Asim Posted June 28, 2012 Posted June 28, 2012 @The Outsider: btw where is your Sir Agarkar? Who according to you is >>> Akram :cantstop:
The Outsider Posted June 28, 2012 Author Posted June 28, 2012 ^ Even from the list above that, what chance have Walsh and Bishop got to make an all time West Indies XI? Marshall, Ambrose, Holding, Garner would be the most popular first choices with Roberts and Walsh probably being a back up, even if we ignore Hall because he was from an "older era".
The Outsider Posted June 28, 2012 Author Posted June 28, 2012 @The Outsider: btw where is your Sir Agarkar? Who according to you is >>> Akram :cantstop: He'll be the bowling coach. Who do you think is going to teach these guys a thing or two about phhaassht bowling?
Lurker Posted June 28, 2012 Posted June 28, 2012 ^ Even from the list above that' date=' what chance have Walsh and Bishop got to make an all time West Indies XI? Marshall, Ambrose, Holding, Garner would be the most popular first choices with Roberts and Walsh probably being a back up, even if we ignore Hall because he was from an "older era".[/quote'] Agreed. Walsh wouldnt make it to West Indies XI. Much as my heart feels for him. Great and terrific bowler but misses out on WI XI. Bishop was awesome in initial years but WI XI? He wouldnt make it to all time WI second XI :hysterical:
vayuu1 Posted June 28, 2012 Posted June 28, 2012 My team wud be Sunny,Hobbs,bradman,sobers,Richards,lloyd,gilly,warne,Marshall,akram,ambrose.Lloyd being captain,I picked sobers coz of his ability to bowl left arm spin,wrist spin and fast medium ability,Ambrose for his nagging length with pace and ability to get bounce,Marshall though short is equally destructive if not more and akram the best left arm fast bowler and warne for it's vicious spin and control.
Lurker Posted June 28, 2012 Posted June 28, 2012 My team wud be Sunny,Hobbs,bradman,sobers,Richards,lloyd,gilly,warne,Marshall,akram,ambrose.Lloyd being captain,I picked sobers coz of his ability to bowl left arm spin,wrist spin and fast medium ability,Ambrose for his nagging length with pace and ability to get bounce,Marshall though short is equally destructive if not more and akram the best left arm fast bowler and warne for it's vicious spin and control. Interesting line-up. did you pick Lloyd for being the captain first, and then a batsman (and he was pretty decent batsman to boot). Or did you pick him as a batsman and then made him the skipper?? Just curious.
Ultimate_Game Posted June 28, 2012 Posted June 28, 2012 My team wud be Sunny,Hobbs,bradman,sobers,Richards,lloyd,gilly,warne,Marshall,akram,ambrose.Lloyd being captain,I picked sobers coz of his ability to bowl left arm spin,wrist spin and fast medium ability,Ambrose for his nagging length with pace and ability to get bounce,Marshall though short is equally destructive if not more and akram the best left arm fast bowler and warne for it's vicious spin and control. Lloyd's selection is iffy at best. He would find it tough to walk into WI All Time XI with the 3 Ws, Greenidge, Haynes & Richards around. I would go with a better batsman and make Bradman the captain.
adi B Posted June 28, 2012 Posted June 28, 2012 steyn nd marshall for me, if i have to add aother, i would pick ambrose.. greenidge hayden dravid sachin viv sobers flower marshall steyn ambrose
Sooda Posted June 28, 2012 Posted June 28, 2012 The perfect five man pace attack would be Hadlee, akram, marshall, thompson and barnes
maniac Posted June 28, 2012 Posted June 28, 2012 Here is my Team Gavaskar,Sehwag,Viv,SRT,Steve Waugh,Kallis,Gilchrist,Akram,Warne,Marshall,Steyn Picked Steve over Lara because too many dashers in the team,so need atleast one consolidator who can play according to the situation.....similar approach with Kallis...since have Gilly to play the role of the attacking allrounder,Kallis can play the consolidator.So picked Kallis over Imran,Kapil,Botham etc.
thongale Posted June 29, 2012 Posted June 29, 2012 It seems your lack of understanding and logic is as strong as ever: . . . . I want to see a poll with the above 22 names on this forum within the next 24 hours. Thanks. OUCH!:--D
rkt.india Posted June 29, 2012 Posted June 29, 2012 And when people do THIS it makes me doubt their credibility. Right after that statement Benaud says - "He's bowled slower this match than I've ever seen him" and later goes on to say "He's always been appreciatively quicker than I've seen here." Also, good job in over riding statements of great cricketers on a bowler why watching a 3:36 highlights package. :hatsoff: Mcenly bhai. I hope you have played cricket too as well seen it a lot. Look at the bowling action of Sylvestor Clark. How the hell he will bowl fast with this crap bowling action? He bowls with one hand, not using his non-bowling hand at while delivering and you will believe what Benaud said in the commentary rather than what you are seeing. We will request Roblinda to put more videos of Clark and then we will see. Great cricketers and writers all exaggerate things to a new level which you will wonder when you actually see them. Ek ka doodh ka doodh paani ka pani to Roblinda ke ek video ne pehle hi kar diya hai which has made me believe that you cannot take them word by word just read and be happy with the imaginative nostalgia they produce.
Marut Posted June 29, 2012 Posted June 29, 2012 The perfect five man pace attack would be Hadlee' date=' akram, marshall, thompson and barnes[/quote'] Thomson was mainly about speed, so on his day he would be unstoppable like Akhtar. He was not an all time great bowler in my opinion.
Marut Posted June 29, 2012 Posted June 29, 2012 Mcenly bhai. I hope you have played cricket too as well seen it a lot. Look at the bowling action of Sylvestor Clark. How the hell he will bowl fast with this crap bowling action? He bowls with one hand, not using his non-bowling hand at while delivering and you will believe what Benaud said in the commentary rather than what you are seeing. We will request Roblinda to put more videos of Clark and then we will see. Great cricketers and writers all exaggerate things to a new level which you will wonder when you actually see them. Ek ka doodh ka doodh paani ka pani to Roblinda ke ek video ne pehle hi kar diya hai which has made me believe that you cannot take them word by word just read and be happy with the imaginative nostalgia they produce. Did you hear Benaud say that he had never seen Clarke bowl so slow? Perhaps he was carrying a niggle on that day? Regarding your comments on his bowling action, there are many factors that are responsible for bowling a fast ball, some of which are good action, arm speed, powerful chest, trunk and hips, length of the arms, overall strength and physique, absence of glitches in movement etc. Selecting out just one of the factors and claiming that he cannot bowl fast with a "crap" bowling action makes little sense. He was a really feared bowler when he played for Surrey and he finished with his career with a sub 20 first class average. Do you think he could bowl at least as fast as Praveen kumar since his action was crap? :haha:
rkt.india Posted June 29, 2012 Posted June 29, 2012 Did you hear Benaud say that he had never seen Clarke bowl so slow? Perhaps he was carrying a niggle on that day? Regarding your comments on his bowling action, there are many factors that are responsible for bowling a fast ball, some of which are good action, arm speed, powerful chest, trunk and hips, length of the arms, overall strength and physique, absence of glitches in movement etc. Selecting out just one of the factors and claiming that he cannot bowl fast with a "crap" bowling action makes little sense. He was a really feared bowler when he played for Surrey and he finished with his career with a sub 20 first class average. Do you think he could bowl at least as fast as Praveen kumar since his action was crap? :haha: PK isnt fast. He will be as quick as Vk around mid 130s, not faster than that with that action and tell one bowler who bowled fast with crap bowling actions. With no helmets and protection gears, most bowlers were feared on those days.
Crookbond Posted June 29, 2012 Posted June 29, 2012 Yeah I know, but really how weird can an argument get. Lets look at the names again, Shoaib Gillespie Anderson Croft Ntini Bob Willis I would bet NONE of these would make to their respective National XI, let alone being considered for a world XI. Shoaib for pakistan XI? no. It is Imran, Akram, Waqar and if there is room for more go with Fazal Mehmood. Gillespie for Australia? You drunk? Anderson for England? Ahead of Trueman, Tyson, Barnes, Snow, Bedser...heck even Darren Gough??? Croft for West Indies? hahahahaahahahahaha Ntini for SA? Possibly maybe but only as a candidate. Cant see him ahead of Shaun and Peter Pollock, Donald, Mike Procter, Steyn. Willis. Rinse and repeat for Anderson. Jeez, its one thing to disagree, completely different to pull out names from your rear end... Dude, Did you even look at those videos? Look - look , you can certainly these people take out names from a rear end. Now, imagine if they can do it the people in modern era can take out names 10x faster. :giggle:
Marut Posted June 29, 2012 Posted June 29, 2012 PK isnt fast. He will be as quick as Vk around mid 130s, not faster than that with that action and tell one bowler who bowled fast with crap bowling actions. With no helmets and protection gears, most bowlers were feared on those days. Helmets were widely prevalent at the time of Clarke. Just that some batsmen did not use them. He was an unusually well built man and weighed like 100 kg, and had unusually poiwerful shoulders and chest. You can make up your mind based on a 3 minute video, or take the view of his colleagues or the batsmen who actually faced him. The Guardian had this - http://www.guardian.co.uk/news/1999/dec/07/guardianobituaries
Sooda Posted June 29, 2012 Posted June 29, 2012 Thomson was mainly about speed' date=' so on his day he would be unstoppable like Akhtar. He was not an all time great bowler in my opinion.[/quote'] I know -hence my attack- left and right arm pacy swing in Akram and Hadlee..Marshall skiddyish pace and Thompsons out and out pace and bounce and finally Barnes medium pace cut and swing
rkt.india Posted June 29, 2012 Posted June 29, 2012 Helmets were widely prevalent at the time of Clarke. Just that some batsmen did not use them. He was an unusually well built man and weighed like 100 kg, and had unusually poiwerful shoulders and chest. You can make up your mind based on a 3 minute video, or take the view of his colleagues or the batsmen who actually faced him. The Guardian had this - http://www.guardian.co.uk/news/1999/dec/07/guardianobituaries yaar even Jacob Oram, Nuwan Zoysa, Pankaj Singh, John Hastings have strong shoulders and are big man but it does not mean they are fast bowlers. Body size, big shoulders dont make a bowler fast. It is bowlers' bowling action as well as the fast twitch fibers which in combination make them fast. Even bowlers who have fast twitch fibers but poor bowling action cannot bowl fast due to their poor basics.