vamos_rafa Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 IMO Dhoni has to continue. He has let us down last year but there is not much a captain can do with a team like this. Gambhir as an opener has not even made enough runs to guarantee a place in the test side. Now after winning an IPL, he is a potential captain, wow. Last 12 months: Gambhir test average = 25.15 Dhoni test average = 27.80 This is what I have been trying to say. Gambhir the batter has been far more pathetic than even dhoni the batter. But, then it would be said that gambhir is leagues ahead of MS. On paper, Gambhir might be far more better, but the truth is he has struggled far more than guys like MS or Ashwin. and no need to mention about that FTB, sehwag.
VRV Singh Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 I honestly think Ganguly is the biggest retard associated with Indian cricket right now. This is an amazing achievement considering some of the characters around. No offence to his disciples. He is the same guy who was saying Sehwag is the best candidate to replace Dhoni as Test captain only a few weeks ago. What has changed Gangu? Victory in an IPL tournament? But but what about the crusade you have been on about Dhoni in Tesht metch crickit :hitler: Seriously do me a favour. Guy is just a rent-a-quote who changes with the wind.
Needforspeed Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 I dont think the selectors intend to make Gambhir the next captain. They must have made Kohli the vice-captain with some plan in mind. Dhoni has already indicated that he may quit test cricket after 2013. I think Dhoni will remain captain until 2013 and then Kohli will take over. Neither Gambhir nor Sehwag seem to be in the scheme of things.
CG Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 IMO Dhoni has to continue. He has let us down last year but there is not much a captain can do with a team like this. Gambhir as an opener has not even made enough runs to guarantee a place in the test side. Now after winning an IPL, he is a potential captain, wow. Last 12 months: Gambhir test average = 25.15 Dhoni test average = 27.80 If we followed your logic no captain will get sacked.Fact is Captain gets all the accolades after winning and deserves the blame after loses particularly 2 white washes,which is a disgrace considering we were no 1 team recently.His selections have been questionable and tactics shoddy and results show .If we lose or draw at home agianst nz we will see a change in captaincy.
CG Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 I dont think the selectors intend to make Gambhir the next captain. They must have made Kohli the vice-captain with some plan in mind. Dhoni has already indicated that he may quit test cricket after 2013. I think Dhoni will remain captain until 2013 and then Kohli will take over. Neither Gambhir nor Sehwag seem to be in the scheme of things. Plan in mind.:omg: this is india not eng or aus we just do things and with this bunch of jokers you can only expect them planning to send there sons abroad on a tours.
Ultimate_Game Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 I concur. Gambhir should be the Test captain and vice-captain in other formats. Kohli should be the next in line but after Gambhir.
tothepoint Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 Dhoni should stay, Gambhir has been worse of late. And what about Rahane and Pujara?! These guys should be in the team ASAP.
GautiMaan Posted May 30, 2012 Posted May 30, 2012 Gauti is a very intense character and will not let the game drift away that much is certain,however his temper may prove detrimental in the long run.Msd might have failed tactically in tests but he is the better man manager. Gauti in tests and msd for ODI's is the way forward
someone Posted May 31, 2012 Posted May 31, 2012 Gauti is a very intense character and will not let the game drift away that much is certain,however his temper may prove detrimental in the long run.Msd might have failed tactically in tests but he is the better man manager. Gauti in tests and msd for ODI's is the way forward I would differ from you. To judge a person on captaincy material, you have to look how he responds when the team is under pressure, and Gambhir definately loses composure. That is the key and problem with Gambhir. Dhoni on the other hand knows the game well and remains composed throughout.
Marut Posted June 1, 2012 Posted June 1, 2012 If we followed your logic no captain will get sacked.Fact is Captain gets all the accolades after winning and deserves the blame after loses particularly 2 white washes' date='which is a disgrace considering we were no 1 team recently.His selections have been questionable and tactics shoddy and results show .If we lose or draw at home agianst nz we will see a change in captaincy.[/quote'] The captain of a weak team is too easy to target. His selections have been questionable in the ODIs - not tests. I do not think we had selection issues in Australia, except the Adelaide test, in which Dhoni did not play. Agree that if we flounder even at home, a change would be desirable. As of now, our test team is screwed big time for a whole lot of reasons, and it may need an overhaul - and changing the captain and bringing in an inexperienced one at this time may complicate matters. Dhoni brings in a sense of calmness rarely seen in international players, particularly captains, he can take the pressure and revive the fortunes of the team if the team has the desire and energy to win.
Spiderguy252 Posted June 1, 2012 Posted June 1, 2012 +1 for Gambo as test skipper. Chuck MS 8-0 Dhoni out to solely pajama cricket.
saneindian Posted June 1, 2012 Posted June 1, 2012 I'm ready to captain Indian Test team: Gambhir Having led Kolkata Knight Riders to the Indian Premier League triumph, Gautam Gambhir on Friday said that he is ready to captain the Indian Test side. Asked if he was ready to lead the Test side, Gambhir said, "Absolutely, it is the biggest honour. I am ready for it. Ready for the responsibility of the challenge because you want to take different challenges as well. That's where your mental toughness and character will be tested." "I have heard of the talks (of he being made India captain) but as I have said a captain is as good as the team. It's a successful team that makes a successful captain and not that a successful captain makes a successful team," he said. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/top-stories/Im-ready-to-captain-India-Test-team-Gambhir/articleshow/13708357.cms Gauti going all out after the captaincy. Not sure if this is the right approach. Don't think the BCCI and our selectors will view these statements very kindly.
bulbul Posted June 1, 2012 Posted June 1, 2012 Dhoni already gave hint that he may retire from one form of game soon..so who knows making Kohli VC is doesn't mean he will automatically gets Captaincy fro long term
Number Posted June 1, 2012 Posted June 1, 2012 yep, I saw the interview. "Yes, I am ready" was the obvious answer.
yoda Posted June 1, 2012 Posted June 1, 2012 Gambhir as test cappie based on IPL? :hysterical: The same guys who biatch about any other player being selected based on IPL performance are all squealing like little girls now, rooting for Gambhir as test cappo. :hahaha: I am sure the comeback will be, oh no, he deserved this even before his Tamasha performance. :winky:
MCcricket Posted June 1, 2012 Posted June 1, 2012 Kudos to Gambhir, his name was spelt out by cricket loving public long before the IPL, Dhoni has rode his luck and is pathetic in captaining a test side , especially outside India, a one trick pony.BCCI is a very retro active body, hope they wake up from slumber and smell the coffee as Dhoni is a liability in test's and is dividing the team.
JourneyMan Posted June 1, 2012 Posted June 1, 2012 Dude wins a T20 tamasha league and they're calling for him to captain an international test side. To quote Govinda's playback singer: "It happens only in In-dia"