Its sad that people like BharkaDutt will go on & on about Babri Masjid/Gujarat Riots every year whereas conveniently forget the emergency.. Hypocrisy that we want to be secular but not democratic

another gem from BDUTT.. rejoices at democracy in Egypt, when the whole world knows its Muslim brotherhood who have won the elections We may or may not not like choices thrown up by transition in #Egypt. But the people's right to choose has to be the First Principle.

Was this the "safest" period for citizens though? IDK anything about it just curious.
Not really, fundamental rights were curtailed massively and could be further removed when and if the state deemed necessary. And there were no elections. So for this brief period we stopped being a democracy. Newspapers were censored and no news or editorial could be run on the state of the nation. Things were pretty dire.
another gem from BDUTT.. rejoices at democracy in Egypt, when the whole world knows its Muslim brotherhood who have won the elections We may or may not not like choices thrown up by transition in #Egypt. But the people's right to choose has to be the First Principle.
People deserve the government they elect. What do you want to happen there ? USA invade them and set-up 'secular' democratic government ? If the elections were fair (not sure about that part), the party who won has every right to be in power.
People deserve the government they elect. What do you want to happen there ? USA invade them and set-up 'secular' democratic government ? If the elections were fair (not sure about that part)' date=' the party who won has every right to be in power.[/quote'] The hell I care about Egypt.. But the hypocrisy people like barkha dutt exhibit on TV/Social media is disgusting

Sanjay Gandhi & his mentality had a big influence leading to this declaration & that too for the wrong reasons i.e. to preserve power rather than an actual terror or war threat

Not really' date=' fundamental rights were curtailed massively and could be further removed when and if the state deemed necessary. And there were no elections. So for this brief period we stopped being a democracy. Newspapers were censored and no news or editorial could be run on the state of the nation. Things were pretty dire.[/quote'] Just curious - What was the crime rate in this period?

The emergency was one of the worst periods for Indian democracy. Under the veneer of perfect order, there were massive excesses committed and numerous human rights violations. From what my dad tells me, people used to be perfectly on time in government offices. No one used to accept bribes because they could get fired instantly, even from government jobs. However, people couldnt even gather in a group of more than 3 in the streets . That was actually an offence for which one could be arrested. Police could detain anyone indefinitely without producing them in court. Every opposition leader was jailed and beaten mercilessly there. It was a fitting response that people gave IG the next time by kicking her out from power. Too bad the Janta party wasnt able to provide a viable alternative to Congress

This is where NDA & BJP fails.. They should've highlighted the day with protests etc. Just to let public know about emegency... Kuch honey janey wala nahin hain in Chaddidhariyon ka.. They are only pretenders, lack any street smartness, and basically are too passive.. They'll again sit in opposition after the next general elections..

This is where NDA & BJP fails.. They should've highlighted the day with protests etc. Just to let public know about emegency...
Doesn't matter. The common man is actually worried about today & tomorrow, not what happened in 1975.
Today is the anniversary of the declaration of Emergency in 1975.
Too old, too far back in time. Nobody gives a damn today, or even 20 years back for that matter. The generation who fought for preseving democracy is dead/forgotten/turned cynical..take your pick. The youth of that time has either tried to forget (like those belonging to the group of Patna University students who were shot and body thrown in the Ganges), or have turned to power (Laloo, Nitish etc). The generation that has followed (mine) has struggled with whether Emergecy was good or bad. And lastly the newer generation knows less about JP and more about Raj Thackeray. Personally speaking this is one happening in Indian history where Bihar got royally effed, and for doing the right thing. The fact that bulk of India does even know about it makes it even more spectacular :winky:

^ Are you sure about that? Rickshaw pullers might not worry about 'freedom of speech' but I'm pretty sure they would've worried about 'testicle short-circuiting devices' Sanjay Gandhi was using on many of them..

Yep. RSS has been advocating that for a long time..just only for a certain section :hysterical::hysterical:
Was this the "safest" period for citizens though? IDK anything about it just curious.
Short term, Yes. Criminals with history, or history sheeter as they are called, were put behind bars. So were politicians. Many a politician-criminal nexus was built around this time. Although it is convinient to blame everything on this one single event, you would see that late 70s and early 80s was the time when this trend picked up of using goondas for election. An interesting example would be the whole coal mafia built out of Dhanbad. Read up on usual suspects and a former PM...or watch Gangs of wasseypur:winky::winky::winky: