. Meanwhile, the entire Bakhorapur village celebrated Satyam's success by bursting crackers. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/patna/Bihar-farmers-12-year-old-son-cracks-IIT-JEE/articleshow/13308468.cms One of the most competitive.. don't think it can be labeled as 'toughest' anymore. Also, few years earlier - rank of 8k+ wouldn't have counted as 'cracking JEE'. Hats off to the kid anyway, esp because where he has come from.
akshayxyz Posted May 20, 2012 Posted May 20, 2012 rank of 8000 is hardly 'cracking' JEE wait until few years, and one can 'crack' even with 18000 rank.
Crookbond Posted May 22, 2012 Posted May 22, 2012 A 12 year old getting a 8k rank is cracking in my books.
Texy Posted May 22, 2012 Posted May 22, 2012 speaking of smart biharis ....recently found out...CEO of MOTOROLA is a bihari :hatsoff:
Prakat Posted May 22, 2012 Posted May 22, 2012 A 12 year old getting a 8k rank is cracking in my books. true. can't believe people are getting tough on his rank. :giggle:
nballa Posted May 22, 2012 Posted May 22, 2012 quite possible, if they crack the seals of the question papers a few months before cracking the IIT JEE.
akshayxyz Posted May 22, 2012 Posted May 22, 2012 true. can't believe people are getting tough on his rank. :giggle: So that he does not become one like this Hi, I am Tathagat Avatar Tulsi, working as Assistant Professor of Physics at IIT Bombay. Can you believe that I did my High School at the age of 9, B.Sc. at 11 and M.Sc. at 12 years. Yes, that's true !! There is something special about me :) IMO, There are quite a few kids of his age could have been trained to solve such MCQ-heavy exams. As per this graph http://jee.sdslabs.co/graph/index.html, he must have solved about less than 50% of the paper. Which is very much commendable (as few other lakhs don't manage even that) - but not exactly cracking. Definition of 'cracking' should be irrespective of the age-handicap. I would rather like him to lead normal life and prepare towards Maths/Physics Olympiad kind of exams, which test your subjective problem solving skills and require deeper understanding of the concepts. On the other hand, may be this is the kind of stunt that was required to get the attention and access to resources. But from here on, he needs to change the approach and mentor too. EDIT: Or it would have been much more impressive (and worthwhile), if he had waited couple of more year and got in top 50-100.
Prakat Posted May 22, 2012 Posted May 22, 2012 So that he does not become one like this Dude he does not read your comments.
Crookbond Posted May 23, 2012 Posted May 23, 2012 So that he does not become one like this IMO, There are quite a few kids of his age could have been trained to solve such MCQ-heavy exams. As per this graph http://jee.sdslabs.co/graph/index.html, he must have solved about less than 50% of the paper. Which is very much commendable (as few other lakhs don't manage even that) - but not exactly cracking. Definition of 'cracking' should be irrespective of the age-handicap. I would rather like him to lead normal life and prepare towards Maths/Physics Olympiad kind of exams, which test your subjective problem solving skills and require deeper understanding of the concepts. On the other hand, may be this is the kind of stunt that was required to get the attention and access to resources. But from here on, he needs to change the approach and mentor too. EDIT: Or it would have been much more impressive (and worthwhile), if he had waited couple of more year and got in top 50-100. One can't judge present achievements on the future. I understand where you come from but irrespective of he goes on to be a whiz kid or a dude I wouldn't belittle this achievement on precognition.
akshayxyz Posted May 23, 2012 Posted May 23, 2012 Dude he does not read your comments. I just left example for whoever wants to pick. And anyway we have this thing callled - six degrees of seperation..:P.. koi tou padhega, kisi kee buddhi mein tou jaayega.
akshayxyz Posted May 23, 2012 Posted May 23, 2012 One can't judge present achievements on the future. I understand where you come from but irrespective of he goes on to be a whiz kid or a dude I wouldn't belittle this achievement on precognition. there is a difference - I am not belittling his achievement. Just saying that, objectively speaking that is not exactly - 'cracking'. Now that he got the platform and attention - aim should be absolute excellence and not compromising on that (continue competing with age-handicap).