Sachin=GOD Posted January 4, 2014 Posted January 4, 2014 Which actor looks like Narendra Modi the most? Recently Vivek Oberoi was approached by US based filmmaker to play the role of young Narendra Modi. While he is yet to give his nod for the role, Faking News finds out which actor resembles present Narendra Modi the most. :cantstop::cantstop: BTW I think Paresh Rawal would play Modi pretty well if given a chance.
ravishingravi Posted January 5, 2014 Posted January 5, 2014 Paresh Rawal can play him. He would relish it given that he is an open Modi supporter. Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Crookbond Posted January 5, 2014 Posted January 5, 2014 Outsiders in Kutch’s mini-Punjab: Sikh farmers battling for their land http://www.indianexpress.com/news/outsiders-in-kutch-s-minipunjab-sikh-farmers-battling-for-their-land/1215557/0
bulbul Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 Modi stressed that there was a need to reform the taxation system of the country. "Taxation system is burdening common man. Reform is needed and BJP is working on it. We can find solutions for every problem and small efforts can bring big changes. The expectations from BJP and me are very high, we will try our level best to fulfil them," he said.. http://ibnlive.in.com/news/taxation-system-is-burdening-common-man-bjp-working-on-it-modi/443563-37-64.html I also heard from some people that BJP manifesto will include removal of IT and use only one tax system.
zumi Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 hopefully someone rids the stupidity that is the excise tax
ganeshran Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 As usual empty rhetoric by Modi. We will reform taxation system. Kya karenge, woh pata nahi but we will reform it.
Clarke Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 Not that it is an awesome idea they're projecting, but our politics hasn't matured to talk about in depth tax policy before elections. We've heard garibi hatao from our grand party since time immemorial and we're still talking of inclusive politics or lack of it.
ganeshran Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 We will do tax reform, we will bring back black money, we will end corruption is no more vague than Garibi hatao. Both betray lack of any actual plan in favor of easy sound bytes. If Modi is going to change the system, he should give an outline of how he plans to go about achieving this. Surely the middle class is smart enough to evaluate and discuss the solutions. One just has to wait for the inevitable "Hum Raam mandir banayenge" slogan coming any day now before the elections
diga Posted January 6, 2014 Posted January 6, 2014 When only about 4% of the population pays income tax, does it matter what one says on that subject? It may be empty rhetoric, but it will hardly bring substantial vote bank.. What brings votes are reservation/Free rice
Khalpat Posted January 7, 2014 Posted January 7, 2014 Its a really good writeup. http://guruprasad.net/posts/modi-phenomenon-propaganda-or-reality/ Modi phenomenon: Propaganda or Reality? It was back in the summer of 2002 when I first heard of Narendra Modi, who was labeled “Butcher of Gujaratâ€. Being a naive boy who did not bother about exploring facts, it was but natural for me to believe everything said by friends, trust opinions of “experts†on TV shows and editors of magazines (notice that I have used the word “opinion†which is different from “reportâ€. While news reports are based on real events, opinions are subjective and can be manipulative). Just like millions of other young Indians, I was also a staunch critic of Modi and even just a mention of his name used to make me nauseous. (How could someone even think of killing thousands of innocent people, still be arrogant/adamant and continue to be the CM?) Fastforward to 2008-09. After settling down with a job in IT industry and with some leisure time during weekends, I decided to take up some interesting online courses to explore non-technical subjects. One such course was about psychology where I learnt concepts like cognitive behavior, media’s role in brainwash, mind manipulation & propaganda. And this got me thinking whether I am/was also a victim of a propaganda. I had to explore it by taking up one case. Since Modi had just then become a CM for the third term (which was indeed shocking. How could people vote for a mass murderer third time consecutively?), I decided to take up his case. I talked to friends & colleagues about their opinion on Modi and the the most common criticisms/allegations attributed towards him are broadly categorized as follows: 1) Mass-murderer. During the 2002 riots, Modi had given a free hand to extremists to go on a killing spree which lasted for several days/weeks. He called the army after 3 full days. 2) Gujarat was already a developed state. He has done nothing significant. 3) Careless attitude towards minorities. It is a living hell for minorities in his state. Not just my friends but even I had always believed these criticisms/allegations and even young students were being brainwashed as explained in this article: http://guruprasad.net/posts/the-morale-of-school-textbooks-moral-story-writers/ This time, I wanted to look at it like a psychology student without any preconceived notions. So, my research began with a clear mind and for the next few weeks, I accessed several official documents, official news archives, court reports, verdicts, statements etc and the following was what I found. 1) Mass-murderer, 2002 riots, calling army. This was the most shocking part of the research process. When I unearthed official archives of newspapers, I was surprised to find that Modi had actually called army as soon as the riots began. Hence, I was not surprised when Supreme Court gave a clean chit to Modi because everything that was mentioned in SIT (Special Investigation team appionted by Supreme Court) report was already in public domain which I had found much earlier. Apart from calling the army immediately, Modi had deployed special police forces (Rapid Action Task Force) and the riot was in control within 72 hours. To summarise: -Train was burnt on Feb 27th, 2002. -Riots started on Feb 28th. -Army was called on Feb 28th itself within hours. -Army began flag marches on the next day i.e March 1st (Feb in 2002 had 28 days) -By March 3rd, riots were under control. News archive links: http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/2002/02/28/stories/2002022803070100.htm http://hindu.com/2002/03/01/stories/2002030103030100.htm http://hindu.com/2002/03/02/stories/2002030203050100.htm http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/2002/03/04/stories/2002030403090100.htm Also, it was surprising to find that Modi had called for help from neighboring states (Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh & Maharashtra) requesting for police forces but none offered any help (Maharashtra sent some police teams but it was not of much use). This is mentioned in SIT report, page 448. Full report: http://ibnlive.in.com/news/full-text-sit-closure-report-on-gujarat-riots/256419-3.html 2) Gujarat was already a developed state. He has done nothing significant. While it cannot be denied that Gujarat was among the better states in India, it was still lagging in several areas including agriculture, electricity & infrastructure. All the information which were in public domain were consolidated and have been presented in the following snapshots which depict the transformation of the state in the above said areas. Water & Agriculture: News reference links: http://www.narmada.org/archive/hindu/files/hindu.19990926.0426206n.htm http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2002-04-16/ahmedabad/27110008_1_water-crisis-water-supply-water-problem http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2002-12-25/india/27319356_1_chief-minister-narendra-modi-power-generation-buddhisagar-parishad http://www.business-standard.com/india/news/gujarat-clears-rs-6088-crore-water-plan/144488/ http://www.hindu.com/2007/06/15/stories/2007061510401200.htm http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_guj-to-spend-rs400-crore-on-micro-irrigation-projects-narendra-modi_1676354 http://www.dailypioneer.com/columnists/item/51912-in-gujarat-water-woes-no-more.html http://www.indianexpress.com/news/gujarats-agri-success-an-eyeopener-kalam/975557/ Electricity & Alternate energy: News Reference links: http://www.thehindubusinessline.in/2005/09/06/stories/2005090603110900.htm http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2008-07-20/ahmedabad/27939776_1_power-stations-power-crisis-power-situation http://www.indianexpress.com/news/gujarat-warming-up-to-concept-of-alternative-power/358318/0 http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2010-12-06/news/27582525_1_solar-power-generation-capacity-gujarat-urja-vikas-nigam http://ibnlive.in.com/news/guj-24hour-power-supply-in-over-18000-villages/250309-3.html http://www.indiaenvironmentportal.org.in/news/farooq-hails-modi’s-solar-project 3) Careless attitude towards minorities. It is a living hell for minorities in his state. In 2005, Prime Minister of India, Dr. Manmohan Singh (of the Congress party which is a rival of Modi’s BJP) appointed a committee to prepare a report on the latest social, economic and educational condition of the Muslim community (minority) of India. After thorough survey and investigations, a 400 page report was presented in 2006-07 and to the surprise of many, it said that muslims in Gujarat were much better-off when compared to muslims of other states. i.e in terms of education, per capita income, percentage of muslims in govt jobs, police force and more. News Reference links: http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-News-2-133721-Modi-emerging-as-popular-leader-of-Muslims-in-Gujarat http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2012-11-12/india/35067790_1_muslim-cops-police-stations-sachar-committee Full report of Sachar committee: http://zakatindia.org/Files/Sachar%20Report%20(Full).pdf Update 1: Of late, there has been severe criticism towards handling of malnutrition problem in Gujarat. After the release of CAG report, the hottest topic is about every third child in the state being malnourished, but if seen from the perspective of an analyst, it is evident that there has been a substantial decrease in malnourished children in Gujarat as the CAG report itself indicates. Official report link: http://saiindia.gov.in/english/home/Our_Products/Audit_Report/Government_Wise/union_audit/recent_reports/union_performance/2012_2013/Civil/Report_22/Chap_6.pdf UPDATE 2: Please visit the following link to read part-2 of the case study: http://guruprasad.net/posts/part-2-modi-phenomenon-propaganda-or-reality/ Note: This case study is not to support or criticize any politician/party/govt but to dig out the reality and to quash false propaganda, if any. Allegations like “fake leaderâ€, “cult builder†etc are minor and typical in political competitions. But a propaganda claiming someone of “mass-murderer†is serious and hence it was taken as the first topic in this study. This article (and hence the study) is still not complete and will be updated based on more inputs & unearthing of further facts. Share this with your friends so that they also become aware of facts & participate in this study to provide more inputs.
bulbul Posted January 7, 2014 Posted January 7, 2014 ^ Saar , time to stop worrying about resident secualars , looks like India is moving aways from secular BS :winky:
Crookbond Posted January 9, 2014 Posted January 9, 2014 Modi critic loses job in Sun TV: Activists http://www.theweekendleader.com/Headlines/1821/modi-critic-loses-job-in-sun-tv:-activists.html#sthash.lUXajXVv.dpuf Political and human rights activists have strongly condemned Sun TV for stopping a popular Tamil talk show anchored by political analyst Veerapandian for the last 17 years, succumbing to pressure from the BJP. They allege that Sun TV had taken the decision to stop the program following a letter from the BJP’s state office secretary Sarvothaman to its MD on the 23rd of last month stating that no BJP representative would take part in Veerapandian’s programs on the channel. A joint statement issued by a group of journalists, writers and activists stated, “A few weeks ago Veerapandian participated in a meeting in Chennai wherein a Human Rights organization released its fact finding report on the Muzaffarnagar riots. “While speaking on the occasion Veerapandian made certain critical remarks on the BJP and its Prime Ministerial Candidate Narendera Modi. Some persons had uploaded his speech in the social media.” They said that in his letter Sarvothaman had stated that ”Veerapandian’s speech was divisive and could create problems between two groups, and his programs on Sun TV has never been impartial.” They alleged that the BJP leader had also requested for action to be taken against Veerapandian. The statement further added that “consequently from last Saturday, Sun TV has stopped telecasting Veerapandian’s programs,” and appealed to Sun TV to allow Veerapandian “to resume his duties as an anchor person.” “India is a Democratic Republic. To express one’s opinions freely and without fear is one of the basic rights accorded to its citizens in the constitution. This right is fundamental to all citizens of India including Press and Media people,” the statement said. Following are the signatories to the statement: K. Veeramani, President, Dravidar Kazhagam M. Sudarsana Nachiyappan, Minister of State for Commerce and Industry Tha. Pandian, State Secretary, CPI Gnanadesigan, State President, TNCC S. Peter Alphonse, Ex. Member of Parliament Thol. Thirumavalavan, MP and President, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi M.H. Jawahirullah, MLA and Legislative Party Leader, Manithaneya Makkal Katchi K. M. Kader Mohideen, Ex. MP and General Secretary, Indian Union Muslim League Viduthalai Rajendran, General Secretary, Dravidar Viduthalai Kazhagam Senthamilan. Seeman, Chief Coordinator, Naam Thamizhar Katchi Suba. Veerapandian, President, Dravida Iyakka Thamilar Peravai Tamil Selvan, State Secretary, Progressive Writers & Artist Association Peter Fernando, Archbishop of Madurai Kaviko Abdul Rahman, Poet & Writer Henri Thiphange, Executive Director, Peoples' Watch A. Marx, Human Right Activist Kavingnar Manushya Puthiran, Publisher Thirumurugan Gandhi, Coordinator, May 17 Movement J.S. Rifayee, President, Tamilnadu Muslim Munnetra Kazhagam Abdul Rahman, Member of Parliament, Vellore Constituency Kovai Ku. Ramakritinan, General Secretary, Thanthai Periyar Thi.Ka M. Ezra Sargunam, Bishop,Evangelical Church of India and Founder, Indhiya Samuga Neethi Iyakkam Pe. Maniyarasan, President, Tamildesa Podhu Udamai Katchi A. Kumaresan, Cheif Editor, Theekhadir Devasagayam, Bishop CSI, Chennai Gnani, Writer & Journalist V. Suresh, National General Secretary, People's Union for Civil Liberties Ko. Sugumaran, Makkal Urimai Kootamaippu TSS Mani, Journalist Senthil, Coordinator, Save Tamils Movement - TWL Bureau
bulbul Posted January 10, 2014 Posted January 10, 2014 Modi now makes people lose jobs as well :hysterical:
coffee_rules Posted January 10, 2014 Posted January 10, 2014 Since the Delhi elections, have to say Kejriwal has pulled the red carpet under Modi. He has stolen the thunder from Modi. Focus on Modi by the media is diverted to AAP. Don't know if it good or bad for Modi/BJP.
diga Posted January 10, 2014 Posted January 10, 2014 Since the Delhi elections' date=' have to say Kejriwal has pulled the red carpet under Modi. He has stolen the thunder from Modi. Focus on Modi by the media is diverted to AAP. Don't know if it good or bad for Modi/BJP.[/quote'] not only that.. not many updates on the newly elected govts of Raj/MP/Chattisgarh
diga Posted January 14, 2014 Posted January 14, 2014 belligerent Narendra Modi on Sunday rebuked home minister Sushilkumar Shinde and former environment minister Jayanthi Natrajan. The BJP's PM hopeful objected strongly against Shinde's letter to the chief ministers asking them to review terror cases against Muslims, and took a jibe at Natrajan saying there was a 'Jayanti tax' under her watch at the environment ministry that derailed crucial projects.
The Outsider Posted January 14, 2014 Posted January 14, 2014 Fascism in overdrive. State police and machinery being used to target members of a party seen as a threat.